Inspection Information

Emissions Warranty

Depending on the model year and mileage of your vehicle, the cost of emissions system repairs may be covered by the vehicle manufacturer. Vermont law requires that a vehicle’s entire emissions control system be warranted for a minimum of 3 years or 50,000 miles*. Warranty coverage for the more expensive emissions control components is extended to at least 7 years or 70,000 miles*, and the engine computer and catalytic converter are covered for 8 years or 80,000 miles*. Some vehicles’ emissions control systems are warranted up to 15 years or 150,000 miles*! 


On board diagnostic (OBD) systems were developed in the 1980s by vehicle manufacturers to help technicians diagnose and service the computerized engine management systems of modern vehicles. A new generation of these systems, OBD II, is present on 1996 and newer vehicles. 

Vehicle Inspections

Inspection stations in Vermont are privately owned and operated by our business partners. Inspection stations and certified Inspection Mechanics are licensed by DMV to conduct inspections as prescribed in the Vermont Periodic Inspection Manual.

Vehicle Readiness

On board diagnostic systems (OBD) on 1996 and newer vehicles are being checked as part of Vermont’s annual vehicle inspection program. OBD technology benefits motorists, auto service technicians, and our environment. It’s good for motorists because it monitors the vehicle’s performance every time it is driven and identifies problems immediately, allowing repairs to be made before more serious problems develop. It’s good for technicians as it helps them to accurately diagnose problems, allowing for efficient and proper repairs.

Related Forms & Information

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
email telephone

Public Records

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon