National Association of State Directors for Pupil Transportation (NASDPTS)

20 November 2018

On November 1st, 2018 after completing two two-year terms as Eastern State Representative to the Board of Directors Patrick J. McManamon (DMV Highway Safety Specialist) was elected to the office of President-Elect of the National Association of State Directors for Pupil Transportation (NASDPTS). Patrick will serve as the President-Elect until the 2020 Annual Conference and Membership Meeting at which time it is anticipated he will assume the President’s Position for a two-year term.

The purpose of the association is to provide leadership, assistance, and motivation to the Nation's school transportation community with the goal of providing safe, secure, efficient, economical, and high-quality transportation to school children on their trips to and from school and school-related activities. 

NASDPTS membership is comprised of state and national leaders in school bus transportation, local school transportation administrators, suppliers of products and services, as well as grassroots practitioners. The membership represents all 50 states, the District of Columbia, school bus manufacturers and suppliers, state and national transportation associations, and others who support our mission and purpose.

Mr. McManamon was also confirmed as the 2020 National Congress on School Transportation’s (NCST) Steering Committee Chair.  Since 1939 the National Congresses (formerly Conferences) on School Transportation have been held periodically with the primary objective of ensuring safe, efficient transportation for school children. Since 1980, the 300-plus delegates from around the country who comprise the NCST have convened every five years. The 17th Congress will be held in Des Moines, Iowa, May 17-20, 2020. 

The Congress’s purpose is to research suggested changes to the National School Transportation Specifications and Procedures (NSTSP) during the interim years using topic-specific Writing Committees.  The NSTSP is used by Federal, State and Local Government, School Districts, School Transportation Providers and Industry as a guide to minimum specifications and procedures used in Student Transportation.  In fact, some states have adopted all or part of the manual into their regulations. 

Once the Congress convenes in 2020 changes to the NSTSP will be proposed, debated and voted on.  Approved changes will then be included into the 2020 edition of the NSTSP.  The Steering Committee’s responsibility is the overall organizing, planning, and running of the Congress.


Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
email telephone

Public Records

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon