Driver's License Suspensions

When you commit traffic violations you will receive points on your driving record. If you accumulate 10 points or more within 2 years, you will be suspended.

Driving privileges will not be reinstated until you have satisfied all reinstatement requirements and received written notification of reinstatement from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Important: Vermont law does NOT provide for a "hardship" or "work license".

Vermont Suspension Codes »

Reinstatement of Suspended Vermont License

The reinstatement fee can only be paid online or in the Montpelier office (in person or by mail). Reinstatement fees can NOT be paid in a branch office.

Pay Reinstatement Fee Online »

Reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense. Contact this office for your specific requirements. Common requirements may include:

  • Submit an SR22/proof of insurance
  • Retake and pass the driving skills and knowledge tests
  • Satisfy any court requirements
  • Pay reinstatement fee(s)
  • Obtain medical clearance
  • Complete alcohol courses as ordered by the courts

Driving with License Suspended (DLS) Program

The Civil DLS Diversion Program is designed to help people regain their driver’s license while they pay off their fines and fees. Participants work with Diversion staff to develop a contract including a payment plan that is presented to the Vermont Judicial Bureau (VJB) for review. Upon approval by VJB Hearing Officer, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is notified that the person is in compliance with the VJB. DMV reinstatement requirements must also be met before your driver’s license is reinstated.

Vermont Judicial Bureau

If you have outstanding fines from a Vermont Civil Violation Complaint (Traffic Ticket), you may pay those fees by using VT Courts Online's Court Pay System. The reinstatement fee of your privilege to operate can be paid at any time, you do not need to wait until your Vermont Civil Violation Complaint (Traffic Ticket) is paid.

Questions about tickets? Contact the Judicial Bureau at 802 295-8869.

FAQs

The terms and requirements of your RDL allow you to drive only vehicles equipped with an IID; if the rental car does not have an IID, you cannot drive the rental vehicle.

The RDL Unit will send a letter a short time prior to your actual release date advising you of when you may procure a corrected license without the IID restriction.  If you do not receive a letter you may contact DMV at 802-828-2061 to verify that you are eligible to have the interlock removed.

Your RDL must be renewed on a yearly basis.  A renewal notice, along with an Application for Ignition Interlock Device Restricted Driver’s License will be mailed to you 30 days before your RDL expires.  You will need to complete the application and return it to DMV with the appropriate renewal fee.  If you do not renew your RDL on or by the expiration, you will be issued a suspension for failing to renew your RDL, and will remain under suspension until you renew your RDL and pay the Reinstatement Fee.

Yes.  You must also do the following:

  • Pay the Reinstatement Fee.
  • Provide proof of Financial Responsibility (SR-22 Certificate).
  • Provide proof of installation of an approved IID.  When you have the IID installed, have the installer complete a Certification of Ignition Interlock Device Installation, VL-082.

You are not eligible for an RDL for any of the following reasons:

  • You are currently under suspension for driving while under the influence of drugs.
  • You currently hold a Learner’s Permit.
  • You currently hold a Junior Driver's License
  • You are under suspension for a reason other than a driving under the influence conviction.

You must be under suspension for an alcohol driving offense in Vermont. 

Application for an RDL must be made by contacting the Department, by phone, at 802-828-2061. 

An Ignition Interlock Device Restricted License, referred to as an “RDL”, allows you to drive  non-commercial vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device, while your Vermont license is suspended or revoked for an alcohol-related driving under the influence offense.  You are granted a conditional reinstatement ahead of your normal eligibility date if you participate in the Ignition Interlock Program

Tags: 
RDL

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
Contact us

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon