Faded Plates

Any Vermont registration plate faded to a point in which its numbers and letters have impaired identification must be replaced.  A problem with the manufacturing process of plates produced between 2003 and 2005 may cause fading.  Accordingly, a provision of law allows for replacement of faded plates at no cost to the owner if the fading is caused by faulty materials or a problem with the manufacturing process.  

Owners of vehicles displaying faded registration plates should use the following procedure;

Vehicle owner should fill out a Replacement Plate Application (DMV Form VD-016) and check the box for two replacement registration plates. Write “FADED PLATES” across the top of the form and check the “faded” box. The vehicle owner will receive a new set of plates, registration and validation sticker within 3 – 4 weeks.  Owners will receive a new plate number unless they have vanity or low number plates (four digits or less).  Vanity and low number plates will be replaced at no cost.  If an owner wishes to keep their registration number and it is not a vanity or low number,they may do so by paying the replacement plate fee.

This procedure only refers to the replacement of faded plates due to the manufacturing process or faulty materials.  Lost or damaged plates must be replaced at the cost of the owner.

Faded plates can be dropped off at any Vermont DMV location or mailed to 120 State Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05603 (Attention Stockroom).  

Inspection Stations

Any Vermont registration plate faded to a point in which its numbers and letters have impaired identification must be replaced.  Inspection stations are obligated to adhere to the following procedure. Plates will be replaced at no cost to the customer:

  • Have customer complete Replacement Plate Plate Application (DMV Form VD-016) and check the box for two replacement registration plates
  • Write “FADED PLATES” across the top of the form and check the “faded” box
  • Do not collect a fee from the customer
  • Advise the customer they will receive a new set of plates, registration and validation sticker within 3 – 4 weeks.  Customers will receive a new plate number unless they have vanity or low number plates (four digits or less).  Vanity and low number plates will be replaced at no cost. If a customer wishes to keep their registration number and it is not a vanity or low number plate, they may do so by paying the replacement plate fee.
  • The inspection station must mail the application to DMV
  • The rest of the vehicle can be inspected per normal procedure, barring no other issues are identified

This procedure only refers to the replacement of faded plates due to the manufacturing process or faulty materials.  Lost or damaged plates must be replaced at the cost of the customer.

Faded plates can dropped off at any Vermont DMV location or mailed to 120 State Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05603 (Attention Stockroom).

Questions regarding this issue should be directed to your area DMV Investigator or the Department of Motor Vehicles Inspection Unit at 802-828-2094.

Related Forms & Information

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
Contact us

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon