What are the 6 steps to be completed when requesting reinstatement of your driver’s license through Total Abstinence?

  1. Have at least three years of being abstinent from all alcoholic beverages, illegal drugs or misuse of prescription-regulated drugs. Even some beers and wine labeled “non-alcoholic” contain alcohol and may not be consumed under Total Abstinence.
  2. Complete an Impaired Driver Rehabilitation Program (IDRP) intake at one of the IDRP sites to discuss your intentions to prove Total Abstinence with your IDRP Evaluator.
  3. Successfully complete treatment consisting of a minimum of 20 hours over a minimum of 24 weeks with a Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LADC). The counselor, IDRP Evaluator, and a representative from IDRP will determine when you have successfully completed treatment.
  4. Complete the Total Abstinence Packet (form VS-077). The entire packet, once completed, should be delivered to the Enforcement & Safety Division of the Vermont Department of Motor vehicles, located at 120 State Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05603 on the third floor.
  • “Applicant’s Sworn Declaration Form.” A written, sworn statement that you have been completely abstinent from all alcoholic beverages, illegal drugs and abuse of prescribed regulated drugs during the three years (including investigation period), and that you appreciate that you cannot drink any alcohol or take any of the substances described above and drive safely. This form must be filled out within 60 days of the IDRP exit interview.
  • “Corrections and/or Probation Information Form” filled out by your Probation/Corrections Office attesting to the fact that you have not had any substance related violations or incarcerations  or  been placed    on    a    furlough     status    within the total abstinence period and giving information on any interaction you have had with that agency.
  • “Letter of Support Statements” Notarized statements from four (4) individuals that have known you, and have had regular contact with you during the required period of abstinence. (Regular contact means at least weekly, personal contact with the individual).

The individuals could include your spouse or another adult family member; an active AA member; your employer or business associates; a member of the clergy, a friend; a neighbor, or a law enforcement officer in your area. Only two (2) of these statements can be filled out by a family member.

  • “Total Abstinence Applicant Personal History Questionnaire Form.” This form must be notarized upon completion and the applicant must attach an up-to-date head & shoulder 3 x 5 photograph of themselves to the last page. 
  • “Reference & Acquaintance Contact Form” Notarized statement from five (5) individuals that have known you, and have had personal contact with you during the required period of abstinence.  They cannot be support letter writers or family members.
  1. Your counselor will need to submit a Treatment Information form to the IDRP Evaluator stating that you have successfully completed your therapy program.  You will need to contact your IDRP Evaluator to schedule an exit interview
  2. Application fee of $500.00 made payable to Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles. 

Related Forms & Information

FAQs

If you have lost your license for life, because of DUIs, civil suspensions and/or refusals, you may apply for license reinstatement with proof of the required three‐year period of abstinence from all alcohol and drugs and the successful completion of a substance abuse treatment program.

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
Contact us

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon