Dealers & Inspections - State Requirements
An out-of-state car dealer who has sold a vehicle to a Vermont registrant may hand-deliver the registration paperwork to the Montpelier DMV Office for processing. If the number of transactions to be processed exceeds five (5), an appointment must be scheduled through the Commercial Vehicle Operations Unit. The following Policy must be adhered to when requesting an appointment:
- A courtesy call to the Commercial Vehicle Unit (at 802-828-2071) is required.
- At the time of the courtesy call the dealer will inform the Customer Service Representative that registrations will be dropped off. The dealer must also indicate the number of transactions that will be dropped off.
- Only one drop-off per dealer, per day is allowed.
- Appointments with 6-25 transactions require 24 hours to process. NOTE: If transactions are completed prior to the specified time, the dealer will be notified.
- Appointments with 26-50 transactions require 48 hours to process. NOTE: If transactions are completed prior to the specified time, the dealer will be notified.
- Appointments with over 50 transactions require 72 hours to process. NOTE: If transactions are completed prior to the specified time, the dealer will be notified.
- The name and telephone number of a dealer "contact person" must be provided. This "contact person" is the individual who will be notified when transactions have been completed and should also be available and prepared to answer any questions that may arise.
- For security reasons, a letter (written on the Dealer's letterhead) identifying the individuals who are authorized to pick up the completed registration transactions is required.
Transactions that cannot be completed will be returned to the dealer.
Information about processing registration/title transactions may be obtained by calling the Department's Information Unit at 802-828-2000.
All motor vehicles registered in this state shall be inspected once each year at state approved inspection stations. Any newly registered vehicle not currently inspected in this state must be inspected within 15 days from the date of registration.
1996 and new gasoline powered vehicles, and 1997 and newer diesel powered vehicles having a gross vehicle rating of 8,500 pounds or less, must have an On-Board Diagnostics (OBDII) examination as part of their annual safety equipment inspection. The OBDII examination tests the emission control system of the vehicle.
The fee for the inspection shall be based on the hourly rate of the official inspection station or may be a flat rate fee. In either instance, the rate must be prominently posted and displayed beside the official inspection station certificate.
Find Vermont Licensed Inspection Stations ( 638.41KB)
Vermont statute: 23 V.S.A. § 1222. Inspection of registered vehicles
- 16-02 07/06/2016 New Registration Application
- 16-01 06/20/2016 ACT 159 ~ An Act Related to Transportation Funding
- 16-02 07/01/2016 Inspection Sticker Placement
- 16-01 06/20/2016 ACT 159 ~ An Act Relating to Transportation Funding