Graduated License Laws

Individuals under the age of 18 are subject to the provisions of Vermont's Graduated License laws, which are indicated below:

An individual 15 years of age or older may operate a motor vehicle if they hold a valid Learner's Permit and are accompanied by one of the following people (riding in the vehicle beside the driver):

  • A licensed and unimpaired parent or guardian.
  • A licensed or certified and unimpaired driver education instructor.
  • A licensed and unimpaired individual who is at least 25 years of age.

To apply for a Learner's Permit, an individual must have maintained a "clean" driving record in the previous two (2) years.

An individual must possess a Learner's Permit for at least one (1) year prior to obtaining a Junior Driver's License.

Prior to obtaining a Junior Driver's License, an individual must complete an additional forty hours of practice behind the wheel, with at least ten hours being nighttime driving, while accompanied by one of the individuals indicated above who is riding beside the driver. Proof of this additional practice must be submitted to DMV at the time of application for a Junior Driver's License.

An individual must have maintained a "clean" driving record without any Learner Permit recalls, suspensions or revocations for a six-month period prior to obtaining a Junior Driver's License.

While holding a Junior Driver's License, the individual may not operate a vehicle in the course of their employment for one year following the issuance of the Junior Driver's License. For example, an individual cannot act as a pizza delivery person (driver) until they have had their Junior Driver's License for one year, or until they reach the age of 18 (whichever comes first).

While holding a Junior Driver's License, an individual may not carry passengers for hire.

During the first three months of operation under a Junior Driver's License, the individual is restricted to driving alone, or with one of the individuals indicated above. If one of those individuals is in the vehicle with them there is no restriction on the number of passengers they can transport in the vehicle. However, the driver is not allowed to transport more passengers than there are safety belts.

During the second three months of operation under a Junior Driver's License the individual may begin transporting immediate family members (siblings).

After holding a Junior Driver's License for six months there are no passenger restrictions.

An individual must be 18 years of age to obtain a Driver's License, and must have not had any recalls, suspensions or revocations during the previous six-month period.

A Learner Permit or Junior Driver's License is considered to be a "provisional license" which is recallable. Any of the following actions will result in the recall of an individual's Learner Permit or Junior Driver's License:

  • Carrying passengers for hire: 90 day recall
  • Driving for employer/employment: 90 day recall
  • Recommendation from a Diversion/Reparative Board: 30 day recall
  • Points accumulation (for a single 3 point speeding violation or a 6 point total): 90 day recall
  • Passenger age violation: 90 day recall
  • Passenger restrictions: 90 day recall

Related Forms & Information

Tags: 

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
Contact us

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon