License

Teen Drivers

Your decision to obtain a Learner’s Permit or a Junior Driver’s License carries with it, one of life’s greatest social responsibilities. You are committing to: maintaining a safe operating vehicle that meets Vermont’s emissions standards, carrying liability insurance, and always obeying the rules of the road and adopting habits that eliminate driving distractions.

Military Benefits

License Extension

If you are on active duty, and a Vermont resident, the military extension validates your existing Vermont Driver's License for up to 4 years from the date it would normally expire. While it is necessary for the Department to send notice of all expiring licenses, such notice may be disregarded by you if you have obtained a military extension.

Your Vermont license must be renewed within 30 days of your discharge date. To renew this extended license, you must do the following:

Motorcycle Endorsement

Every Vermont resident who operates a motorcycle on the highway in Vermont must hold a valid Vermont Driver's or Junior Driver's license with the proper motorcycle endorsement. However, the Commissioner may issue a restricted license to a physically disabled person for the operation of a three-wheel motorcycle.

All applicants applying for a motorcycle endorsement must hold a valid Vermont license. A fee is required each time an applicant takes the knowledge test. A fee is charged for each motorcycle skills test taken.

Mature Drivers

The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles strives to keep mature drivers on the road as long as possible with a primary concern of safety to all. Whether you are a neighbor, family member, or concerned friend, you have an important opportunity to make the roads of Vermont a safer place to drive.

Medical Evaluation Report (form #VS-113) for Doctors to certify driver's fitness to drive.

Driver's License

If you live in Vermont and plan to drive in Vermont, you must obtain a Vermont Driver's License. A person who has moved to the state from another jurisdiction with a valid license from that state shall obtain a VT license within 60 days of moving to the state. In accordance with state and federal law, any person holding a commercial driver license from another state must transfer their commercial driver license within 30 days of establishing residency in Vermont.

Graduated License Laws

Individuals under the age of 18 are subject to the provisions of Vermont's Graduated License laws, which are indicated below:

An individual 15 years of age or older may operate a motor vehicle if they hold a valid Learner's Permit and are accompanied by one of the following people (riding in the vehicle beside the driver):

Junior Driver's License

In order to apply for a Vermont Junior Driver’s License you will need proof that you are a Vermont Resident or a Visiting Citizen of a Foreign Country with an authorized duration of stay with at least 30 days remaining.

You must bring proof of Identity, date of birth, lawful status in the United States, Social Security number, Vermont residency and current residential address. More information

License Renewal

Important: You must visit a DMV office in person for your first renewal after January 1, 2014.

You should receive a renewal notice by mail approximately 30 days before your driver's license expires. If you do not receive your renewal application, you must complete (form #VL-021). All questions on the renewal application must be answered and the application must be signed. Any changes (such as address change) must be indicated on the form.

You will need documentation from each of the 4 categories below:

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - License

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
Contact us

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon