Decrease font size Reset font size Increase Font Size Print This Page Email This Page

Differences - Learner Permits

Information About Learner Permits

You must be at least 15 years old to be issued a Learner's Permit.

With a valid Learner Permit, you may drive anywhere, anytime in Vermont as long as one of the following people is riding in the front seat with you:

  • a licensed and unimpaired parent or legal guardian
  • a licensed or certified and unimpaired driver education instructor
  • a licensed and unimpaired individual 25 years of age or older

Anyone under 18 years of age is prohibited from using any portable electronic device while operating a moving motor vehicle on a highway. This includes reading, and the manual composing or sending of electronic communications (including text messages, instant messages, and emails). Portable electronic devices include (but are not limited to):  cellular telephones, personal digital assistant (PDA), and laptop computers.

Before driving in any other state, you must contact that state’s Motor Vehicle Department or law enforcement agency to see if it is legal to drive in that state with a Vermont Learner Permit.

A Vermont Learner Permit is “provisional” and can be recalled. Your permit may also be taken away if your parent or legal guardian withdraws their permission for you to have one.

If you are under the age of 18 when you are issued your Vermont Learner's Permit, you fall under the requirements of the Graduated Driver License law. See more information about Vermont’s Graduated Driver License laws/recall of permit.