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Vermont’s “Texting Law”

Effective June 1, 2010

» All drivers are prohibited from texting while operating a moving motor vehicle on a highway.

» Only drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from other use of portable electronic devices.

What is the legal definition of “texting” according to this law?

Texting is: Reading or manually composing, or sending of electronic communications.
Electronic communications include text messages, instant messages, or e-mails using a portable

electronic device.

What is considered a “portable electronic device”?

A portable electronic device includes (but is not limited to) a cellular telephone, a personal digital
assistant (PDA), and laptop computers. Use of a GPS or navigational system is permitted.

What are the penalties for violating Vermont'’s texting law?

TEXTING (15T OFFENSE)

TEXTING (2\°/SUBSEQUENT
ADJUDICATIONIN 2-YEAR
PERIOD)

USE OF PORTABLE ELECTRONIC
DEVICE (other than texting)

$100 + surcharge & 15% = $156.00
assessed 2 points
30 day recall of license/permit

$250 + surcharge & 15% = $329.00
assessed 5 points
30 day recall of license/permit

$100 + surcharge & 15% = $156.00
assessed 2 points

JUNIOR OPERATORS SENIOR OPERATORS
(UNDER AGE 18) (AGE 18 OR OLDER)

» $100 + surcharge & 15% = $156.00
= assessed 2 points

= $250 + surcharge & 15% = $329.00
= assessed 5 points

not a violation for this age group
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