
 
MOTOR FUEL TAX DISTRIBUTOR’S BOND TO STATE OF VERMONT 

 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Agency of Transportation 
 
dmv.vermont.gov 

120 State Street 
Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 

 802.828.2070 
 802.828.3577 

Toll Free:  888-99-VERMONT 
TTD:  711 

 

 

This agreement is entered into 
b t  

 , as  
principal, 

 
 , as Surety. 

 
The principal has applied to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles of Vermont for a license to 
engage in business as a Motor Fuel Distributor, beginning on_____________ 20____.   If the 
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles grants this application, the Principal agrees to render all reports 
and pay all taxes, penalties and fines provided in Subchapter 1 of Chapter 28 of Title 23 of 
Vermont Statutes Annotated. 
 
If the Principal fails to render any report or pay tax, penalty or fines required under Subchapter 1 of 
Chapter 28 of Title 23 of Vermont Statutes Annotated, as amended from time to time, the Principal 
and Surety jointly and separately bind themselves, their heirs, executors, administrators and 
successors to pay to the State of Vermont and/or the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles of Vermont 
up to the amount of $________________________________ for each year, or fraction thereof, 
that this agreement remains in effect. 
 

All obligations under this agreement shall commence when the agreement is signed by the 
Principal and Surety and shall cease at midnight on December 31, 20______, except as to any 
liability that has accrued to that time. 
 
Dated this  day of  ,20  at  , 
County of    and State of   . 
   

WITNESS  PRINCIPAL (SEAL) 

     By:  
Dated this  day of  ,20  at  , 
County of     and State of . 
   

WITNESS  SURETY 

     By:  

       

ATTORNEY-IN-FACT 

 

(SEAL) 

Bond No.  

TA-VX-045 6/2014 MLD 

http://www.dmv.state.vt/


 

BOND REQUIREMENTS 

 

Distributors are required to submit a surety bond with their Motor Fuel License 
Application/Renewal on an annual basis.  The amount of the surety bond will be reviewed 
annually.  The minimum bond amount required shall be sum of the highest two months’ 
payment during the preceding year or $1,000.00, whichever is greater, but in no case shall it 
exceed $700,000.00.  For new licenses, the bond amount shall be based on an estimate for the 
tax liability for a two month period.   

 

The bond amount as established above shall be increased whenever the Commissioner deems 
it necessary to protect the revenues of the State.  In addition, if payment and reports are 
delinquent for more than ten days for more than one reporting period in a calendar, the bond 
amount shall be increased to be the sum of the tax liability for the highest four months of the 
calendar year.  

 

A hearing can be requested with the Commissioner for release of reduction of the bond amount.  
The distributor must have complied with all licensing and reporting requirements for at least 
three consecutive years.  If the Commissioner determines that a release or reduction will not 
unreasonably jeopardize State revenues, the request shall be granted.  The Commissioner can 
reimpose or increases a bond if determined the State revenues will be jeopardized.   

 

If the release or reduction of a bond is granted, the distributor shall submit financial statements 
on an annual basis.   The distributor shall present a report on financial position to include an 
income statement, balance sheet and statement of changes in financial condition.  The financial 
statements shall be reviewed by a Certified or Registered Public Accountant and will be the 
result of a “review of financial statement” as defined by the American Institute of Certified Public 
Accountants (AICPA) – a compilation is not acceptable.   

 

Any surety bond on a bond furnished by the distributor shall be discharged from any liability to 
the State accruing on the bond after expiration of 60 days from the date the surety shall have 
filed with the Commissioner a written request to be released and discharged, but the surety 
shall not be released or discharged from liability already accrued or which shall accrue before 
the expiration of the 60 day period.  The Commissioner, upon receipt of the request, shall 
promptly notify by mail the licensee who furnished the bond.  Unless the licensee, prior to the 
expiration of the 60 day period, files a new bond satisfactorily to the Commissioner, the 
Commissioner shall revoke the license.   
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