Registration

Relating to vehicle registration.

Why do I need to let the DMV know when my name and/or address changes?

Vermont law requires that an individual who has been issued: 1) a Vermont driver license, driver permit, non-driver identification card, and/or 2) a Vermont vehicle/motorboat/snowmobile registration, to notify the Vermont DMV of any change in name and/or address within 30 days of the date of the change. The DMV mails any correspondence (such as license renewal notices, vehicle registrations, etc.) to whatever address we have on our computer records for an individual. The information we have on our computer records reflects the most recent information you have supplied to us.

How do I take a name off my registration?

Both owners listed on the front of the title must sign it over to who-ever is going to remain on the title (on section one on the back of the title). Fill out sections 1-4 and section 8 on the registration application and send both the title and the registration application in to our main office in Montpelier with the appropriate fees. You must also provide an updated odometer reading. If one of the owners is deceased, attach a copy of that person’s death certificate.

I sent my registration renewal/new/transfer form over 2 weeks ago. How do I inquire about the status of my application?

Check with your bank to find out whether or not your check has been cashed. If it has been cashed, get the routing numbers from the back of the check and telephone:

(802) 828-2000, or
(toll free) 1-888-99-VERMONT (1-888-998-3766) to speak with our personnel.

You didn’t send me a registration renewal …how do I renew?

Obtain a blank registration application TA-VD-119 from this web site, any Vermont DMV location, Town Clerk or local Police Department. Complete sections 1, 2, 4 and 8 on the registration application and submit the application with the renewal fee. If you are registering a truck, trailer, motorcycle or ATV you must also complete section 3 on the application.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Registration

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
Contact us

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon