Texting While Driving
Vermont’s “Texting Law”
Effective June 1, 2010
- All drivers are prohibited from texting while operating a moving motor vehicle on a highway.
- Only drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from other use of portable electronic devices.
What is the legal definition of “texting” according to this law?
Texting is: Reading or manually composing, or sending of electronic communications. Electronic communications include text messages, instant messages, or e-mails using a portable electronic device.
What is considered a “portable electronic device”?
A portable electronic device includes (but is not limited to) a cellular telephone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), and laptop computers. Use of a GPS or navigational system is permitted.
What are the penalties for violating Vermont’s texting law?
(UNDER AGE 18)
(AGE 18 OR OLDER)
|Texting (1st Offense)||
|Texting (2nd/Subsequent Adjudication in 2-Year Period)||
|Use of Portable Electronic Device (other than texting)||
||not a violation for this age group|
|Did you know... if you are driving 70 mph, you’re traveling 100 feet per second. While writing just a three-second text message, you can go the length of a football field without looking at the road …and that is scary. Check your reaction time by trying The New York Times Gauging Your Distraction interactive feature, but pay attention to their warning: Regardless of your results, experts say, you should not attempt to text when driving.|
- The University Of Utah - Applied Cognition Lab - Distracted Driving