License Restrictions

Code Restriction Definition Notes
A Accompanied by Licensed Operator 25 or Older Vermont Specific
B Corrective Lenses AAMVA Standard
C Mechanical Devices (Hand Controls or other Adaptive Devices) AAMVA Standard
D Prosthetic Aid AAMVA Standard
E No Manual Transmission-Equipped CMV AAMVA Standard
F No Consumption of Alcohol or Drugs Vermont Specific
G Limit to Daylight Only AAMVA Standard
J Other - See Separate Card AAMVA Standard
K CDL Intrastate Only AAMVA Standard
L No Air Brake Equipped CMV AAMVA Standard
M No Class A Passenger Vehicle AAMVA Standard
N No Class A and B Passenger Vehicle AAMVA Standard
O No Tractor-Trailer CMV AAMVA Standard
P No Passengers in a CMV Bus AAMVA Standard
R Driver Instruction Only Vermont Specific
S Multifunction School Activity Vermont Specific
T Ignition Interlock Device AAMVA Standard
V Medical Variance AAMVA Standard
X No Cargo in a CMV Tank Vehicle AAMVA Standard
Y Three Wheel MTC Only Vermont Specific
Z No Full Air Brake Equipped CMV AAMVA Standard

The American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) is a nonprofit organization, representing the state and provincial officials in the United States and Canada who administer and enforce motor vehicle laws.

For licenses issued prior to July 2019 

FAQs

B&W portrait is a byproduct of our cards being printed on polycarbonate (PC). PC has become the de facto card construction for IDs, particularly in the international market. The biggest advantage is that it is a fully fused, monolithic card that can’t be deconstructed to access the personalization data. 

In our previous cards, the personalization was applied to the surface of the card and thus offers an opportunity to attack the card by “opening it up”. 

Polycarbonate cards are personalized by laser writing and the personalization is in the card. Since the card is fully fused, it can’t be opened up to attack. Unfortunately, except with very expensive equipment, it is not possible to laser write a color image.

You may contact us to inquire if the license/ID was returned to the DMV as undeliverable. If the license/ID has not been returned, you must complete a replacement license/ID application (VL-040). The fee for the replacement is $20.00 or $15.00 (CDL), and an additional $30.00 if the license/ID is enhanced.

No, a temporary license/ID will not be provided to you if applying through the mail. 

Yes, non-photo licenses are still being issued to those who are eligible.

If a mistake is found on your license/ID please contact us.

A replacement temporary license/ID can be issued to you at no fee. You may visit any of the DMV locations or contact us.

If you have applied for a REAL ID compliant license/ID, please know that your paper temporary will NOT be compliant. Only the permanent license/ID that is mailed to you will be REAL ID compliant. 

We offer a special mailing option to have your license/ID mailed to a different address from the address DMV has on file. DMV mail will not be forwarded. 

We offer a one time special mailing option to have your license/ID mailed to a different address from the address DMV has on file.

 We offer a one time special mailing option to have your license/ID mailed to a different address from the address DMV has on file.

Your temporary license is valid for driving purposes only. If you are unsure whether the tax preparer or Department of Taxes will accept your temporary license/ID for identification purposes, you should contact them.

You will be required to surrender your out of state license to VT. A paper temporary license will be issued to you.The permanant license will be received within 7-10 business days.  

Your temporary license is valid for driving purposes only. The U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) states they will accept the temporary driver's license document in conjunction with the expired driver's license to board an aircraft until you receive the permanent card in the mail. You should verify TSA has not updated this policy by contacting them.

If you are applying for a license/ID in person at any of the DMV Branch locations you will receive a temporary. If requesting a license/ID by mail you will not receive a temporary.

The primary purpose of a Driver’s license is to establish the holder of that license has the minimum skills required to safely operate a motor vehicle. Many entities have decided that this driving document can be accepted as proof of ID. The department does not have any authority to mandate that other entities accept our driving documents as proof of ID. 

Note that Vermont is Real ID compliant. The Vermont Driver Privilege Card is Not Real ID compliant.  See more on Real ID here

 

A Vermont license which is NOT Real ID compliant will be labeled as a "Driver's Privilege Card." The Privilege Card is available to anyone that is a Vermont Resident and a U.S. Citizen, U.S. National or Permanent Resident Alien or, an Undocumented Immigrant in the United States

Your card will read “limited term” and the expiration date will coincide with the expiration of valid legal status obtained from documentation provided. If your lawful stay has no defined end or expiration date, you will have the option of choosing a 2 or 4 year card.

No. The Driver's License or ID card remains fully valid for all purposes normally associated with a Driver's License or ID card in the form issued.

A Driver's License or ID card marked “limited term” merely signifies that it is issued to a person who is a foreign national with temporary lawful status in the United States and has a shorter term than a regular Driver's License or ID card.

Yes, we accept Visa, MasterCard & Discover

If you live in another state it is possible for you to take an alcohol treatment program in that state. It is very important that you contact Vermont's Project CRASH at (802) 651-1574 prior to enrolling in a program outside of Vermont. Not all alcohol treatment programs are accepted and you must make sure that you participate in an acceptable program.

Notices of suspension are mailed to your address as it appears on our computer system at the time that the suspension is issued. If you have moved and have not notified this Department of your new address (as required by law) you may not receive your written notice of suspension.

Once a suspension for failure to pay a fine on a ticket or a citation goes into effect you must meet all requirements for reinstatement. In addition to paying your fine to the court you must pay a reinstatement fee to the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles. If you have paid your fine but have not paid your reinstatement fee you cannot be reinstated. There is no statute of limitations on driver suspensions ...they remain in effect until all requirements have been met and this Department has issued a notice of reinstatement.

 

The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles does not accept payments for fines. These must be paid directly to the appropriate court.

Vermont law requires that anyone suspended for an alcohol-related offense must complete an alcohol treatment program. The courts generally try to make you aware of this requirement at the time of your hearing, but if even if they fail to tell you about it you must meet this requirement.

In Vermont there is no statute of limitations on driver suspensions. All driver suspensions remain on an individual's record and in effect until the individual has complied with all requirements related to the suspension and a reinstatement has been issued.

On or around April 1, 1996 the federal government required that all states participate in a program that prevents individuals who have had a suspension issued to them in one state (or more than one state) from obtaining a license in another state. A nationwide computer system now tracks all drivers (or potential drivers) to prevent the issuance of a license to a suspended person.

The Vermont legislature passed a law that became effective on April 29, 1998 making it mandatory for an individual to file Financial Responsibility Insurance for all criminal alcohol-related offenses. In 2000 the Vermont legislature passed a law that became effective on July 1, 2000 making it mandatory for an individual to file Financial Responsibility Insurance for a civil alcohol-related offenses.

Mail your reinstatement fee to: Vermont DMV, 120 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05603-0001 (to the attention of: Driver Improvement), together with a paper stating that you are paying your reinstatement fee and providing your full name, your date of birth and your current mailing address. DO NOT SEND CASH.

On or around April 1, 1996 the federal government required that all states participate in a program that prevents individuals who have had a suspension issued to them in one state (or more than one state) from obtaining a license in another state. A nationwide computer system now tracks all drivers (or potential drivers) to prevent the issuance of a license to a suspended person.

You can pay your reinstatement fee online, or at our main office in Montpelier, or mail your reinstatement fee to: Vermont DMV, 120 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05603-0001 (to the attention of: Driver Improvement), together with a paper stating that you are paying your reinstatement fee and providing your full name, your date of birth and your current mailing address. DO NOT MAIL CASH.

Complete the Replacement License Form (VL-040) and submit it to the DMV together with any appropriate fees. If you are applying for a replacement license/permit in person you must also be prepared to provide a minimum of two forms of identification.

Tags: