National Police Week 2021

10 May 2021

 

To start National Police Week, this morning Vermont Motor Vehicle Inspectors went to the final resting place of Motor Vehicle Highway Patrol Inspector Robert D. Rossier and placed a rose on his gravestone in remembrance of his ultimate sacrifice for the State of Vermont.

Inspector Rossier, from Newport, died on September 9th, 1935 from injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident on September 8th, 1935 while on patrol in Brattleboro. Inspector Rossier had joined the Department of Motor Vehicles Highway Patrol in the Spring of 1935 and had just recently been assigned to Brattleboro. Inspector Rossier was survived by his wife of 8 months, Crystal, and his parents.

Vermont Motor Vehicle Inspectors join other law enforcement officers from across the nation in remembering and honoring those who have given the ultimate sacrifice.

 

FAQs

The standard for stopping a vehicle in Vermont is “reasonable suspicion”. However, commercial vehicles are subject to inspection, upon demand, by an enforcement officer certified to inspect such vehicles.

Complete an application for employment with the State of Vermont.  If selected, you would then be required to successfully complete;

  • a background check
  • polygraph test, and
  • entrance exams for the full-time Police Academy

After successfully passing these, and if hired, you must then successfully complete the full time Law Enforcement Academy. 

The defendant on a ticket issued for an overweight violation can be the operator or the carrier. The fines for an overweight violation depend on several factors.  The fines are a set amount per thousand pounds overweight, and vary depending the amount of the overweight. It also depends if the vehicle is operating on a permit, and how many overweight tickets the defendant has been convicted of in the last 12 months. The fines can be found in the Judicial Bureau’s Schedule of Fines under Title 23 VSA Section 1391a at the following website: https://www.vermontjudiciary.org/eforms/Waiver_Penalty_Schedule.pdf

There are several ways a vehicle can be overweight; such as over the registered weight, over tire limits, over an axle weight, or over gross weight.  Depending on which way a vehicle is overweight depends on what there is for a enforcement tolerance.  Depending on the weight violation, a tolerance will vary from a zero tolerance to a 10% tolerance.  It also depends on whether the vehicle is being operated in conformance with a special permit.  However, there is no weight statute that uses the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) as the basis for a vehicle’s legal weight limit.

To get a USDOT number, new applicants must register online via the Unified Registration System

In general, a USDOT Number is required if you are operating in interstate commerce and:

You have vehicles that are over 10,000 lbs.
You transport between 9 and 15 passengers (including the driver) for compensation, whether direct or indirect
You transport 16 or more passengers
You haul hazardous materials

Tags: 

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
email telephone

Public Records

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon