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REGISTRATION PLATE VISIBILITY ISSUES 

 
Faded Registration Plates 
 
Any Vermont registration plate faded to a point in which its numbers and letters have impaired identification 
must be replaced.  Inspection stations are obligated to adhere to the following procedure; plates will be 
replaced at no cost to the customer: 
 

• Have customer fill out a Replacement Plate Application (DMV Form TA-VD-16) available on the 
Vermont DMV website (dmv.vermont.gov) and check the box for two replacement registration plates 

• Write “FADED PLATES” across the top of the form and check the “faded” box 
• Do not collect a fee from the customer 
• Advise the customer they will receive a new set of plates, registration and validation sticker within 3 – 

4 weeks.  Customers will receive a new plate number unless they have vanity plates or low number 
plates (four digits or less).  Vanity and low number plates will be replaced at no cost.  If a customer 
wishes to keep their registration number and it is not a vanity or low number plate, they may do so at a 
cost of $10.00 per plate   

• The inspection station must mail the application to DMV 
• The rest of the vehicle can be inspected per normal procedure, barring no other issues are identified 

 
This procedure only refers to the replacement of faded plates due to the manufacturing process or faulty 
materials.  Lost or damaged plates must be replaced at the cost of the customer. 
 
Faded plates can dropped off at any Vermont DMV location or mailed to 120 State Street, Montpelier, 
Vermont 05603 (Attention Stockroom). 
 
Obstructed Registration Plates 
 
Per 23 VSA §511(a), vehicle registration plates must be affixed to the front and rear of their assigned vehicle 
horizontally, must be securely fastened and must be kept entirely unobstructed.  Numbers and letters 
displayed must be plainly legible at all times.  This not only includes the registration plate number (i.e. – 
ABC123), but also includes the State identification (Vermont) displayed across the top, the words “Green 
Mountain State” displayed along the bottom and the registration validation sticker.  License plate brackets 
covering any of the aforementioned in any manner which obstructs viewing are illegal and could subject the 
vehicle operator to a fine.   

http://www.dmv.vermont.gov/


 
A vehicle with an obstructed registration plate cannot pass inspection.  Inspecting a vehicle with an obstructed 
registration plate is a violation of the Vermont Periodic Inspection Manual and could subject the inspection 
station and / or inspection mechanic to a fine for conducting a faulty inspection.   
 
Registration Validation Sticker Placement 
 
Registration validation stickers should be affixed to the rear registration plate of the vehicle.  Per 23 VSA 
§511(b), vehicle registration plates with a dimension of approximately 12” X 6” inches must have their 
affiliated validation sticker affixed in the lower right corner.  Registration plates with a dimension of 
approximately 7” X 4” inches must have their affiliated validation sticker affixed in the upper right corner.  A 
vehicle displaying its validation sticker in another location other than the above cannot pass inspection.   
 
Operating a vehicle with a registration validation sticker affixed in any other location could subject the 
operator to a ticket and inspecting a vehicle with a validation sticker affixed in any other location could subject 
the inspection station and / or inspection mechanic to a fine for conducting a faulty inspection.   
 
Registration validation stickers will be replaced at no cost if necessary.  To obtain only a replacement 
validation sticker, customers should be instructed to complete a Duplicate / Corrected Registration / License 
or Learner Permit Application (DMV Form TA-VL-15) available on the Vermont DMV website 
(dmv.vermont.gov).  Customers should write “VALIDATION STICKER ONLY” across the top and check the box 
for “stickers needed” and one will be provided.  Customers may also go to any DMV office, present their valid 
registration card and receive a replacement sticker in hand. 
 
We have included a poster for display with this bulletin.  We would appreciate your cooperation in displaying 
it for viewing. Additional copies may be printed from our website, http://bit.ly/FadedPlate.  
 
Questions regarding this bulletin should be directed to your area DMV Investigator or the Department of 
Motor Vehicles Inspection Unit at 802-828-2094. 
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