/\?"\VERMO Q | Blanket Permit Application for Low Bed Trailers

120 State Street

EgiﬁéyR;MrEwsgggmgTOR VEHICLES Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001
(voice) 802.828.2064

(fax) 802.828.5418

dmv.vermont.gov Toll Free: 888-99-VERMONT
TTD: 711

Permit Must Be Carried in Vehicle at Time of Operation
(See Regulations on the back of this form)
** OUT OF STATE APPLICANTS MUST INCLUDE A
VALID COPY OF THE TRAILER REGISTRATION **

Name:

Street:

City/State/Zip:

TRUCK DATA: “ANY LEGALLY REGISTERED TRACTOR”

LOW BED TRAILER DATA:

Make: Registration #: State: # of Axles:

VIN# Length: Width:

A Low bed trailer is defined as a trailer manufactured for the primary purpose of carrying heavy equipment on a flat-
surfaced deck, which deck is at a height equal to or lower than the top of the rear axle group.

Overweight vehicles must apply directly to the town
for permission to operate on town highways.

X] OBJECT TO BE HAULED: HEAVY EQUIPMENT

WEIGHT: LBS. WIDTH: 12FT. 6 IN. HEIGHT: 14 FT. LENGTH: 75 FEET

BLANKET PERMIT FEE - $275.00 PER UNIT

PERMIT WILL EXPIRE WITH THE TRAILER REGISTRATION

This permit is subject to state motor vehicle laws and vehicle permit regulations.
See general regulations on reverse side of this application.

Applicant’s Signature Printed Name Phone # Date
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GENERAL REGULATIONS GOVERNING THIS PERMIT

This permit must be carried in the designated vehicle during the authorized movement.
Permits will expire with the trailer registration. Permit fees will not be pro-rated.
The use of this permit by the applicant signifies that s/he has read the terms of this permit and will comply with them.

Speed shall not exceed 45 miles per hour on the State System for loads exceeding 90,000 Ibs. or 10 feet in width, or over-
height; on the Interstate, 50 miles per hour unless otherwise posted.

Travel with a vehicle or load in excess of 10 feet 6 inches wide or up to 75 feet in length, shall not be made on Saturdays,
Sundays or the following holidays: New Year’s Day — January 1%; Martin Luther King Jr. day — 3" Monday in January;
Washington’s Birthday — 3™ Monday in February; Memorial Day — Last Monday in May; Independence Day — July 4%;
Labor Day — 1% Monday in September; Columbus Day — 2" Monday in October; Veterans Day — November 11%;
Thanksgiving Day — the 4™ Thursday in November; Christmas Day — December 25, If a holiday falls on a Saturday, the
preceding Friday is a legal holiday; if a holiday falls on a Sunday, the following Monday is a legal holiday and these days are
restricted as other holidays. Movement may be restricted before and after certain holidays and on Friday afternoons between
July 1%t and Labor Day.

DAYLIGHT HOURS ONLY: Travel with vehicles and/or loads that are over-width, over-length or over-height shall be
restricted to daylight hours. Movement can be made 30 minutes before sunrise and 30 minutes after sunset. Vehicles that are
overweight only, and are capable of traveling with the traffic flow, are not restricted to daylight travel times.

When the overall width exceeds 8 feet 6 inches or the length is greater than 68 feet, it must be equipped with red, day glo or
florescent orange FLAGS, at least 18 inches square and mounted on the four corners of the load indicating the widest point.

When the overall width is 12 feet or greater, a pilot car is required, carrying the prescribed sign and with flashing amber light.
The pilot car will precede over-dimension loads on State Highways and follow them on Interstate Highways.

No movement shall be made over highways or bridges posted for restricted loads in accordance with Sections 1551 and 1552
of Title 19 VSA or Section 1398 of Title 23 VSA. Wooden bridges have special restrictions.

When overall width exceeds 8 feet 6 inches or the length is greater than 68 feet, the prescribed sign reading “OVERSIZE
LOAD” must be attached to the front of the truck and rear of the trailer.

When the overall width is 12 feet or greater, a pilot car is required, carrying the prescribed sign and with flashing amber light.
The pilot car will precede over-dimension loads on State Highways and follow them on Interstate Highways.

Five (5) axle combination vehicle equals 92,000 Ibs, Six (6) or more axle combinations equals 108,000 Ibs. for nondivisible
loads.

Posted Roads: During winter thaws, rainy periods, or when frost is coming out, the selectmen may post town roads and the
District Transportation Administrators may post State Highways. No load in excess of the posting is permitted, no permits
can be issued, and blanket permits are suspended.

No travel is allowed during any ice conditions, sleet, freezing rain, slush or a combination thereof or any snow accumulation
to the extent that it is heavy enough to stick to the highway surface. Also, no travel is allowed during any period of rain or
other weather that requires the use of windshield wipers in the “steady” on position by users of the highway. When visibility
is reduced by fog or any of the conditions previously listed to the extent that the load is not readily identifiable at the distance
of a quarter (1/4) mile. At all times roads must be safe and clear enough to allow traffic to pass. Roads must be clear and
free of puddles or standing water, which may cause spray or mist that interferes with the visibility of other vehicles. When
such conditions exist during a trip, permitted vehicles must exit the road at the first available safe haven and park until the
weather conditions clear and/or until the road conditions improve.

A permit is automatically invalidated by any violation of condition specified by the terms of the permit or by false
information given on the application. This permit must be presented upon request to any Law Enforcement Officer.
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