Skip to main content

Types of Licenses & IDs

Real ID Compliant Driver’s License

A Real ID license may be used for driving purposes and identification.

Real ID, in general terms, refers to new federal legislation intended to deter terrorism by implementing several new homeland security regulations. The rules establish the minimum standards, procedures, and requirements that must be met if a state-issued driver's license or identification card is to be accepted by the Federal government for official purposes.
More information »

Enhanced Driver’s License (EDL)

An EDL is a Real ID Compliant License and also a convenient border crossing document for U.S. citizens returning home from Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, or Bermuda, by land or sea. Must be a Vermont resident and U.S. Citizen.
More information »

Driver Privilege Card (DPC)

A DPC is to be used solely for driving purposes. A DPC is marked “Not for Federal Identification” and is NOT Real ID compliant.
More information »

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)

Generally, if the vehicle you drive has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more or is designed to carry 16 or more passengers (including the driver), or you transport hazardous material in an amount which must be placarded, then you are required to have a Commercial Driver License (CDL) to operate that vehicle.
More information »

Non-Driver Identification (NDR)

A Non-Driver ID is an identification card without driving privileges. Any Vermont resident regardless of age can get a Non-Driver ID. If you have a valid license in any other state, you cannot have a Vermont Non-Driver Identification Card. A Non-Driver ID can be Real ID compliant, Enhanced (EDL), or Non Real ID Compliant (DPC).
More information »

Download the PDF form to your computer and then open it with Adobe Reader

Title Sort descending ID# Description
License Comparison
A comparison of the various license types available in Vermont. This includes Enhanced Driver's License (EDL), Commercial Driver's License (CDL), Real ID & Driver's Privilege Card (DPC). It also includes a document checklist to determine what is required for each license type and a brief description of what each card type can and cannot be used for.