VERMONT'S
GRADUATED DRIVER

LICENSE LAW

AND TEEN DRIVING
SAFETY TIPS

A PARENT'S GUIDE







U TABLE OF CONTENTS 1

Graduated Driver Licensing and Your p

age1
Teen
Learner’s Permit Page 2
Junior Driver’s License Page 4
Driver Education Page 8
Other Ways To Help Assure Teen Page
Driving Safety 8¢9
For More Information Page 10

Prepared by:

7~ _VERMONT

Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001
dmv.vermont.gov

https://www.facebook.com/VermontDMV

TA-VN-25 5M 09/2013 MTC


http://dmv.vermont.gov/
https://www.facebook.com/VermontDMV

Graduated Driver Licensing and Your
Teen

What is graduated driver licensing?

The graduated driver licensing (GDL) law requires teens 15 to 18
years old to learn to drive in 3 stages. Driving privileges increase
gradually as teens successfully pass through each stage of the
licensing program.

1. A supervised Learner’s Permit
2. A Junior Driver’s License

3. A Driver’s License — issued after successful completion of all
previous driving requirements.

The GDL exists to save teen lives and reduce
injuries.

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death and injury for
teenagers.

Major factors that place teens at risk include:
m Age and lack of driving experience.
m Passengers and other distractions.

However, the GDL alone cannot prevent all teen crashes.

Did you know...
Night driving: This is a high-risk activity for beginners. Per

mile driven, the fatal crash rate of 16-19 year-olds is about 4
imes as high at night compared with during the day.
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What can you do?

As a parent or guardian, you have a critical role in influencing
your teen’s driving. This guide will help you understand the
requirements of Vermont’s GDL law and also help you help your
teen develop positive driving behaviors.

Set Your Own House Rules and Consequences
Youths and You:

Never forget that more than 5,000 teens (15 — 20 years old) are
killed in crashes on our roadways every year. Talk to your young
drivers about their driving before and after they have their permit
or license. Set the rules for driving and explain the consequences
of breaking the rules. In fact, your house rules can be tougher
than the GDL laws, based on your assessment of your teen.

Be accountable, make them accountable:

Write up a contract if you want to spell it out. Sign it and have your
teen driver sign. Remind them that driving is a privilege that can
be easily revoked.

You can have a contract with your teen without writing it down.
Keep an open dialog with your young driver and make your rules
and consequences crystal clear. Talk often and stick to your own
rules.

I Learner's Permit

Who?
m Must be at least 15 years old.

m Must have no violations on record at DMV in the previous
two years to take the Learner’s Permit test.

m Must provide an application signed by a parent or guardian.
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How long?

m Must hold Learner’s Permit for at least one year before
applying for a Junior Driver’s License. Exception: If 18
before this time, may apply for Driver’s License as long as
driver has had no recalls, suspensions or revocations during
the previous 6 months.

Conditions/Restrictions:

Throughout the Learner’s Permit phase, drivers:

m May only operate a motor vehicle if accompanied by one of
the following people who is riding beside him/her in the
front seat:

# Alicensed and unimpaired parent or guardian

f A licensed or certified and unimpaired driver education
instructor

# A licensed and unimpaired individual at least 25 years of
age

m Must wear seatbelt.

m May not use a cell phone or other portable electronic device
while driving.

Consequences of violations:

A recall of the learners permit will occur for any of the
following:

m A single 3 point speeding violation — 90 day recall
m Accumulation of 6 points total — 9o day recall

m Driving without one of the individuals described above — 90
day recall

m Texting while driving — 30 day recall
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While a recall is in effect, the individual is not permitted to drive
(at all).

Fines and other penalties:

®» Five points and $162 fine for texting while driving —
first offense.

®» Five points and $335 fine for texting while driving —
subsequent offenses.

®» Two points and $162 fine for using a cell phone or
other portable electronic device while driving.

® Failure to wear seatbelt will also result in a fine.

I Junior Driver's License

Who?

Issued only to a person 16 or 17 years old who meets the following
requirements:

m Possesses a Learner’s Permit for at least one year.

m Passes an approved driver education course (see Driver
Education section on Page 8) and obtains a Driver Education
Completion Certificate.

m Completes an additional forty (40) hours of practice behind
the wheel, with at least ten (10) of those hours being
nighttime driving, while accompanied by one of the
individuals described on Page 3.

» Proof of this additional practice must be submitted at the
time of application for a Junior Driver’s License.
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» A Parent’s Supervised Driving Guide is available at the
DMV and can be used by parents and guardians to
assure the required additional practice time helps the
teen to develop good driving skills and safe driving
habits.

m Maintains a “clean” driving record without any recalls,

suspensions or revocations for the preceding six months.

m Provides an application signed by a parent or guardian.

m Passes the required road examination.

Did you know...
Single-vehicle crashes: Many fatal crashes of 16 year-olds

involve only the teen’s vehicle. Typically these are high-speed
ashes in which the driver lost control.

How long?

Until the age of 18, then may apply for Driver’s License as
long as driver has had no recalls, suspensions or revocations
during the previous 6 months.

Conditions/Restrictions:

Throughout the Junior Driver’s License phase, drivers:

May not carry passengers for hire (such as taxis or shuttles).
May not carry more passengers than there are seatbelts.

May not operate a vehicle in the course of employment (for
example, a pizza delivery driver) unless license has been held
for one year or driver reaches age 18.

May not use a cell phone or other portable electronic device.

Must wear seatbelt.
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Additional restrictions apply:
First three months:

m Must drive alone or with one of the individuals described on
Page 3.

m May transport any number of passengers, as long as there
are enough seatbelts for everyone if one of the individuals
described on Page 3 is in the front seat of the vehicle with the
teen driver.

Second three months:

m May begin transporting properly restrained family
members only without being accompanied by one of the
individuals described on Page 3.

Consequences of violations:

A recall of the Junior Driver’s License will occur for
any of the following:

m Driving for employer/employment within first year — 9o
day recall

m Carrying passengers for hire (such as taxis or shuttles) — 9o
day recall

m A single 3 point speeding violation — 9o day recall
m Accumulation of 6 points total — 9o day recall
m Texting while driving — 30 day recall

m Violation of passenger restrictions - 9o day recall
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Fines and other penalties:

®» Five points and $162 fine for texting while
driving — first offense.

® Five points and $335 fine for texting while
driving — subsequent offenses.

®» Two points and $162 fine for using a cell phone
or other portable electronic device while driving.

¥

Failure to wear seatbelts will also result in a fine.

® Parents or other drivers who permit teenagers to
violate GDL restrictions may themselves be
ticketed for allowing “illegal operation”. For
example, allowing the transportation of
passengers other than family members during the
second three months of Junior Driver’s License
under GDL.

What happens when your teen’s permit or license
is recalled?

m When a recall is issued, the individual has the right to a
hearing.

m While a recall is in effect, the individual is not permitted to
drive (at all).

Did you know...
Low safety belt use. Most teens who are killed in crashes

using their safety belts.
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NOTE:

Both the Learner’'s Permit and the Junior Driver's License
are “provisional” and can be recalled.

¢ As a parent or guardian, you may request your child’'s
provisional license be recalled by contacting the
Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles,
802-828-2011.

+ A recommendation from a Diversion/Reparative Board
may result in a 30 day recall.

Driver Education

Many Vermont high schools offer driver education as part of the
regular curriculum. For more information regarding high school
programs contact the Department of Education at: 802-828-0559
Vermont commercial driver training schools also offer driver
training courses. A complete listing of licensed commercial
schools can be found on the DMV website at:

dmv.vermont.gov/safety/training/drivers
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Other Ways to Help Assure Teen Driving
Safety

1. Assure your teen has plenty of chances to practice supervised
driving, even more than the required 40 hours described on
Page 4. The Parent’s Supervised Driving Guide, available at
the DMV, can help you make the most of this practice time.

2. Set a good example as a safe, responsible, and law-abiding
driver.

3. Set and discuss family rules for maintaining driving privileges
based on known risk factors for teen drivers.

Such rules could address:

m Lack of safety belt use.

m Speeding.

m Nighttime driving (after gpm).

m Using a cell phone or other electronic devices.
m Multiple teen passengers.

m Drowsy driving.

m Impaired driving.

4. Help your teen understand the risks associated with riding
with another teen driver, particularly those who choose to
drive dangerously and/or violate the laws.

5. Communicate with your child and other parents to help
everyone, both drivers and passengers, to follow the Junior
Driver’s License restrictions. This will help all teens stay safe
and within the GDL law.

6. Encourage your teen to speak up for safety when riding with
other drivers.
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7. Choose a safe, reliable, well-maintained vehicle for your teen
driver.

Additional Teen Driving Resources for both parents and teens can
be found on the DMV website at dmv.vermont.gov/voung-drivers

For More Information

IMPORTANT NOTE:

Please review your VT Driver's Manual or visit the Vermont
DMV website dmv.vermont.gov to see detailed
information regarding required identification and testing for
each stage of the Graduated Driver License.

e

Contact the Vermont DMV

Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001
Phone: 802-828-2000
Central Scheduling: 802-828-2085
Toll Free: 888-99-VERMONT
TTD: 711

dmv.vermont.gov

facebook.com/VermontDMV
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@

“With a commitment to excellence, the
dedicated employees of DMV strive to provide
the highest level of customer service through
the administration of motor vehicle laws and
the promotion of highway safety.”

Integrity, Accountability, Professionalism and
Accuracy/Quality of Information are the
DMV's Core Values.

Robert D. Ide, Commissioner
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