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 Application for Ignition Interlock Device Restricted Driver’s License  

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Agency of Transportation 

120 State Street 
Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 

802.828.2061  /  dmv.vermont.gov 

1 
Please Check One – Application Is For A: 

  NEW Ignition Interlock Device Restricted License ($125)   RENEWAL of Ignition Interlock Device Restricted License ($125) 

2 

Name: Last First Middle 

 

Address Where You Get Your Mail (mailing address): City: State: Zip: 

 

Address of Residence (physical address):  City: State: Zip: 

 

Social Security Number: Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY): Place of Birth (City, State & Country): 

   
Gender: Eye Color: Height: Weight: Vermont Driver License Number: Expiration Date of Current License: 

      

Phone Number & Email Address: 
  

3 

Is address above a change to:   Mailing Address   Residential Address     If Yes, is change also for Voter Registration?   Yes   No 

Has your name changed?   Yes   No  If “Yes”, print your former name: 

Do you have possession of your current license?   Yes   No     If “Yes”, you must surrender it at the time of application. 

Do you need glasses or contact lenses when driving?  Yes   No 

I certify that I am a Vermont Resident:  Yes   No 

Do you have a history of a physical or mental condition including diabetes, epilepsy, seizures or blackouts (other than properly corrected eyesight) that could 
affect your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle? If ‘Yes’ indicate condition(s)/medication(s):  Yes   No 
 
Are you a veteran of the US Military & want “VETERAN” printed on your license?  Yes   No  (If yes include VT Form VD214) 

Are you a U.S. Citizen,  Yes   No -  If no, do you have proof of legal presence?   Yes   No 

Do you wish to be registered as an organ & tissue donor?  Yes   No 

If your license contains a motorcycle endorsement, do you wish to keep it?  Yes   No  (NOTE: You may NOT ride a motorcycle while restricted) 

Do you now have a valid license from another State/Province/Territory?   Yes   No   If “Yes”, where is it from? 

Are you required to have an Ignition Interlock Device in any other state?   Yes   No   If “Yes”, from where? 
I CERTIFY my signature on this form is certification the information on this application is true and both the signature and photo are those belonging to said applicant.  The statements and warrants made 
herein are certified under penalties of 23 VSA §202.  By signing this application, I also certify I will not operate any vehicle which is not equipped with an alcohol ignition interlock device during the time I 
am operating under the terms of an ignition interlock restricted driver license, and such device must be maintained and serviced periodically in accordance with DMV regulations. WAIVER:  I understand 
the data collected on the ignition interlock device will be forwarded and used by the Department of Corrections and Project CRASH to monitor and assess my progress, treatment requirements, probation, 
and for any other reasons deemed necessary.  I also understand that I am responsible for all the costs associated with an ignition interlock device.   

Signature of Applicant: Date: 
 

 

Voter Registration Questions NOTE: If you do not check either box, you will be considered to have decided not to register to vote.  
I am a U.S. Citizen AND I would like to apply to register to vote OR I am changing my address and I would like the Secretary of State to be notified?   

 Yes   No - I Decline to Register/Already Registered/I do not want to notify the Secretary of State 
The last address at which I was registered to vote if any, was (Do Not Complete Unless Currently Registered to Vote at a Previous Address): 
Street Address  City/Town County State 

VOTER’S OATH (Vermont Constitution, Chapter II, Section 42) Every voter must take the voter’s oath below before voting for the first time in Vermont. You can attest for yourself that 
you have taken the oath or you can have any person over 18 attest that you have taken the oath below: You solemnly swear (or affirm) that whenever you give your vote or suffrage, 
touching any matter that concerns the State of Vermont, you will do it so as in your conscience you shall judge will most conduce to the best good of the same, as established by the 
Constitution without fear or favor of any person.   Yes - I certify that I took the Voter’s Oath myself OR the voter's oath was administered to me by a person over eighteen. 

 

DO NOT BELOW THIS LINE – DMV USE ONLY AUDIT LINE: 
Required Documents/PDPS Check-list: 
 Rec’d. w/App.  Already on File 
 Certification of Installation  PDPS Check Done 
 Print (270) 
 Name Change (231)            
 DOB Change  (231) 
 Misc Change   (231) 

POB Gender Eye Hgt Wgt 
 Mailing Add (232) 
 SSN Change (232)  
 Physical Add (233) 

Add    Chng     Del  
 Voter Reg 

  Create    260 
  220               225 
  222   227 
  228   DOC LOC 
  234    NNL  Photo 
Endorsement(s): 
  M       B       V 
Restriction(s): 

 

PID 
 New (73)  

Renew (74)  
Issue Date 
 MTC Endorse (71)  

Exam – First (21)  
Expiration Date 
 
 
 
Rater Number: 

Exam – Subseq (22)  

TOTAL FEE  
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What is an Ignition Interlock Device Restricted Driver’s License? 
An Ignition Interlock Device Restricted License, referred to as an “RDL”, allows you to drive  non-commercial vehicles equipped with an 
ignition interlock device, while your regular license is suspended or revoked for an alcohol-related driving under the influence offense.  You 
are granted a conditional reinstatement ahead of your normal eligibility date if you participate in the Ignition Interlock Program.  If granted 
an RDL, you must adhere to all of the terms and requirements associated with an RDL; failing to do so will result in an extension of your 
IID requirements.   

What is an Ignition Interlock Device? 
An Ignition Interlock Device, referred to as an “IID”, is an after-market device which is installed in a vehicle.  The IID is connected to the 
starter or ignition, or other on-board computer system of a vehicle.  The device prevents a driver from operating the vehicle if the driver has 
been drinking.  Before starting the vehicle, a driver must blow into the device; if the driver’s BAC is at or over a pre-set limit, 0.02 in 
Vermont, the IID will not allow the vehicle to start.  Once the vehicle is started, at random times during the operation of the vehicle, the 
device will prompt the driver to provide another breath sample, referred to as “random retests”.  If the breath sample is not provided, or if 
the breath sample is at or exceeds a BAC of 0.02, the IID will log the event as a “failure”, and will then signal the vehicle to begin flashing 
the lights and sounding the horn.  This will continue until the vehicle is turned off, or a clean breath sample has been provided. 

Renewing an RDL 

How often do I need to renew my RDL? 
Your RDL must be renewed on a yearly basis.  A renewal notice, along with an Application for Ignition Interlock Device Restricted Driver’s 
License will be mailed to you 30 days before your RDL expires.  You will need to complete the application and return it to DMV with the 
appropriate renewal fee.  If you do not renew your RDL on or by the expiration, you will be issued a suspension for failing to renew your 
RDL, and will remain under suspension until you renew your RDL and pay the Reinstatement Fee. 
 
 Note:  The expiration date of your initial RDL will expire on your second birthday after the issuance of your initial RDL.  You will 

then need to renew your RDL on a yearly basis thereafter.  

How many times can I renew my RDL? 
Provided you are willing to pay all of the associated costs of having an interlock device (i.e. IID installation, purchasing or leasing, calibrating 
and data retrieval, etc.; as well as the yearly RDL renewal fee) your RDL can be renewed on a yearly basis for an indefinite number of years.   

 
 
See “Ignition Interlock FAQ” (Form VL-086) for completed details. 
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