Commercial Driver's License
Definition of "Commercial Motor Vehicle"
"Commercial motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle designed or used to transport passengers or property:
- If the vehicle has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 or more pounds or such lesser rating as determined by federal regulation; or
- If the vehicle is designed to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver; or
- If the vehicle is transporting hazardous materials and is required to be placarded in accordance with 49 C.F.R. part 172, subpart F.
The following vehicles are not considered commercial motor vehicles. Therefore, operators of these vehicles are exempt from commercial driver license requirements:
- Authorized emergency vehicles such as law enforcement, fire department, public or private ambulance, and volunteer rescue squads.
- Motor homes and trailer coaches utilized for personal recreational use.
- Military equipment owned by the U.S. Department of Defense and operated by military personnel.
- Farm vehicles that are:
- owned and operated by the farmer
- used to transport agricultural products, farm machinery or supplies not used in the operation of a common or contract carrier, and
- used within 150 miles of the farm.
The above vehicles do not qualify to be used for the CDL skills test as they are exempt vehicles.
1.You must be at least 18 years of age and hold a valid Vermont Class 1 operator's license to obtain a commercial driver instructional permit.
2.You must be at least 18 years of age to obtain a commercial driver license and operate a commercial vehicle within Vermont (Intrastate commerce).
3.You must be at least 21 years of age to operate a commercial motor vehicle between Vermont and another state (Interstate commerce).
4.You must be at least 18 years of age to obtain a hazardous materials endorsement for intrastate commerce.
5.You must be at least 21 years of age to obtain a hazardous materials endorsement for interstate commerce.
Physical Examination Requirements
If you are subject to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, you must have a physical every two years.
To have a hazardous materials endorsement, you must meet the Federal Motor Carrier Safety regulations except for age requirements for intrastate travel.
Lost or Damaged CDL or Commercial Instructional (Learner) Permit
If you lose or damage your CDL or commercial instructional permit, you must apply for a duplicate/replacement CDL. You may apply in person at a Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles Customer Service Office, or through the mail for a new photo license. You must complete an application for a duplicate or corrected CDL ( 482KB) and submit it to this Department together with the appropriate fee and any additional documentation that may be required.
A photo is required for CDL's and instructional permits.
CDL Disqualification Information
Download this document ( 43.84KB ) for information pertaining to CDL Disqualification.