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DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Agency of Transportation 

 

120 State St 
Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 

dmv.vermont.gov 
 
Monday, June 20, 2016 
 

 

 

To:  Vermont Town Clerks   

From:  Michael Charter, DMV Project Specialist 

Re:  2016 DMV Fee Changes & Updates to DMV Forms 
  

ACT 159 (H.877) ~ An Act Relating to Transportation Funding 
 
Act 159 was signed into law on 6/2/2016 and adjusts Transportation funding, including motor 
vehicle fees. All fee changes take effect on July 1, 2016. 

PROCESSING REGISTRATION RENEWALS (FOR TOWN CLERKS IN THE DMV REGISTRATION 
RENEWAL PROGRAM) 
 
New fees become effective on July 1, 2016. All transactions processed on or after July 1, 2016 
must be processed at the new fees.  
 

• July registration renewals will have new fees printed on the renewal notices.  
• May & June renewals will contain old fees. If renewed on or after July 1st they must be 

processed at the new fee (see following pages). 
o Line through the pre-printed fee and write in the correct new fee. If unsure of a fee 

after referencing the following pages please call 802.828.2000   
 
Updated Town Clerk Procedures, including new fees are available online or by mail; 
 
To download from our website, http://bit.ly/TownClerk. To request a hard copy by mail, or if you are 
not currently in the in the DMV Registration Renewal Program but think you may wish to be contact;  
 
Christine Colbeck  
Training & Development 
802-828-1443 
Christine.Colbeck@vermont.gov  
 
 
 
 
 

http://dmv.vermont.gov/
http://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2016/H.877
http://bit.ly/TownClerk
mailto:Christine.Colbeck@vermont.gov
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DMV FORMS & MANUALS 
 
As of August 1st DMV will begin using a new vehicle registration application (VD-119). If you 
maintain a supply of registration applications, please obtain the revised form by July 22nd. Destroy 
any older versions of the Vermont Registration Application by August 1st. 
 
If you maintain a supply of any other Vermont DMV forms, applications or manuals please insure 
they are current and contain the correct fees. Most forms include a “history line” which includes the 
date the form was revised. The history line is usually on the lower left of the form or on one of the 
first few pages of manuals. Any forms dated 2015 or earlier should be replaced. 
 

 
 
To obtain forms from the DMV stockroom use this order form  
 
Updated Registration Application (VD-119) will not be available until on or after July 15th.   
                                                                
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
          

http://dmv.vermont.gov/sites/dmv/files/pdf/DMV-VG017b-Supply_Order_Form.pdf
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REGISTRATION  NEW FEES - EFFECTIVE 7/1/16 
        

TYPE OF VEHICLE 
ONE YEAR REGISTRATION TWO YEAR REGISTRATION 

GAS DIESEL OTHER GAS DIESEL OTHER 

ATV (NO CHANGE TO ATV FEE) $35.00            

Antique (Limited Use) $23.00  $23.00    $46.00  $46.00    

Auto - Includes Clean Air $76.00  $76.00  $132.00  $140.00  $140.00  $242.00  

Autocycle - Includes Clean Air $48.00    $83.00  $96.00    $165.00  

Contractor Trailer     $197.00      $394.00  

Hybrid - Includes Clean Air   $76.00      $140.00      

Electric Powered     $74.00      $136.00  

Exhibition (Limited Use, Electric $2.00 less) $23.00  $23.00    $46.00  $46.00    

Local Transit   $62.00            

Motorboat Class A  $31.00      $57.00      

Motorboat Class 1   $49.00      $93.00      

Motorboat Class 2  $80.00      $155.00      

Motorboat Class 3  $153.00      $303.00      

Motorbus (Per Hundred Pound) $2.00  $2.00  $3.50        

Motor-Driven Cycle (moped) $30.00    $51.00  $60.00    $102.00  

Motorcycle - Includes Clean Air $48.00    $83.00  $96.00    $165.00  

Motor home $76.00  $76.00  $132.00  $140.00  $140.00  $242.00  

Municipal (5 years) $12.00            

Off-Highway Tractors (6,099 lbs. or less) $76.00  $76.00  $132.00  $140.00  $140.00  $242.00  

School Bus $76.00  $76.00  $132.00  $140.00  $140.00  $242.00  

Snowmobile - Resident (New & Temp) $28.00            

Snowmobile - Nonresident (New & Temp) $36.00            

Street Rod $76.00    $132.00  $140.00    $242.00  

Trailer (1,500 lbs. or less)     $27.00      $51.00  

Trailer (1,501 lbs. or more)     $52.00      $102.00  

Trucks (up to 6,099 lbs.) $76.00  $76.00  $132.00  $140.00  $140.00  $242.00  

Trucks (6,100 lbs. or more)   See truck registration fee schedule 

Volunteer (5 years) $12.00            
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Truck Registration Fees              
as of July 1, 2016 

  

Where applicable, fees include a $6.50 Non-Transferable 
"Fuel User" Fee and a $2.00 "Clean Air Fund" Fee 

Loaded Weight GAS DIESEL OTHER   Loaded Weight GAS DIESEL OTHER 

UP TO 6,099 $76.00 $76.00 $132.00   29,100 - 30,099 $723.50 $723.50 $1,260.50 

6,100 - 7,099 $109.00 $109.00 $190.00   30,100 - 31,099 $759.50 $759.50 $1,323.50 

7,100 - 8,099 $124.00 $124.00 $216.00   31,100 - 32,099 $781.50 $781.50 $1,361.50 

8,100 - 9,099 $159.00 $159.00 $277.00   32,100 - 33,099 $803.50 $803.50 $1,400.50 

9,100 - 9,999 $176.00 $176.00 $307.00   33,100 - 34,099 $825.50 $825.50 $1,438.50 

10,000 - 10,099 $212.00 $212.00 $370.00   34,100 - 35,099 $847.50 $847.50 $1,477.50 

10,100 - 11,099 $229.00 $229.00 $400.00   35,100 - 36,099 $869.50 $869.50 $1,515.50 

11,100 - 12,099 $247.00 $247.00 $431.00   36,100 - 37,099 $891.50 $891.50 $1,554.50 

12,100 - 13,099 $287.00 $287.00 $501.00   37,100 - 38,099 $912.50 $912.50 $1,590.50 

13,100 - 14,099 $306.00 $306.00 $534.00   38,100 - 39,099 $934.50 $934.50 $1,629.50 

14,100 - 15,099 $326.00 $326.00 $569.00   39,100 - 39,999 $956.50 $956.50 $1,667.50 

15,100 - 16,099 $345.00 $345.00 $603.00   40,000 - 40,099 $1,134.50 $1,134.50 $1,979.50 

16,100 - 17,099 $386.00 $386.00 $674.00   40,100 - 41,099 $1,177.50 $1,177.50 $2,054.50 

17,100 - 17,999 $407.00 $407.00 $711.00   41,100 - 42,099 $1,200.50 $1,200.50 $2,094.50 

18,000 - 18,099 $413.50 $407.00 $717.50   42,100 - 43,099 $1,222.50 $1,222.50 $2,133.50 

18,100 - 19,099 $433.50 $427.00 $752.50   43,100 - 44,099 $1,245.50 $1,245.50 $2,173.50 

19,100 - 20,099 $454.50 $448.00 $789.50   44,100 - 45,099 $1,267.50 $1,267.50 $2,212.50 

20,100 - 21,099 $495.50 $489.00 $861.50   45,100 - 46,099 $1,290.50 $1,290.50 $2,252.50 

21,100 - 22, 099 $516.50 $510.00 $897.50   46,100 - 47,099 $1,312.50 $1,312.50 $2,290.50 

22,100 - 23,099 $538.50 $532.00 $936.50   47,100 - 48,099 $1,335.50 $1,335.50 $2,331.50 

23,100 - 24,099 $559.50 $553.00 $973.50   48,100 - 49,099 $1,357.50 $1,357.50 $2,369.50 

24,100 - 25,099 $580.50 $574.00 $1,009.50   49,100 - 50,099 $1,379.50 $1,379.50 $2,408.50 

25,100 - 25,999 $602.50 $596.00 $1,048.50   50,100 - 51,099 $1,412.50 $1,412.50 $2,465.50 

26000 $637.50 $631.00 $1,109.50   51,100 - 52,099 $1,435.50 $1,435.50 $2,506.50 

26,001 - 26,099 $637.50 $637.50 $1,109.50   52,100 - 53,099 $1,457.50 $1,457.50 $2,544.50 

26,100 - 27,099 $659.50 $659.50 $1,148.50   53,100 - 54,099 $1,480.50 $1,480.50 $2,584.50 

27,100 - 28,099 $680.50 $680.50 $1,184.50   54,100 - 55,099 $1,503.50 $1,503.50 $2,625.50 

28,100 - 29,099 $702.50 $702.50 $1,223.50   Vehicles 55,100 and over must be renewed at DMV in Montpelier 
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