Law

Vermont Codes (R-Z)

Code VSA Section # Points Code Definition
RAR 23 1041 2 Restricted access roadways
RBI 23 1137 0 BICYCLE - Riding on bicycle improperly
RCC 23 1076 0 CMV drivers failing to obey traffic control device or enforcement official at railroad crossing
RCT 23 1205 0 Refused chemical test

Vermont Codes (L-Q)

Code VSA Section # Points Code Definition
LAL 23 1391 0 (LOCAL) Over the axle limit (T. 23, §1391a(d))
LAS 23 1081 2 (LOCAL) Excessive speed, accident involvement
LBK 23 1113 2 Limitations on backing
LBR 23 1081 2 (LOCAL) Basic rule
LCM 23 1399 0

Vermont Codes (E-J)

Code VSA Section # Points Code Definition
ED1 13 1753(b)(1) 0 False public alarm(s), licensed, 1st offense
ED2 13 1753(b)(1) 0 False public alarm(s), licensed, subsequent offense
ED3 13 1753(b)(2) 0 False public alarm(s), underage, 1st offense
ED4 13 1753(b)(2) 0

Vermont Codes (A-D)

Code VSA Section # Points Code Definition
ACC 23 801 0 Financial responsibility required as a result of an uninsured accident
AEI 23 1046 2 Vehicle approaching or entering intersection
AFC 23 2082 0 Altering, forging, or counterfeiting certificates
AID 23 671 0 Overseer of the poor

Vermont Codes (0-9 numeric)

Code VSA Section # Points Code Definition
16A 7 656(a)(1) 0 Minor (over 16 years of age) misrepresenting age to procure alcoholic beverage
16B 7 656(a)(2) 0 Minor (over 16 years of age) in possession of alcoholic beverage(s)
16C 7 656(a)(3) 0 Minor (over 16 years of age) consumed alcoholic beverage(s)
2CR 23

Graduated License Laws

Individuals under the age of 18 are subject to the provisions of Vermont's Graduated License laws, which are indicated below:

An individual 15 years of age or older may operate a motor vehicle if they hold a valid Learner's Permit and are accompanied by one of the following people (riding in the vehicle beside the driver):

Violation Codes

Vermont Violation Codes Index

All violations use a code. Use the first character of the code to obtain an alphabetical listing of all violation codes beginning with that character:

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Law

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
Contact us

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon