Interactive Driver Tutorial
ID Requirments changed as of January 1, 2014.
To see full ID requirements, visit http://bit.ly/VermontID
NOTE: A new, tablet-friendly version of Drive Vermont was launched on February 24, 2014.
If you had an account on Version 1.0, you will need to create a new account for version 2.0.
Welcome to our innovative web-based Learner Permit training, DriveVermont.
Getting your permit is an exciting time. Now it is educational, easy to follow and enjoyable. Study when it's most convenient for you at your own pace using our web-based training tool.
This free interactive program has been designed to help you learn to drive safely. The user friendly system was developed using a multitude of applications and mediums to form a visually appealing and interactive solution that helps potential drivers learn the rules of the road in Vermont.
Users will be asked questions throughout the lessons including multiple choice questions, drag and drop, matching, and even controlling a virtual vehicle through a scenario. At the end of all lessons, users take a practice exam which will prepare them for the actual exam that they will take to receive their driver’s permit. Users will receive feedback on questions they missed which will direct them to the appropriate section to review.
Robert D. Ide, Commissioner
Vermont Teen Driver Resources
The AAA Guide to Teen Driver Safety
Before they start…driving with supervision….driving on their own…
Dare to Prepare
What you and your teen need to know before they drive…this AAA workshop focuses on importance of parental involvement….understanding the reasons why teens crash…resources for parents and teens..
StartSmart The Keys to Safe Driving
An AAA program designed to help families get through the crucial period when teens are learning to drive…a series of newsletters help identify the challenges you and your teen will face and how you can work together to reduce risk…
Take the Wheel Teen Driving
Designed to inform and encourage teens to drive safely. There are games, videos, personal stories and a wealth of information for a school project!
"The film that will stop you from texting and driving"
Caution: Graphic reenactment.
This brutal four-minute video previews a full half-hour educational film produced by the Tredegar Comprehensive School and Gwent Police in the UK. With stark realism, it shows the cause and consequences of a texting accident - as well as the chaos of the actual collision. The film was a bold move intended to scare teens off texting and driving for good.
Please read the information having to do with Residency Requirements.
In order to apply for a Vermont Learner’s Permit you will need to prove that you are a Vermont Resident or are a Visiting Citizen of a Foreign Country with an authorized duration of stay with at least 30 days remaining.
You must bring proof of Identity, date of birth, Lawful status in the United States, Social Security number, Vermont residency and current residential address
Each applicant for an original Learner Permit is required to show documented proof of identity, date of birth, lawful status in the US, Social Security Number, Vermont residency and current residential address.
Individuals under the age of 18 are subject to the provisions of Vermont's Graduated License laws, which are indicated below:
An individual 15 years of age or older may operate a motor vehicle if they hold a valid Learner's Permit and are accompanied by one of the following people (riding in the vehicle beside the driver):
- A licensed and unimpaired parent or guardian.
- A licensed or certified and unimpaired driver education instructor.
- A licensed and unimpaired individual who is at least 25 years of age.
- To apply for a Learner's Permit, an individual must have maintained a "clean" driving record in the previous two (2) years.
- An individual must possess a Learner's Permit for at least one (1) year prior to obtaining a Junior Operator License.
- Prior to obtaining a Junior Operator License, an individual must complete an additional forty hours of practice behind the wheel, with at least ten hours being nighttime driving, while accompanied by one of the individuals indicated above who is riding beside the driver. Proof of this additional practice must be submitted to DMV at the time of application for a Junior Operator License, on a form provided by DMV and certified by one of the individuals indicated above. The Driving Practice Log Sheet ( 247.83KB) has been created for this purpose.
- An individual must have maintained a "clean" driving record without any Learner Permit recalls, suspensions or revocations for a six-month period prior to obtaining a Junior Operator License.
- While holding a Junior Operator License, the individual may not operate a vehicle in the course of their employment for one year following the issuance of the Junior Operator License. For example, an individual cannot act as a pizza delivery person (driver) until they have had their Junior Operator License for one year, or until they reach the age of 18 (whichever comes first).
- While holding a Junior Operator License, an individual may not carry passengers for hire.
- During the first three months of operation under a Junior Operator License, the individual is restricted to driving alone, or with one of the individuals indicated above. If one of those individuals is in the vehicle with them there is no restriction on the number of passengers they can transport in the vehicle. However, the driver is not allowed to transport more passengers than there are safety belts.
- During the second three months of operation under a Junior Operator License the individual may begin transporting immediate family members (siblings).
- After holding a Junior Operator License for six months there are no passenger restrictions.
- An individual must be 18 years of age to obtain an Operator License, and must have not had any recalls, suspensions or revocations during the previous six-month period.
- A Learner Permit or Junior Operator License is considered to be a "provisional license" which is recallable. Any of the following actions will result in the recall of an individual's Learner Permit or Junior Operator License:
- Carrying passengers for hire - 90 day recall
- Driving for employer/employment - 90 day recall
- Recommendation from a Diversion/Reparative Board - 30 day recall
- Points accumulation (for a single 3 point speeding violation or a 6 point total) - 90 day recall
- Passenger age violation - 90 day recall
- Passenger restrictions - 90 day recall