The following are the requirements for obtaining an Intransit Plate/Permit:
- Vermont residents are required to register vehicles in Vermont per Vermont Statute: T. 23, VSA, § 301. Persons required to register - Residents, except as provided in section 301a and chapter 35 of this title, shall annually register motor vehicles owned or leased for a period of more than 30 days and operated by them, unless currently registered in Vermont. Notwithstanding this section, a resident who has moved into the state from another jurisdiction shall register his or her motor vehicle within 60 days of moving into the state. A person shall not operate a motor vehicle nor draw a trailer or semi-trailer on any highway unless such vehicle is registered as provided in this chapter.
- The Intransit Plate/Permit is only valid for travel to State or Province of destination that is listed on the application.
- The Intransit Plate/Permit is not valid for travel from point-to-point in Vermont.
- The vehicle must have been purchased in Vermont (but will be registered in another state).
- The applicant for the Intransit Plate/Permit must show a bill of sale and (if applicable) a properly assigned title to prove vehicle was purchased in Vermont. Note: The title does not have to be a Vermont title.
- Complete and submit DMV form TA-VD-32 Intransit Plate/Permit application ( 63.4KB).
- Pay the appropriate fee for the Intransit Plate/Permit.
When all requirements have been satisfied an Intransit Plate and an Intransit Certificate will be issued to the applicant.
The Intransit Plate/Permit will be void thirty (30) days from the date of issuance.
The Intransit Plate/Permit can not be renewed nor another permit issued for the same vehicle.