Decrease font size Reset font size Increase Font Size Print This Page Email This Page

Moving To Vermont

New Vermont Residents

In order to apply for a Vermont Driver’s License you will need proof that you are a Vermont Resident or are a Visiting Citizen of a Foreign Country with an authorized duration of stay with at least 30 days remaining.

You must bring proof of Identity, date of birth, Lawful status in the United States, Social Security number, Vermont residency and current residential address

Each applicant for an original Driver’s License is required to show documented proof of identity, date of birth, lawful status in the US, Social Security Number, Vermont residency and current residential address.

Who can get a Driver’s License?

A Driver’s License is issued to eligible individuals 18 years of age or older who pass the required examination. This license allows a person to drive any noncommercial vehicle except a school bus or motorcycle. To drive a school bus or motorcycle additional examination(s) is/are required.

How do I get A Driver’s License if I have a valid license from another state?

When a new Vermont Resident applies for a Vermont Driver’s License and possesses a valid out-of-state license or an out-of-state license that has been expired for one (1) year or less, an eye examination will be required.

  1. Bring your valid or expired (1year or less) license from your home stateanother form of ID, and evidence of Vermont Residency. If your home state license is not valid, have someone who has a valid license drive you to the Department of Motor Vehicles. If your license has been expired for more than one (1) year, or you do not have an out-of-state license, you will have to take the vision, written and road tests.   See “How do I get A Driver’s License if I do not have a valid Learner’s Permit.”
  2. When your Vermont license is issued, the Customer Service Specialist will keep the license you hold from the other state.

Who May Not Be Issued a New License or Renew an Existing License?

A person whose privilege to operate a motor vehicle in any state has been suspended, revoked, or refused cannot be issued a license until such suspension, revocation or refusal has been terminated and the person has been officially notified in writing of reinstatement.

A license cannot be issued to a person when the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles has evidence that such person either cannot or will not operate a motor vehicle without endangering the other users of the highway.

A person who is not a Vermont Resident.

Driver's License

You must obtain a Vermont Driver License upon establishing residency in this state.  This must be done no longer than 60 days after moving to Vermont or, if your out-of-state license expires before the end of this 60-day period, you must obtain a Vermont Driver License before it expires (whichever occurs first).

To obtain a license, Vermont law requires that out of state applicants must pass a vision test. The road test and written test may be waived by the examiner if the applicant holds a valid out-of-state license. Vermont Driver's manuals and license applications are available at all Department of Motor Vehicle offices.

  1. You must bring proof of Identity, date of birth, Lawful status in the United States, Social Security number, Vermont residency and current residential address
  2. Come in to any DMV office for a vision test.  If you do not pass the required eyesight examination within 30 days of applying for a Vermont credential and have a valid license from another jurisdiction, your privilege to operate in Vermont will be suspended until the required examine is passed.  If your out-of-state license has been expired for more than one (1) year you will have to take the vision test, written test and road test and you must make an appointment for an exam at your choice of DMV locations by calling Central Scheduling at 1-802-828-2085.
  3. If you are taking the road test, the car you are using must be clean and in good mechanical condition with a valid inspection sticker. Be sure the emergency brake is working properly.
  4. An automobile insurance identification card is required by Vermont law. The card must state the name of the insurance carrier, effective and expiration dates of coverage, name of insured, description of the vehicle including the vehicle identification number. It also must include limits of liability or a statement that the policy provides the minimum insurance required by Vermont law.
  5. A valid registration certificate for the vehicle is required.
  6. When your Vermont license is issued, the examiner will keep the license you hold from another state.
  7. You are required to provide proof of Vermont residency.
  8. You are required to provide two (2) forms of identification when applying for a Vermont license/permit.
  9. There is an exam fee charged for converting an out-of-state license to a Vermont license (see further fee information in list of license/permit fees).

If you have a valid license in another state but can't find the license you must apply for a duplicate license in the other state (or otherwise provide proof of a valid license in that state).

If you are not a citizen of the United States please read this additional information.

Vehicle Registration

You must obtain a Vermont vehicle registration upon establishing residency in this state.  This must be done no longer than 60 days after moving to Vermont or if your out-of-state vehicle registration expires before the end of this 60-day period you must obtain a Vermont vehicle registration before it expires (whichever occurs first).  Two facts that you should be aware of when registering a vehicle in Vermont are:

  1. All vehicles must have liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than the statutory minimums.
  2. Upon registering your vehicle you will have 15 days in which to get the vehicle inspected at a Vermont Licensed Inspection Station.

To obtain your Vermont vehicle registration you must provide DMV with the following: 

  • a completed Registration Application form (PDF document 424.7KB) ,
  • the title to the vehicle (if the title to the vehicle is being held by the lien holder, you (the owner/lessee) must appear in person at one of our full time DMV locations (not a mobile location) with the full name and address of the lien holder.  You would need to provide your original registration from your previous state.  In this situation, only the owner/lessee may proceed with this transaction and only by appearing at one of our full time DMV offices and not a mobile location,
  • an updated (current) odometer reading,
  • proof of the dollar amount of tax paid on the vehicle to any previous state.  Must include vehicle and owner information. 
    • Note:  At the time of registration a value will be assessed to your vehicle using one of the N.A.D.A. guides. This value will be used to determine the amount of taxes due. If you have proof of payment of taxes to another state, in your name, on that vehicle, we will deduct that amount from the taxes due to Vermont. If the taxes paid to the other state are less than the taxes due to the state of Vermont, you will be required to pay the difference.
    • proof of paid tax is not required if you have owned the vehicle for over three years in a state that collects tax.  You must either provide the title displaying an issue date of 3 years or more in the past OR supply 3 years worth of registrations (current registration is only creditable up to the current date).
  • a “Visual Verification of Serial Number”, and
  • payment of any and all required fees.