/\O-\VERMONT Out-of-State Registration Certification

Department of Motor Vehicles 120 State Street
Agency of Transportation Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001
802.828.2067

dmv.vermont.gov

In concert with other State jurisdictions, the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles now evaluates all out-of-state
transactions based on your home state’s laws, regulations, and policies. This form Does Not Apply to Owners of the
subject vehicle who have established a legitimate connection to the State of Vermont. A legitimate connection to VT
is made when a person who possesses an out-of-state Driver’s License, either leases or owns a residence or physical
business location in VT, is a student at a Vermont Post Secondary Educational Institution (College, University,
Trade, or Vocational School), or is a contractual employee at a Vermont Business Entity.

Owners without legitimate connection to VT must complete this form before DMV processes your transaction(s).
Effective immediately, unless an exception exists in your home state, DMV cannot accept this form or a registration
application (ATV, Boat & Snowmobile excluded) from vehicle owners who reside in the following states: AL AK,
AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, FL, GA, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT,
NE, NV, NH, NJ, NM, NY, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY. This
change is necessary because your home state requires its residents to register by law under civil or criminal penalties.

Please have this form completed by a Supervisor at the DMV or comparable State Motor Vehicle Administrative
Organization in your home state, certifying that your home state's laws_do not require that you register the vehicle
there. One form is required for each vehicle.

Acceptable agencies & contact information listed on pages 2-5

Once this information is received, DMV will review this request before ultimately granting or denying your
application(s). During this review process, DMV staff may request additional information or verification(s) from the
vehicle’s owner or his/her home state DMV.

Must be completed by the vehicle OWNER (please print clearly):

Name and address:

Make: Model: Year: Body: VIN:

By signing this form, I declare that I am the owner of the subject vehicle and hereby apply for registration. I hereby affirm,
under penalty of perjury, under the laws of the State of Vermont, that the information contained in this application is true and
correct. I furthermore understand and acknowledge that this declaration is made under penalties listed under 23 V.S.A. §§ 202,
208, and 2082.

Signature: Owner: Co-Owner:

To be completed by the home state’s DMV or comparable State Motor Vehicle Administrative Organization:

By my signature below, I am certifying that the state of ~ does not require residents to register their vehicles in
our state.

Signature of DMV Supervisor: Agency

Printed name: Title:

Telephone number: Email address:
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Alabama Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/division/motor-vehicle/,
requires registration within 30 days of becoming a resident. https://www.revenue.alabama.gov/faqs/i-just-moved-to-
alabama-how-long-do-i-have-before-i-must-register-my-vehicle/.

Legal citation: Alabama Code § 40-12-262.

Alaska Department of Administration, Division of Motor Vehicles http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/, requires registration within
10 days of becoming a resident https://www.akleg.gov/basis/statutes.asp#28.10.121.
Legal citation: Alaska Statute § 28.10.121.

Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division, https://azdot.gov/mvd, requires residents to register
immediately unless a student or military exception applies, https://azdot.gov/mvd/new-az-welcome.
Legal citation: Arizona Statute § 28-2153.

Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, Motor Vehicle, https://www.dfa.arkansas.gov/motor-vehicle/,
requires registration within 30 days of becoming a resident, https://portal.arkansas.gov/services-right-for-you/i-am-moving-
to-arkansas/.

Legal citation: Arkansas Code § 27-14-723.

California Department of Motor Vehicles, https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/, requires registration if the vehicle is based in
CA or, primarily used on CA highways, https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/driver-education-and-safety/special-interest-driver-
guides/new-to-california/.

Legal citation: California Code § 4000A1.

Colorado Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles, https://dmv.colorado.gov/, requires registration within 90
days of becoming a resident unless a student or military exception applies, https://dmv.colorado.gov/new-to-colorado.
Legal citation: Colorado Code § 42-3-103.

Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, https://portal.ct.gov/dmv, requires registration within 90 days of becoming a
resident, https://portal.ct.gov/dmv/vehicle-services/transfer-registration-ct?language=en US.
Legal citation: Connecticut Statute § 246-14-12.

District of Columbia Department of Motor Vehicles, https://dmv.dc.gov/, requires registration within 60 days of becoming
a resident, https://dmv.dc.gov/service/registration-out-state-automobile-rosa-0.
Legal citation: District of Columbia Code § 50.1501.02.

Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles, https://www.dmv.de.gov/, requires registration within 60 days of becoming a
resident, unless a military exception applies, https://www.dmv.de.gov/forms/veh_serv_forms/pdfs/ve frm newresid.pdf.
Legal citation: Delaware Code § 21-2102.

Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, https://www.flhsmv.gov/, requires registration within 10 days of becoming a
resident, unless a military exception applies, https:/www.flhsmv.gov/motor-vehicles-tags-titles/license-plates-
registration/motor-vehicle-registrations/.

Legal citation: Florida Statutes § XXIII-320-02.

Georgia Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicles, https://dor.georgia.gov/motor-vehicles, requires registration within 30
days of becoming a resident, https://dor.georgia.gov/new-georgia.
Legal citation: Georgia Code § 40-2-8.

Hawaii Department of Transportation, Highways https://hidot.hawaii.gov/highways/motorcycle/motor-vehicle-
registration/, requires registration within 30 days of becoming a resident. Registrations are issued by the County Government
in Hawaii. Honolulu County, https://www.honolulu.gov/csd/mvinformation.html,

Maui County, https://www.mauicounty.gov/1328/Motor-Vehicle-Licensing,

Hawaii County, https://www.hawaiicounty.gov/departments/finance/vehicle-registration-licensing, and

Kauai County https://www.kauai.gov/MVR.

Legal citation: Hawaii statutes § 286-41.
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Idaho Transportation Department, Department of Motor Vehicles, https://itd.idaho.gov/itddmv/, requires registration within
90 days of becoming a resident, https://www.idaho.gov/about-idaho/moving/.
Legal citation: Idaho citation § 49-401.

Illinois Secretary of State’s Office, DMV Services, https:/www.ilsos.gov/departments/vehicles/home.html, requires
registration within 30 days of becoming a resident, https://www.ilsos.gov/publications/pdf publications/vsd271.pdf.
Legal citation: Illinois Statute § 5-3-701.

Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles, https://www.in.gov/bmv/, requires registration within 60 days of becoming a resident,
https://www.in.gov/bmv/registration-plates/vehicle-registrations/.
Legal citation: Indiana Code 9-18-2-1.

Iowa Department of Transportation, https://iowadot.gov/mvd/vehicleregistration/, requires registration within 30 days of
becoming a resident, https://iowadot.gov/mvd/vehicleregistration/registering-a-vehicle.
Legal citation: lowa statute §321-55.

Kansas Department of Revenue, Division of Moto Vehicles, https://www.ksrevenue.gov/dovtitle.html, requires registration
within 90 days of becoming a resident, https://www.ksrevenue.gov/dovtitlefaq.html.
Legal citation: Kansas Statute § 8-127.

Kentucky Drive, https://drive.ky.gov/Vehicles/Pages/Vehicle-Registration-Renewals.aspx, requires registration within 30
days of becoming a resident, https://drive.ky.gov/Drivers/Pages/New-To-Kentucky.aspx.
Legal citation: Kentucky Statute § 601-9-130.

Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles, https://www.expresslane.org/, requires registration within 30 days of becoming a
resident, https://www.expresslane.org/vehicles/title-and-registration/new-title-registration/.
Legal citation: Louisiana Statute § 47.501.

Maine Department of Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles, https://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/, requires registration
within 30 days of becoming a resident, http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/29-A/title29-Asec351.html.
Legal citation: Maine Statutes § 29.5.351.

Maryland Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Administration, https://mva.maryland.gov/, requires registration
withing 60 days of  becoming a resident, unless a military exemption applies,
https://mva.maryland.gov/vehicles/Pages/registration/new-to-maryland.aspx.

Legal citation: Maryland Statutes § 13.402.

Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles, residents required to register registration immediately after becoming a
resident, https://www.mass.gov/how-to/transfer-your-registration-and-title-from-out-of-state.
Legal citation: Massachusetts Law § 90.3.

Michigan Department of State, https://www.michigan.gov/sos, requires registration immediately after becoming a resident,
https://www.michigan.gov/sos/fags/resources/new-michigan-residents.
Legal citation: Michigan Code § 257.255.

Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Services, https://onlineservices.dps.mn.gov/EServices/_/,
requires registration within 60 days of becoming a resident, https://mn.gov/elicense/a-z/?id=1083-
230975#/list/appld//filterType//filterValue//page/1/sort//order/.

Legal citation: Minnesota § 168.012.

Mississippi Department of Revenue, Tags and Titles, https://www.dor.ms.gov/tags-and-titles, requires registration within
30 days of becoming a resident, https://www.dor.ms.gov/tagstitles/motor-vehicle-licensing-fags.
Legal citation: Mississippi Code § 63.21.
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Missouri Department of Revenue, https://dor.mo.gov/, requires registration withing 30 days of becoming a resident,
https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/titling-registration/.
Legal citation: Missouri Statutes § 301.020.

Montana Department of Justice, Vehicle Services Bureau, https://dojmt.gov/driving/, requires registration within 60 days
of becoming a resident, https://dojmt.gov/driving/vehicle-title-and-registration/.
Legal citation: Montana Code § 61.3.301.

Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles, https://dmv.nebraska.gov/, requires registration within 30 days of becoming a
resident, https://dmv.nebraska.gov/dvr/new-nebraska.
Legal citation: Nebraska Statute § 60-362.

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles, https://dmv.nv.gov/, requires registration within 30 days of becoming a resident,
https://dmv.nv.gov/nvregreq.htm.
Legal citation: Nevada Statute § 482.206.

New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles, https://www.dmv.nh.gov/, requires registration within 60 days of
becoming a resident, https://www.dmv.nh.gov/vehicles-boats-or-titles/vehicle-registrations/new-resident-new-hampshire.
Legal citation: New Hampshire Statute § 261.45.

New Jersey, Motor Vehicle Commission, https://www.nj.gov/mve/, requires registration within 60 days of becoming a
resident, https://www.nj.gov/mvc/drivertopics/movetonj.htm.
Legal citation: New Jersey § 39.3.4.

New Mexico, Motor Vehicle Department, https:/www.mvd.newmexico.gov/, requires registration within 30 days of
becoming a resident, https://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/chapter-2-title-and-registration-general-information/.
Legal citation: New Mexico Statutes § 66.3.301.

New York Department of Motor Vehicles, https://dmv.ny.gov/, requires registration within 30 days of becoming a resident,
https://dmv.ny.gov/registration/register-out-state-vehicle.
Legal citation: New York Statutes § 14.401.

North Carolina Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles, https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/, requires
registration within 60 days of becoming a resident, https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/help/moving/Pages/new-residents.aspx.
Legal citation: North Carolina Statute § 20.111.

North Dakota Department of Transportation, https://www.dot.nd.gov/, requires registration within 90 days of becoming a
resident, https://www.nd.gov/ndhp/node/134.
Legal citation: North Dakota Statute § 39.01.01.

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/, requires registration within 30 days of becoming a resident,
https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/new-to-ohio.aspx.
Legal citation: Ohio Code § 4503.101.

Oklahoma https://oklahoma.gov/service.html, requires registration within 30 days of becoming a resident,
https://oklahoma.gov/service/all-services/auto-vehicle/title-transfers.html.
Legal citation: Oklahoma Statute § 47.125.

Oregon Department of Transportation, https://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv/pages/index.aspx, requires registration within 6
months of becoming a resident, https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?rule VrsnRsn=251481.
Legal citation: Oregon Statute § 735-016-0040.

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, Driver and Vehicle Services, https://www.dmv.pa.gov/, requires registration
within 20 days of becoming a resident, https://www.dmv.pa.gov/Driver-Services/New-Resident-Relocation-
Information/New%?20Residents/Pages/Motor-Vehicle-Information-for-New-Residents.aspx.

Legal citation: Pennsylvania Statute § 75.1301.

VN-102 12/2023 MTC Page 4 of 5


https://dor.mo.gov/
https://dor.mo.gov/motor-vehicle/titling-registration/
https://dojmt.gov/driving/
https://dojmt.gov/driving/vehicle-title-and-registration/
https://dmv.nebraska.gov/
https://dmv.nebraska.gov/dvr/new-nebraska
https://dmv.nv.gov/
https://dmv.nv.gov/nvregreq.htm
https://www.dmv.nh.gov/
https://www.dmv.nh.gov/vehicles-boats-or-titles/vehicle-registrations/new-resident-new-hampshire
https://www.nj.gov/mvc/
https://www.nj.gov/mvc/drivertopics/movetonj.htm
https://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/
https://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/chapter-2-title-and-registration-general-information/
https://dmv.ny.gov/
https://dmv.ny.gov/registration/register-out-state-vehicle
https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/
https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/help/moving/Pages/new-residents.aspx
https://www.dot.nd.gov/
https://www.nd.gov/ndhp/node/134
https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/
https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/new-to-ohio.aspx
https://oklahoma.gov/service.html
https://oklahoma.gov/service/all-services/auto-vehicle/title-transfers.html
https://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv/pages/index.aspx
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=251481
https://www.dmv.pa.gov/
https://www.dmv.pa.gov/Driver-Services/New-Resident-Relocation-Information/New%20Residents/Pages/Motor-Vehicle-Information-for-New-Residents.aspx
https://www.dmv.pa.gov/Driver-Services/New-Resident-Relocation-Information/New%20Residents/Pages/Motor-Vehicle-Information-for-New-Residents.aspx

Rhode Island Department of Revenue, Division of Motor Vehicles, https://dmv.ri.gov/, requires registration within 30 days
of becoming a resident, https://dmv.ri.gov/registrations-plates-titles/transfers/out-state-transfers.
Legal citation: Rhode Island Statute § 31.3.2.

South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, https://scdmvonline.com/, requires registration after becoming a resident,
https://scdmvonline.com/Vehicle-Owners/Moving-To-SC.
Legal citation: South Carolina Statute § 56.3.110.

South Daketa Department of Revenue, https://dor.sd.gov/individuals/motor-vehicle/, requires registration withing 90 days
of becoming a resident, https://dor.sd.gov/government/government-faqs/.
Legal citation: South Dakota Statute § 32.5.2.

Tennessee Department of Revenue, https:/www.tn.gov/revenue, requires registration after becoming a resident,
https://www.tn.gov/content/tn/revenue/title-and-registration/vehicle-registration/registration-new.html.
Legal citation: Tennessee Code § 55.4.101.

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, https://www.txdmv.gov/, requires registration within 30 days of becoming a resident,
https://www.txdmv.gov/motorists/register-your-vehicle.
Legal citation: Texas Code § 502

Utah State Tax Commission, Division of Motor Vehicles, https://dmv.utah.gov/, requires registration within 60 days of
becoming a resident, https://dmv.utah.gov/fag/registering.
Legal citation: Utah Statute § 41.1a.202.

Virgina Department of Motor Vehicles, https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/, requires registration within 3 days of becoming a
resident, https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title9.1/chapter9/section9.1-905/.
Legal citation: Virginia § 9.1.905.

Washington State Department of Licensing, https:/www.dol.wa.gov/, requires registration within 30 days of becoming a

resident, https://www.dol.wa.gov/moving-washington-wa/moving-washington-vehicle-registration-and-plates.
Legal citation: Washington § 46.16A.

West Virginia Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles, https://transportation.wv.gov/DMV, requires
registration within 30 days of becoming a resident, https://transportation.wv.gov/DMV/Pages/movingtowv.aspx.
Legal citation: West Virgina Code § 17A-3-1a.

Wisconsin Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles, https://wisconsindot.gov, requires registration after
becoming a resident, https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/new-res-default.aspx.
Legal citation: Wisconsin Statute § 341.

Wyoming Department of Transportation, https://www.dot.state.wy.us, requires registration within 120 days of becoming a
resident, unless an exception exists, https://www.plattecountywyoming.com/registration-requirements.
Legal citation: Wyoming Statute § 31.2.201.
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