
 
 

APPLICATION FOR VESSEL VALIDATION
 

State of Vermont 
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES  
Agency of Transportation 

120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

dmv.vermont.gov
 

DO NOT WRITE IN SHADED AREAS 
Vessel Validation Number: 

 

 New 
(421) 

 

 Renewal 
(475) 

EXPIRES DECEMBER 20             

AUDIT LINE  

Make (If Homemade, So State) 
 
 
 

Year Color Hull Identification Number (HIN) 
 GAS     DIESEL             
 ELECTRIC    OTHER 

 NEW   
 USED   
 REBUILT 

Hull Material (Check  One): Type Of Propulsion ( Check  One): Use Of Boat (Check  One): 

 Wood  Aluminum    Outboard  Inboard  Pleasure Only  Shuttlecraft 

 Steel  Fiberglass    Waterjet Pump/ PWC (Jetski)        Livery Only  PWC (Jetski) 

1 Length Of Boat  (Stem To Stern) 
 
 
______ Feet  _____ Inches 
 

 Plastic  Other ________  Waterjet Pump/Shuttlecraft/ (Or Stern Drive)  Commercial  Dealer demo 

2 OWNER 
VT DRIVER LICENSE NO (j) SSN or FEDERAL ID NUMBER (fg) GENDER (c) 

 M    F 
CO-OWNER 

VT DRIVER LICENSE NO (t) SSN or FEDERAL ID NUMBER (pq) GENDER (m)

 M    F 

Name (b) Name (l) 

Mailing Address (PO Box or Street) (d): Mailing Address (PO Box or Street) (n): 

City: State: ZIP: City: State: ZIP: 

Physical Address (Street) (e): Physical Address (Street) (o): 

City: State: ZIP: City: State: ZIP: 

DATE OF BIRTH (h): IF NAME HAS CHANGED, LIST PREVIOUS NAME (i); DATE OF BIRTH (r): IF NAME HAS CHANGED, LIST PREVIOUS NAME (s); 

Phone Number & Email Address: 

3 
I certify that I am the owner of the vessel described above and same is properly equipped and in good 
mechanical condition. I also certify that the statements made herein are true, correct and complete to the 
best of my knowledge. These declarations are made under penalties of perjury and 23 VSA §202 & §203. 

VALIDATION FEE 51  

SIGNATURE OF OWNER DATE TAX 39  

  
MISCELLANEOUS 10  

SIGNATURE OF CO-OWNER DATE TOTAL  

  RATER #  

 

IMPORTANT NOTICE 
Vessel validations expire annually, at midnight the last day of December. This application must be accompanied by a copy of a 
current registration or a valid document issued by the U.S. Coast Guard, the U.S. Bureau of Customs or any other federal agency. 

Section 1: All areas must be completed.  All vessels manufactured on or after 11/01/72 must have a twelve digit Hull Identification Number.  If a 
non-motorized vessel, propulsion must be manual.  Please check “manual” box on the front of the application. 
Section 2: Application must show both the Owner's and Co-Owner's full name, address, date of birth and Social Security Number. If applicant is 
a business, use the Federal ID Number in place of Social Security Number. 
Section 3: This section must be signed by the Owner and Co-Owner (if applicable). 
Fees: Motorized Vessels:   $27.00 vessels less than 16 feet in length, $ 43.00 vessels 16 feet or more but less than 26 feet in length, $70.00 
vessels 26 feet or more but less than 40 feet in length, $136.00 ~ for vessels 40 feet and over in length. Non-motorized Vessels:  No fee 
Tax: The first validation of a vessel in Vermont will be subject to the state sales tax unless: 
1.  A purchase invoice is presented showing a sales tax of 6% or more paid to a dealer in any state jurisdiction who imposes a sales tax.  

Alaska, Montana, Delaware, New Hampshire and Oregon do not have sales and use tax.  If claiming an exemption for sales or use tax paid 
in any of those state jurisdictions who do not impose a sales or use tax, refer to the Tax Department for further assistance. 

2.  The applicant is a nonresident of Vermont who purchased the vessel in a state other than Vermont while a nonresident. 
3.  The applicant is a nonresident of Vermont who purchased the vessel in Vermont, however, who took title and/or possession and/or both in 

another state. 
4.  The applicant is a nonresident of Vermont who submits a copy of a valid registration from his/her home state. 
5.  The vessel is acquired through a transfer to an individual, a relative or not, for no consideration. 

 
DMV COPY 

TA-VD-113 INTERNET 07/2009 MTC 



 
 

CERTIFICATE OF VESSEL VALIDATION
 

State of Vermont 
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES  
Agency of Transportation 

120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

www.vermont.gov
 

DO NOT WRITE IN SHADED AREAS 
Vessel Validation Number: 

 

 New 
(421) 

 

 Renewal 
(475) 

EXPIRES DECEMBER 20             

AUDIT LINE  

Make (If Homemade, So State) 
 
 
 

Year Color Hull Identification Number (HIN) 
 GAS     DIESEL             
 ELECTRIC    OTHER 

 NEW   
 USED   
 REBUILT 

Hull Material (Check  One): Type Of Propulsion ( Check  One): Use Of Boat (Check  One): 

 Wood  Aluminum    Outboard  Inboard  Pleasure Only  Shuttlecraft 

 Steel  Fiberglass    Waterjet Pump/ PWC (Jetski)        Livery Only  PWC (Jetski) 

1 Length Of Boat  (Stem To Stern) 
 
 
_____ Feet  _____ Inches 
 

 Plastic  Other ________  Waterjet Pump/Shuttlecraft/ (Or Stern Drive)  Commercial  Dealer demo 

2 OWNER 
VT DRIVER LICENSE NO (j) 

 
GENDER (c) 

 M    F 
CO-OWNER 

VT DRIVER LICENSE NO (t) 
 

GENDER (m)

 M    F 

Name (b) Name (l) 

Mailing Address (PO Box or Street) (d): Mailing Address (PO Box or Street) (n): 

City: State: ZIP: City: State: ZIP: 

Physical Address (Street) (e): Physical Address (Street) (o): 

City: State: ZIP: City: State: ZIP: 

DATE OF BIRTH (h): IF NAME HAS CHANGED, LIST PREVIOUS NAME (i); DATE OF BIRTH (r): IF NAME HAS CHANGED, LIST PREVIOUS NAME (s); 

Phone Number & Email Address: 

3 
I certify that I am the owner of the vessel described above and same is properly equipped and in good 
mechanical condition. I also certify that the statements made herein are true, correct and complete to the 
best of my knowledge. These declarations are made under penalties of perjury and 23 VSA §202 & §203. 

VALIDATION FEE 51  

SIGNATURE OF OWNER DATE TAX 39  

  
MISCELLANEOUS 10  

SIGNATURE OF CO-OWNER DATE TOTAL  

  RATER #  

 

 

NOTIFICATION OF TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP 
TO BE COMPLETED WHEN VESSEL IS SOLD OR TRANSFERRED 

 
I certify that ownership of the vessel described on front has been transferred on  ,  

to: 
 

 New Owner(s) Name(s) 
  

 New Owner(s) Address 
    

 Signature of Owner  
(must be the same as on the front of the application) 

 Signature of Co-Owner  
(must be the same as on the front of the application) 

 
If you require any further information or assistance, please contact the Registration and License Information Unit at 802.828.2000.  
 
Important:  You are required to notify this department in writing within thirty (30) days of any change in your mailing address, 
legal name or legal residence. 
 

Customer Copy 

TA-VD-113 INTERNET 07/2009 MTC 

http://www.vermont.gov/
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