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This agreement is entered into ___________________________________________________, as principal, and 

_________________________________________, as Surety.  

The principal has applied to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles of Vermont for a license to engage in business 

as a Fuel Distributor, beginning on _____________ 20____. If the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles grants this 

application, the Principal agrees to render all reports and pay all taxes, penalties and fines provided in 23 V.S.A. 

If the Principal fails to render any report or pay tax, penalty or fines required under 23 V.S.A. Subchapter 1 of 

Chapter 28, as amended from time to time, the Principal and Surety jointly and separately bind themselves, their 

heirs, executors, administrators and successors to pay to the State of Vermont and/or the Commissioner of Motor 

Vehicles of Vermont up to the amount of $________________________________ for each year, or fraction 

thereof, that this agreement remains in effect. 

All obligations under this agreement shall commence when the agreement is signed by the Principal and Surety 

and shall cease at midnight on December 31, 20______, except as to any liability that has accrued to that time. 

Dated this ______________________ day of ___________________, 20____ at _____________________, 

County of ___________________________ and State of ____________________________________. 

     

Witness  Principal  (Seal) 

Dated this ______________________ day of ___________________, 20____ at _____________________, 

County of ___________________________ and State of ____________________________________. 

     

Witness  Surety 

 

By: _______________________________ 

Attorney-In-Fact                       (Seal) 

http://www.dmv.state.vt/


 

 

BOND REQUIREMENTS 

 

Distributors are required to submit a surety bond with their Fuel Tax License Application or 

Renewal on an annual basis. The amount of the surety bond will be reviewed annually. The 

minimum bond amount required shall be sum of the highest two months’ payment during the 

preceding year or $1,000.00, whichever is greater, but in no case shall it exceed $700,000.00.  

For new licenses, the bond amount shall be based on an estimate for the tax liability for a two 

month period.   

The bond amount as established above shall be increased whenever the Commissioner deems 

it necessary to protect the revenues of the State. In addition, if payment and reports are delinquent 

for more than ten days for more than one reporting period in a calendar, the bond amount shall 

be increased to be the sum of the tax liability for the highest four months of the calendar year.  

A hearing can be requested with the Commissioner for release of reduction of the bond amount.  

The distributor must have complied with all licensing and reporting requirements for at least three 

consecutive years. If the Commissioner determines that a release or reduction will not 

unreasonably jeopardize State revenues, the request shall be granted. The Commissioner can 

reimpose or increases a bond if determined the State revenues will be jeopardized.   

If the release or reduction of a bond is granted, the distributor shall submit financial statements 

on an annual basis. The distributor shall present a report on financial position to include an income 

statement, balance sheet and statement of changes in financial condition. The financial 

statements shall be reviewed by a Certified or Registered Public Accountant and will be the result 

of a “review of financial statement” as defined by the American Institute of Certified Public 

Accountants (AICPA) – a compilation is not acceptable.   

Any surety bond on a bond furnished by the distributor shall be discharged from any liability to 

the State accruing on the bond after expiration of sixty (60) days from the date the surety shall 

have filed with the Commissioner a written request to be released and discharged, but the surety 

shall not be released or discharged from liability already accrued or which shall accrue before the 

expiration of the sixty (60) day period. The Commissioner, upon receipt of the request, shall 

promptly notify by mail the licensee who furnished the bond. Unless the licensee, prior to the 

expiration of the sixty (60) day period, files a new bond satisfactorily to the Commissioner, the 

Commissioner shall revoke the license.   




