COVID-19 | Law Enforcement Bulletin 20-03
***UPDATE*** DMV OFFICE CLOSURES AND ADDITIONAL REGULATORY WAIVERS
On March 13, 2020, Governor Scott issued an emergency declaration due to the Covid-19 outbreak. On March 16, 2020, Governor Scott announced DMV will be extending license and registration renewals for 90 days beyond their effective expiration date beginning March 13, 2020. If an individual’s permit, temporary license or permanent license and/or registration has expired since March 13, 2020 law enforcement officers should honor a 90-day waiver of those credential expiration dates.
In continuing to assess the impact to state operations DMV is committed to providing the healthiest environment possible for both our customers and employees. In an attempt to limit everyone’s potential exposure to the coronavirus (COVID-19), effective March 19, 2020, all DMV in-person transactions have been suspended until further notice. As a result transactions during this time must be completed through the mail, electronic methods or phone, whichever is available.
Vermont has issued a temporary waiver of IRP/IFTA/72 hour trip permit requirements effective with the Emergency Declaration that was issued on March 13th. DMV asks that no enforcement action be taken against vehicles with no or expired IRP or IFTA credentials for 90 days from the date of the Emergency Declaration.
Additionally, in order to stay consistent with expiration dates and processing times, any oversize or overweight permit expiring the same time as the vehicle registration, or expiring during the month of March, will also have an extension of 90 days. All permits can still be processed by mail or electronic means.
All requests for Single Trip Permits will still be processed and issued by the Permit Unit. Any permit request which requires an engineer review will still follow the normal process.
All fuel distributor reports required to be filed with DMV are still required to be filed on time. There are no deadline extensions for reporting.
Permit Type and Expiration
- Special Excess Weight Permits (Vermont registered vehicles) - expiration date of March 31, 2020, will be extended 90 days.
- Blanket Permits- expiration dates of March 31, 2020, will be extended for 90 days.
- Farm Equipment Dealer Permits- expiration dates of March 31, 2020, will be extended for 90 days.
- Reasonable Access Permits- reasonable access permits expirations will be extended for 90 days.
- Single Trip Permits- will be issued through the normal process.
- Special Purpose Blanket Permit- expiration dates of March 31, 2020, will be extended 90 days.
- Self-Issue Crane Permits- will be issued through the normal process.
- Over Length Permit for Operation on Route 4- all expiration date starting March 13, 2020, will be extended for 90 days.
Lastly, DMV is aware of transportation providers being asked by school districts to assist in delivering meals to school-age children during the day. This request is to help ensure children who would normally have their breakfast and lunch at school still have access during the mandated school closing.
Title 23 V.S.A. § 1283(a)(4) requires the Eight Way Light System to only be used when school-age children are being loaded or unloaded during a school-related function. The sole purpose of the use of the system is to provide a safe passage for children by signaling other motorists to stop.
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles understands the need to provide our most vulnerable citizens (children) with nutritious meals, especially in times like this. The department also recognizes the inherent danger posed when a child crosses the street. Keeping in mind the safety and wellbeing of our children the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles authorizes the usage of the Eight Way Light System when making deliveries to school-age children. This authorization will remain in effect until the service is no longer needed.
Colonel William (Jake) Elovirta
Director - Enforcement & Safety Division