Act 91 | An act relating to Vermont's response to COVID-19

15 July 2020

License Renewal Photograph

License renewals processed between March 20, 2020, and the end of the state of emergency can be renewed without getting a new picture.

(a) Notwithstanding any provision of 23 V.S.A. § 115(g), 610(c), or 617(e) to the contrary, a licensee shall be permitted to renew a driver’s license, learner’s permit, privilege to operate, or non-driver identification card with a photograph obtained not more than 16 years earlier that is compliant with the federal REAL ID Act, 6 C.F.R. part 37.

(b) Notwithstanding 1 V.S.A. § 214, subsection (a) of this section shall take effect retroactively on March 20, 2020 and continue in effect until the termination of the state of emergency declared by the Governor as a result of COVID-19.

Extensions for License and Registration (for the duration of the declared state of emergency)

  • Temporary registrations and plates are valid for 90 days.
  • Permits, excluding IRP, may be extended for an additional 90 days.
  • License, Driver Privilege Card, Non-Driver ID, registrations and disabled parking placards are all valid for 90 days after the listed expiration

(a) Notwithstanding any provision of 23 V.S.A. § 312, 457, 458, 3702, or 3703 to the contrary, all International Registration Plan trip permits and temporary authorizations, temporary registration certificates, and temporary number plates shall be valid for 90 days from the date of issuance.

(b) Notwithstanding any provision of Title 23 of the Vermont Statutes Annotated or rules adopted pursuant to Title 23 to the contrary, the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles may extend any existing permits issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, excluding International Registration Plan trip permits, for an additional 90 days.

(c) Notwithstanding any provision of 23 V.S.A. § 115, 302, 304a, 305, 601, or 617 to the contrary, the Commissioner shall extend all of the following for an additional 90 days after expiration: driver’s licenses; learner’s permits; privileges to operate; non-driver identification cards; registrations; and registration plates or placards for an individual with a disability. 

(d) Notwithstanding 1 V.S.A. § 214, subsections (a) and (b) of this section shall take effect retroactively on March 20, 2020 and continue in effect until the termination of the state of emergency declared by the Governor as a result of COVID-19.

(e) Notwithstanding 1 V.S.A. § 214, subsection (c) of this section shall take effect retroactively on March 17, 2020 and continue in effect until the termination of the state of emergency declared by the Governor as a result of COVID-19.

Full text of Act 91

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
email telephone

Public Records

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon