Lost/Replacement Registration


Ordering a replacement (duplicate) registration online is fast, easy, and secure. You can obtain replacement registrations for most types of vehicles including car, truck, trailer, motorcycle, snowmobile, ATV, and more. Upon completion, you will receive a temporary registration that is valid for 10 days. A permanent registration and sticker will be mailed to you.

You are eligible to order a replacement registration online if your existing registration is valid and not expiring within 60 days.

Order Replacement

What you'll need:

  • Your Vermont-issued Driver's License number or the License Plate number
  • Your credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover)


By Mail or in Person

If your Vermont registration certificate has been lost, stolen, destroyed, or needs a correction to the information on it you may apply for a replacement. You must complete an application for a duplicate or corrected registration (form #VD-040) and submit it to this Department with the appropriate fee.


Vermont Statute

23 V.S.A. § 307. Carrying of registration certificate

A person shall not operate a motor vehicle nor draw a trailer or semi-trailer unless the registration certificate thereof is carried in some easily accessible place in such motor vehicle. In case of the loss, mutilation, or destruction of such certificate, the owner of the vehicle described therein shall forthwith notify the Commissioner and remit the proper fee whereupon the Commissioner shall furnish such owner with a duplicate certificate.

A corrected registration certificate shall be furnished by the Commissioner upon request and receipt of proper fee.


Related Forms & Information

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
email telephone

Public Records

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon