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Changes to Motor Vehicle Laws 
 
Act 147 – An Act Related to Driver’s License Suspensions and Judicial, Criminal 
Justice, and Insurance Topics 
Act 158 – An Act Related to the Transportation Capital Program and 
Miscellaneous Changes to Transportation-Related Law  
Act 169 – An Act Relating to Privacy Protection and a Code of Administrative 
Rules 
 
 
There were numerous changes to Vermont’s motor vehicle laws this past legislative session that 
law enforcement officers should be aware of.  These changes are contained in Acts 147, 158 and 
169.  The following information highlights the sections of the Acts we feel would be of most 
interest to law enforcement officers. These sections become law on July 1, 2016 unless otherwise 
noted.  You can view the Acts in their entirety on the legislative home page of the state website: 
http://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/search/2016 
 
 
Act No. 147 (H.571) An act relating to driver’s license suspensions and judicial, criminal 
justice, and insurance topics  
• Section 1: Pre-July 1, 1990 Criminal Traffic Offenses. All FAP suspensions stemming from 

traffic tickets issued before July 1, 1990 have been made eligible for reinstatement and 
applicable reinstatement fees have been waived.  

• Section 2: Driver Restoration Program to run 9/1/2016 - 11/30/2016 to be administered by 
the Vermont Judicial Bureau. Traffic tickets issued 7/1/1990 - 6/20/2012 are eligible to be 
reduced to $30 through the VJB. Commercial vehicle and DUI related violations are not 
eligible for reduction through the program 
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• Section 3: Repealed and terminated driver’s license suspensions imposed under Titles 7 
V.S.A. § 656(g), 7 V.S.A. § 1005, 13 V.S.A. § 1753, 18 V.S.A. § 4230b(g) and 32 V.S.A.    
§ 8909 which are penalties for nondriving conduct. License suspensions for the following 
violations are made eligible for reinstatement: 
 Failure to pay a fine on underage alcohol possession (16A, 16B, 16C) 
 Underage tobacco possession (TOB, TO2, CIG, CI2, CHU) 
 False public alarm (ED1, ED2, ED3, ED4, ED5) 
 Failure to pay a fine on underage marijuana possession (MJ1, MJ2) 
 Individuals failing to pay P&U tax (PU) 

• Section 5: Repeals 23 V.S.A. § 2307, but provisions of this repealed law were reenacted as 
amended so FAF suspensions are now limited to 30 days and only apply to FAF suspensions 
when the underlying ticket had points on a person’s record. The $30/30 plan offered through 
the Vermont Judicial Bureau (VJB) has been modified to $30 per ticket per month with a 
maximum monthly payment of $100. 

• Section 6 – 15: Repealed Suspensions for Nonpayment of Civil Penalties for 7 V.S.A.           
§ 656(g), 7 V.S.A. § 1005, 13 V.S.A. § 1753, 18 V.S.A. § 4230b(g) and 32 V.S.A. § 8909  

• Section 16: 23 V.S.A. § 674 (a)(2) criminalizes a third civil offense for driving with a license 
suspended (DLS) when the two prior offenses have occurred within two years of the third 
offense and after December 1, 2016, and repeals a provision that requires civil DLS offenses 
arising from suspensions for unpaid traffic violation judgments that have since been paid not 
to count as prior offenses. 

• Section 17: Crime for Operating Without a License 23 V.S.A. § 601(g) is amended for a 
second violation for driving without obtaining a license (NL) within a two-year period is 
subject to a criminal charge (NLC). This is not a traffic ticket offense. There will not be any 
flag used, it will be up to the officer making the stop to determine the charge based upon the 
driver’s record. A driver who violates this section after a previous conviction under this 
section within the prior two years shall be subject to imprisonment for not more than 60 days 
or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both. An unsworn printout of the person’s Vermont 
motor vehicle conviction history may be admitted into evidence to prove a prior conviction 
under this section. 

• Section 18-20: Amends 23 V.S.A. § 4(44) to exclude (C) motorcycle headgear under section 
1256 of this title from being categorized as a “Moving violation.” It also eliminates 2 points 
for motorcycle headgear violation but applies 2 points for failure to wear eyewear while 
operating a motorcycle as required under 1257. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 



  

 

• Section 21: Addresses training about the VJB payment plan options for traffic violations. 
Officers are encouraged to tell motorists at the time of issuing a traffic ticket about the VJB 
payment plan option. The legislature recommended the VJB update materials enforcement 
officers provide to persons issued a complaint for a traffic violation about payment plan 
options and of the person’s right to request a hearing on ability to pay. Further 
recommendations included prominently displaying on its website information about the 
existence of payment plan options for traffic violation judgments and the right of a person 
issued a complaint for a traffic violation to request a hearing on ability to pay. The Agency of 
Transportation is tasked with carrying out a campaign to raise public awareness of traffic 
violation judgment payment plan options and of a person’s right to request a hearing before a 
Judicial Bureau hearing officer on his or her ability to pay a Judicial Bureau judgment.   

• Section 24: 12 V.S.A. § 5784 provides Immunity for the Forcible Entry of Motor Vehicle for 
Rescue Purposes. Limits the liability of a person who forcibly enters a motor vehicle to 
remove a child or animal if the person reasonably and in good faith believes that the child or 
animal is in imminent danger of harm and if certain other conditions are satisfied.  
(1) determines the motor vehicle is locked or there is otherwise no reasonable method for the 

child or animal to exit the vehicle; 
(2) reasonably and in good faith believes that forcible entry into the motor vehicle is 

necessary because the child or animal is in imminent danger of harm;  
(3) notifies local law enforcement, fire department, or a 911 operator prior to forcibly 

entering the vehicle;  
(4) remains with the child or animal in a safe location reasonably close to the motor vehicle 

until a law enforcement, fire, or other emergency responder arrives;  
(5) places a notice on the vehicle that the authorities have been notified and specifying the 

location of the child or animal; and (6) uses no more force to enter the vehicle and 
remove the child or animal than necessary under the circumstances. 

 
EFFECTIVE DATES:  
Sec. 1 (termination of suspensions arising from pre-1990 failures to appear on criminal traffic 
offense charges), Sec. 2(e) (public awareness campaign), Sec. 3 (termination of suspensions 
repealed in act), and Secs. 4–15 (amendment or repeal of license suspension and registration 
refusal provisions and underage alcohol and marijuana crimes shall take effect on passage.  
All other sections shall take effect on July 1, 2016. 
 

http://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Documents/2016/Docs/ACTS/ACT147/ACT147%20As%20Enacted.pdf 
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Act No. 158 (H.876) An act relating to the transportation capital program and 
miscellaneous changes to transportation-related law 
Vulnerable Users 
• Section 39 - 44: 23 V.S.A. § 1033, 1035, 1047, 1049, 1064, 1136, 1139, and 1142. Amends 

current laws regarding safe passing to provide the duty of motor vehicles to exercise due care 
when passing vulnerable users which includes increasing clearance to a recommended 
distance of at least four feet. Amended the duties of a vehicle when it crosses to the left of the 
center of a highway in order to prohibit the vehicle from passing unless the passing 
movement can be made without interfering with a vulnerable user.  Requires drivers of 
vehicles entering a highway from a private road to yield the right of way to vulnerable users 
approaching on the highway. Grants a bicyclist flexibility to not give hand signals when 
turning (or when significantly slowing down), and to not give such signals continuously for 
100 feet, when the bicyclist cannot give the signals safely. Amends current law governing 
duties of vehicles turning left to establish a duty to turn left only when the turn can be made 
at a “safe distance” from a vulnerable user. Amends the existing standard that bicyclists must 
generally ride as near to the right side of a roadway as is “practicable” to specify that 
bicyclists must ride as near to the right of the improved area of the highway right-of-way as 
is “safe.” Amends the existing law that creates exceptions for when a bicyclist must ride to 
the left in a roadway to allow, but not require, bicyclists to ride to the left when taking 
precautions to avoid hazards and road conditions and provides examples of such hazards. 
Lastly raises from $25.00 to $100.00 the maximum penalty for violating the law that requires 
bicyclists to ride no more than two abreast and not to impede the normal and reasonable 
movement of traffic when riding two abreast.  

Ignition Interlock Devices 
• Section 45-52: Ignition Interlock Devices makes several changes to Vermont’s current law 

governing DUI suspensions and ignition interlock restricted driver’s licenses (RDLs), 
including establishing an “ignition interlock certificate” for nonresidents. Eliminates “hard” 
suspension periods prior to eligibility for an ignition interlock RDL or certificate except in 
the case of a person whose offense involves death or serious bodily injury to another person 
or involves refusal of a law enforcement officer’s reasonable request for an evidentiary test. 
Makes operation under an ignition interlock RDL or certificate “mandatory” for second or 
subsequent DUI offenders by requiring such offenders to operate under an RDL or certificate 
prior to being eligible for reinstatement of their regular operator’s license or privilege to 
operate. Eliminates requirements that a person operate under an RDL for a period longer than 
his or her initial suspension period as well as eliminating the requirement that a person be 
enrolled in an Alcohol and Driving Education Program prior to being eligible to obtain an 
ignition interlock RDL.  A transition provision at the end of the act provides that the 
provision of the act that requires operation under an ignition interlock RDL as a condition of 
eligibility for reinstatement of the operator’s license or privilege to operate of a second or 
subsequent DUI offender shall apply only in connection with a second or subsequent DUI 
offense that occurs on or after July 1, 2016.  
 
 



  

 

Refusal to take an evidentiary test (CT1,CT2,CT3,CT4,CT5, 21C,21D) convictions are now 
eligible for RDL use following a hard suspension of: 
 1st offense – 30 days 
 2nd offense – 90 days 
 3rd or subsequent – 1 year plus Total abstinence Program 

A person choosing to use an IID for their first offense must have the device for 90-days 
without any extensions.  
IID use is mandatory for reinstatement for second and subsequent driving under the influence 
convictions, unless waived due to a medical exemption (inability to blow one liter of breath 
into the machine), or the conviction resulted solely from drug use 
 2nd offense – 18 months 
 3rd or subsequent – 3 years plus Total Abstinence Program 

DUI with death or serious bodily injury resulting carry a one-year hard suspension that must 
be served prior to applying for an RDL or Ignition Interlock Certificate 
IID manufacturers and providers must agree to provide a discount of 50% to applicants who 
prove receipt of 3SquaresVT, LIHEAP, Reach Up, or like benefits from another state 
Persons under 21 with an alcohol concentration of .02 or more are eligible to apply for an 
RDL or Ignition Interlock Certificate which must be used for the following length of time if 
the applicant chooses to apply: 

(1) 1st offense – 6 months 
(2) 2nd or subsequent – 1 year or until 21st birthday, whichever is longer 

Motor Assisted Bicycles 
• Section 56: 23 V.S.A. § 4 Motor-assisted Bicycles. Defines “motor-assisted bicycle” to mean 

a bicycle or tricycle with fully operable pedals that is equipped with a motor that has a power 
output of not more than 1,000 watts or 1.3 horsepower and is itself capable of producing a 
top speed of no more than 20 miles per hour on a paved level surface when ridden by an 
operator who weighs up to 170 pounds. Provides that motor-assisted bicycles are generally to 
be governed by Vermont laws applicable to bicycles, and are exempt from registration, 
licensing, and inspection requirements; may not be operated on a sidewalk in Vermont; and 
may not be operated on a Vermont highway by a person under 16 years of age. 

Exhibition Vehicles 
• Section 60: Exhibition Vehicles; Year of Manufacture Plates 23 V.S.A. § 373 expands the 

authorized use of year-of-manufacture license plates on vehicles registered as exhibition 
vehicles in order to allow such plates to be displayed on such vehicles of a model year prior 
to 1968. 

 
 
 
 



  

 

Licenses 
• Section 61 - 63: 23 V.S.A. § 208 Recognition of Out-of-State Licenses, Permits, and 

Registrations repeals and reenacts (with minor modifications) a law that governs the 
recognition of out-of-state licenses, permits, and registrations and adds to the law governing 
operator’s licenses a provision of existing law that authorizes operation of a motor vehicle in 
Vermont under a foreign country license for up to 30 days for vacation purposes. 

Smugglers Notch 
• Section: 68 23 V.S.A. § 1006b prohibits the operation of commercial vehicles on the 

Smugglers’ Notch segment of VT Route 108 and specifies the penalties for a violation. The 
commercial vehicles prohibited from using this segment are truck-tractor-semitrailer 
combinations and truck-tractor-trailer combinations.  

Tire Chains 
• Section 69 23 V.S.A. § 1006c gives the Secretary of Transportation, the Commissioner of 

Motor Vehicles, and the Commissioner of Public Safety authority to require the use of tire 
chains on vehicles with a weight rating of more than 26,000 pounds, and specifies how the 
chains must be affixed for different vehicle configurations as well as the penalties for a 
violation. This would apply to the Vermont Route 9 corridor between Bennington and 
Brattleboro.  

 

EFFECTIVE DATES: 
 APPLICABILITY TO DUI MATTERS This section shall take effect on passage. The 
requirement for a second or subsequent DUI offender to operate under an ignition interlock RDL 
or certificate as a condition of eligibility for reinstatement of the offender’s regular operator’s 
license or privilege to operate, created under Sec. 46, amending 23 V.S.A. § 1209a, shall apply 
only in connection with a second or subsequent DUI offense that occurs on or after July 1, 2016. 

 
http://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Documents/2016/Docs/ACTS/ACT158/ACT158%20As%20Enacted.pdf 

 
Act No. 169 (S.155). Judiciary; public records; executive branch An act relating to privacy 
protection and a code of administrative rules 
 

Automated License Plate Readers (ALPR) Systems and Data 
• Section 6 Sunset of Laws Governing Use of Automated License Plate Recognition (ALPR) 

Systems and Data. Extends by two years, from July 1, 2016 to July 1, 2018, the repeal of 23 
V.S.A. §§ 1607 and 1608, which regulate the use of ALPR systems and the use and retention 
of ALPR data.  

• Section 7 Analysis of ALPR System-Related Costs and Benefits. Directs the Department of 
Public Safety, in consultation with the Joint Fiscal Office, to analyze all present and 
projected costs associated with ALPR systems used by law enforcement in Vermont and 
conduct a cost-benefit analysis of the use of the systems, and to report its findings to the 
House and Senate Committees on Judiciary and on Transportation on or before January 15, 
2017.  

http://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Documents/2016/Docs/ACTS/ACT158/ACT158%20As%20Enacted.pdf


  

 

• Section 8-9 Amendments to Laws Governing Law Enforcement Use of ALPR Systems and 
Data. Amends the existing law governing the use of ALPR systems and the use and retention 
of ALPR data to provide that: a “legitimate law enforcement purpose” for the use of ALPR 
systems and data includes a person’s defense against certain charges and does not include 
enforcement of parking or traffic violations other than commercial motor vehicle violations; 
access to active ALPR data stored on individual ALPR units and to historical data stored on 
the statewide database maintained by the Department of Public Safety will require a person 
to cite “specific and articulable facts showing that there are reasonable grounds to believe 
that the data are relevant and material to an ongoing criminal, missing person, or commercial 
motor vehicle investigation or enforcement action;” access to historical ALPR data will be 
governed by this standard for the first six months after the data creation and that after six 
months, the data will only be accessible pursuant to a warrant if not requested in connection 
with a pending criminal charge or pursuant to a court order by the prosecution or the defense 
in connection with a pending criminal charge; and the Department of Motor Vehicles, in 
connection with commercial motor vehicle enforcement activities, may manage a separate 
database of ALPR data. In addition, the act also amends the existing law to expand the 
annual reporting requirements of the Department of Public Safety and to require the 
Department to adopt rules on or before January 1, 2018 to implement the law.  

• Section 10 Information Related to Use of Ignition Interlock Devices. Provides that data in the 
custody of a public agency related to the use of an ignition interlock device shall not be 
disclosed except pursuant to a warrant, in the case of an emergency, or in connection with an 
enforcement proceeding for violating the law regulating persons who operate under an 
ignition interlock restricted driver’s license. 

EFFECTIVE DATES: 
Secs. 6–7 shall take effect on passage. Secs. 8–10 shall take effect on July 1, 2016, except that in 
Sec. 8, 23 V.S.A. § 1607(e)(1) (oversight, reporting) shall take effect on January 16, 2017.  

 
http://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2016/S.0155 
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LAW ENFORCEMENT REQUEST FOR ASSISTANCE VIA EMAIL 
 
Please be advised due to staffing changes and to improve responses to written requests for 
assistance, the Enforcement & Safety Division has created two new e-mail addresses. All law 
enforcement requests for information should be emailed to:  DMV-Enforcement@vermont.gov.  
This change is designed to reduce wait times due to individual personnel being available to 
respond. These requests are being handled by the Administrative Support Unit within the 
Enforcement & Safety Division.   
 
If there is something of a confidential and sensitive, on holidays or afterhours, these requests can 
be emailed to Kathy.Codling@vermont.gov who will respond to the requests as soon as 
practicable. 
 
If you have questions regarding Dealers and Inspections an email address for our Dealer and 
Inspection clerks has also been created at DMV-DealersInspections@vermont.gov.   
 
 
 

         
___________________________________               June 30, 2016 
Colonel William (Jake) Elovirta             Date 
Director - Enforcement & Safety Division 
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