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BOND NO.  
 

This agreement is entered between  , as principal, and 
 , as Surety. 

 
The principal has applied to the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a license to 
engage in business as a Diesel Fuel Distributor, beginning on _________________________.  If the 
Commissioner of DMV grants this application, the Principal agrees to render all reports and pay all taxes, 
penalties and fines provided in Chapter 27 of Title 23 of Vermont Statutes Annotated. 
 
If the principal fails to render any report or pay tax, penalty or fines required under Chapter 27 of Title 23 of 
Vermont Statutes Annotated, as amended from time to time, the Principal and Surety jointly and separately 
bind themselves, their heirs, executors, administrators and successors to pay to the State of Vermont and/or 
the Commissioner of DMV up to the amount of $________________________________ for each year, or 
fraction thereof, that this agreement remains in effect. 
 
All obligations under this agreement shall commence when the agreement is signed by the Principal and 
Surety and shall cease at midnight on December 31, 20______, except as to any liability that has accrued to 
that time. 
 

Dated this  day of  ,20  at  , 

County of    and State of   . 
   

WITNESS  PRINCIPAL (SEAL) 

     By:  

Dated this  day of  ,20  at  , 

County of         
   

WITNESS  SURETY 

     By:    
      ATTORNEY-IN-FACT (SEAL) 

 
CVO-05 WEB 06/2014 MTC

http://www.dmv.state.vt/


BOND REQUIREMENTS 
 
 

Distributors are required to submit a surety bond with their Motor Fuel License Application /Renewal on an annual 

basis. The amount of the surety bond will be reviewed annually.  The minimum bond amount required shall be sum 

of the highest two months’ payment during the preceding year or $1,000.00, whichever is greater, but in no case 

shall it exceed $700,000.00. For new licenses, the bond amount shall be based on an estimate of the tax liability for 

a two month period.   

 

The bond amount as established above shall be increased whenever the Commissioner deems it necessary to 

protest the revenues of the state. In addition, if payments and reports are delinquent for more than ten days for 

more than one reporting period in a calendar, the bond amount shall be increased to be the sum of the tax liability 

for the highest four months of the calendar year.    

 

A hearing can be requested with the Commissioner for release or reduction of the bond amount. The Distributor 

must have complied with all licensing and reporting requirements for a least three consecutive years. If the 

Commissioner determines that a release or reduction will not unreasonable jeopardize State revenues, the request 

shall be granted. The Commissioner can reimpose or increase a bond if determined the State revenues will be 

unreasonably jeopardized.   

 

If the release or reduction of a bond is granted, the Distributor shall submit financial statements on an annual basis.  

The distributor shall present a report on financial position to include an income statement, balance sheet and 

statement of changes in financial condition. The financial statements shall be reviewed by a Certified or Registered 

Public Accountant and will be the result of a “review of financial statement” as defined by the American Institute of 

Certified Public Accounts (AICPA) – a compilation is not acceptable.    

 

Any surety on a bond furnished by the Distributor shall be discharged from any liability to the state accruing on the 

bond after expiration of 60 days from the date the surety shall have files with the Commissioner a written request to 

be released and discharged, but the surety shall not be released or discharged from liability already accrued or 

which shall accrue before the expiration of the 60 day period. The Commissioner, upon receipt of the request, shall 

promptly notify by mail the licensee who furnished the bond. Unless the licensee, prior to the expiration of the 60 

day period, files a new bond satisfactorily to the Commissioner, the Commissioner shall revoke the license.   
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