
 SPECIAL EXCESS WEIGHT PERMIT 
 

Department of Motor Vehicles 
Agency of Transportation 

120 State Street 
Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 

dmv.vermont.gov 

** COPY OF VALID REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE IS REQUIRED ** 
THIS PERMIT IS VALID ONLY IF THE ORIGINAL IS CARRIED IN THE APPROPRIATE VEHICLE 

NAME OF REGISTERED OWNER FEDERAL ID/SSN NUMBER 
  

MAILING ADDRESS – STREET/RD, PO BOX CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE 
  

LEGAL ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT THAN MAILING – STREET/RD, PO BOX CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE 
  

TELEPHONE NUMBER (INCLUDING AREA CODE) FAX NUMBER (INCLUDING AREA CODE) 
  

TRUCK MAKE TRUCK YEAR VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (VIN) 
   

REGISTERED STATE REGISTRATION # # OF AXLES 
   

ANY LEGALLY REGISTERED TRAILER # OF TRAILER AXLES TOTAL # OF AXLES 
   

 

Permit Applied For Below Must Have The Number Of Axles Indicated: Note:  Registered Weight Must Be: 
 60,000 – All Products - Must Have 3 Axles 55,000 Lbs. 
 69,000 – All Products - Must Have 4 Axles 60,000 Lbs. 
 72,000 – All Products - Must Have 4 Axles SEE SECT 4C ON BACK 
 76,000 – All Products - Must Have 5 Axles SEE SECT 4D ON BACK 
 90,000 – All Products  - Must Have 5 or more Axles 80,000 Lbs. (See Back) 
 90,000 – Unprocessed Milk Products  - Must Have 5 or more Axles 80,000 Lbs. (See Back) 
 90,000 – Unprocessed Milk Products  - Must Have 5 or more Axles 90,000 Lbs. 
 99,000 – All Products -  Must Have 6 or more Axles 80,000 Lbs. 

 

Permission is granted to operate the above described motor vehicle or combination vehicle with a gross weight of   lbs. on  
designated routes on the State Highway System and those highways designated as the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways except travel 
across restricted bridges. 
 

Statements and warrants made herein are certified under penalty of 23 V.S.A. § 202.  The undersigned agrees to comply with all provisions of the State 
Motor Vehicle Laws and General Regulations including those printed on the reverse of this form. 

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE 

  

 
TRAVEL ON TOWN HIGHWAYS AT ANY WEIGHT ABOVE THE POSTED LIMIT REQUIRES A SEPARATE PERMIT FROM EACH TOWN. 

 
* PERMIT EXPIRES WITH VERMONT REGISTRATION 

VALIDATION STAMP ABOVE IS YOUR RECORD OF FEES PAID AND 
VALIDATES THIS CERTIFICATE. 

PERMIT #:  

EXPIRATION:  /  
MM / YY 

 

PERMIT FEE: $ 

Permits issued to out of state registrants will expire 
on 12/31 each year. 

If you require further information or assistance, please contact Commercial Vehicle Operations at (802) 828-2064  
or visit our Web Site at:  dmv.vermont.gov 

Permit is 2-sided or 2 pages. 
VX-01  07/2016   REB 



PERMIT FEES: Make check or money order payable in US Funds, to the Vermont Department of Motor 
Vehicles.  DO NOT SEND CASH! 

 

EXCESS WEIGHT 
PERMIT MAY BE 

ISSUED FOR: 

REGISTRATION FEE FOR FULL 
YEAR IS: IF THE REGISTERED 

WEIGHT IS: 
FULL PERMIT 

FEE IS: 
AUTHORIZED 
PRODUCTS: GAS/DIESEL OTHER FUELS 

60,000 LBS. $1,527.50 $2,649.50 55,000 LBS. $156.00 ALL 

69,000 LBS. $1,782.50 $3,095.50 60,000 LBS. $352.00 ALL 
72,000 LBS. $2,166.50 $3,767.50 SEE SECT 4C BELOW $15.00 ALL 
76,000 LBS. $2,263.50 $3,937.50 SEE SECT 4D BELOW $15.00 ALL 
90,000 LBS. $2,360.50 $4,106.50 80,000 LBS. $415.00 ALL 
90,000 LBS. $2,360.50 $4,106.50 80,000 LBS. $382.00 MILK 
90,000 LBS. $2,672.50 $4,652.50 90,000 LBS. $10.00 MILK 
99,000 LBS. $2,360.50 $4,106.50 80,000 LBS. $560.00 ALL 

 

1) A truck owner with a permit may upgrade through the purchase of additional permits by paying the difference in fees for each permit 
rather than the full permit fee for each permit.  Permits with a lesser weight for the same vehicle or combination of vehicles may be 
purchased for an administrative fee of $10.00 each. 

2) Permits of this type are transferable only if you have relinquished ownership of the original permitted vehicle.  A $5.00 transfer fee will be 
required. 

 
GENERAL REGULATIONS GOVERNING THIS PERMIT 

 
1. This ORIGINAL permit MUST be carried in the vehicle during movement.  A separate permit shall be issued for each authorized weight 

and shall be in your possession when operating at that weight.  This permit must be presented upon request to any Law Enforcement 
Officer. 

2. The use of this permit by the applicant signifies that the applicant has read all the terms and will comply.  These are the rules to obtain a 
permit; there are additional rules that pertain to the operation of the vehicle under conditions of the permit.  RULES CAN BE OBTAINED 
AT THE FOLLOWING WEB ADDRESS:  http://dmv.vermont.gov/sites/dmv/files/pdf/DMV-VX012-Oversize_Permit_Rules.pdf 

3. All permits referenced in 23 VSA § 1392, are part of the Pilot Program created by 23 U.S.C. Section 127(a)(1)(11)(B) to expire on 
December 31, 2031. 

4. All products permits must conform to the following conditions: 

a) 3-axle trucks with a single steering axle and rear tandem axles (both powered and braked), which have a maximum gross weight of 
not more than 60,000 lbs. 

b) 4-axle trucks with a single steering axle and rear tri-axle unit (two axles of the tri-axle unit powered and braked), which have a 
maximum gross weight of not more than 69,000 lbs. 

c) 4-axle tractor semi-trailer combination with a maximum gross weight of not more than 72,000 lbs. provided the distance between the 
second axle of the tractor and the rear axle of the trailer is at least 24 feet measured to the nearest foot.  For each foot or fraction of 
a foot less than 24 feet measured to the nearest foot, a reduction of 2,000 lbs. In the maximum weight shall be made. 

d) 5 or more axle tractor semi trailer or truck trailer combination with a maximum gross weight of not more than 76,000 lbs. Provided 
that the distance between the first and last axle of two consecutive sets of tandem axles is at least 24 feet measured to the nearest 
foot.  For each foot or fraction of a foot less than 24 feet measured to the nearest foot, a reduction of 2,000 lbs. In the maximum 
gross weight shall be made.   

4. 90,000 lbs. “ALL PRODUCTS PERMITS”:  A minimum of 51 feet between the first and last axle is required for a 5-axle combination and 
a minimum of 43 feet between centers of the first and last axle group is required for a 6-axle combination and a minimum of 34 feet 
between the first and last axle is required for a 7-axle combination. 

5. 99,000 lbs. PERMITS require at least 6 load bearing axles and 51 feet between centers of the extreme axles. 

6. Truck or truck tractor shall be registered for the maximum legal load for its class allowed on the state highway system. 

7. Motor vehicle unit shall be equipped with adequate brakes on all wheels and maximum load on any axle of the vehicle shall not exceed 
a gross weight of 600 lbs. per inch of tire width computed in conformity with the manufacturer’s designated width. 

8. Tractor and trailer combination must be legal length and width.  The maximums are 75 feet long and 8 feet 6 inches total width or trailer 
may not exceed 53 feet. 

9. Posted bridge limits on any state highway system shall not be violated. 

10. This permit DOES NOT authorize movement over town class 2, 3 or 4 highways or the Interstate and Defense Highway System.  A town 
permit is required for movement over town highways.   Milk haulers with a permit to 90,000 lbs. may operate on the Interstate and 
Defense Highway System. 

http://dmv.vermont.gov/sites/dmv/files/pdf/DMV-VX012-Oversize_Permit_Rules.pdf
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