

## SPECIAL EXCESS WEIGHT PERMIT

Department of Motor Vehicles Agency of Transportation 120 State Street Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 **dmv.vermont.gov** 

A copy of a valid registration certificate is required. A copy of the permit (fax, photo, etc.) must be carried in the vehicle during movement and available for Law Enforcement upon request.

Name of Registered Owner	Federal ID/SSN						
Mailing Address – Street/Rd, PO Box				City/State/Zip Code			
Physical Address if Different Than Mailing – Street/Rd				City/State/Zip Code			
Telephone Number (Including Area Code)			Fax Number (Including Area Code)				
Truck Make Truck	ck Year Vehicle Ident	ification Num	ber (VIN)				
Registered State		Registration	Registration #			# Of Axles	
Any Legally Registered Trailer			# of Trailer Axles	Tota	al # of Axles		
Permit Applied For Below Must Have The Number Of Axles Indicated:				Note: Registered Weight Must Be:			
60,000 – All Products - Must Have 3 Axles			55,000 Lbs.				
G9,000 – All Products - Must Have 4 Axles			60,000 Lbs.				
72,000 – All Products - Must Have 4 Axles				SEE SECT 4C ON BACK			
76,000 – All Products - Must Have 5 Axles				SEE SECT 4D ON BACK			
99,000 – All Products - Must Have 5 or more Axles  99,000 – All Products - Must Have 6 or more Axles				80,000 Lbs. (See Back) 80,000 Lbs.			
Permission is granted to operate the above described motor vehicle or combination vehicle with a gross weight of lbs. on designated routes on the State Highway System and those highways designated as the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways except travel across restricted bridges.							
Statements and warrants made herein are certified under penalty of 23 V.S.A. § 202. The undersigned agrees to comply with all provisions of the State Motor Vehicle Laws and General Regulations including those printed on the reverse of this form.							
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT				DATE			
TRAVEL ON TOWN HIGHWAYS AT ANY WEIGHT ABOVE THE POSTED LIMIT REQUIRES A SEPARATE PERMIT FROM EACH TOWN.							
* PERMIT EXPIRES WITH VERMONT REGISTRATION							
PERMIT #:							
EXPIRATION: MM	_ /						
PERMIT FEE: \$							
Permits issued to out of state registrants will expire on 12/31 each year.				STAMP ABOVE IS YOUR F VALIDATES THIS CER		EES PAID AND	

If you require further information or assistance, please contact Commercial Vehicle Operations at (802) 828-2064 or visit our Web Site at: dmv.vermont.gov

## PERMIT FEES: Make a check or money order payable to the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles in US Funds. DO NOT SEND CASH!

EXCESS WEIGHT PERMIT MAY BE ISSUED FOR:	IF THE REGISTERED WEIGHT IS:	THE FULL PERMIT FEE IS:	AUTHORIZED PRODUCTS:	
60,000 LBS.	55,000 LBS.	\$187.00	ALL	
69,000 LBS.	60,000 LBS.	\$422.00	ALL	
72,000 LBS.	SEE SECT 4C BELOW	\$18.00	ALL	
76,000 LBS.	SEE SECT 4D BELOW	\$18.00	ALL	
90,000 LBS.	80,000 LBS.	\$458.00	ALL	
99,000 LBS.	80,000 LBS.	\$671.00	ALL	

- 1) A truck owner with a permit may upgrade through the purchase of additional permits by paying the difference in fees for each permit rather than the full permit fee for each permit. Permits with a lesser weight for the same vehicle or combination of vehicles may be purchased for an administrative fee of \$10.00 each.
- 2) Permits of this type are transferable only if you have relinquished ownership of the original permitted vehicle. A \$5.00 transfer fee will be required.

## **GENERAL REGULATIONS GOVERNING THIS PERMIT**

- This <u>ORIGINAL</u> permit <u>MUST</u> be carried in the vehicle during movement. A separate permit shall be issued for each authorized weight and shall be in your possession when operating at that weight. This permit must be presented upon request to any Law Enforcement Officer.
- 2. The use of this permit by the applicant signifies that the applicant has read all the terms and will comply. These are the rules to obtain a permit; additional rules pertaining to the vehicle's operation under the permit's conditions. Rules can be seen on the DMV website: <a href="mailto:dmv.vermont.gov/about-vermont-dmv/administrative-rules">dmv.vermont.gov/about-vermont-dmv/administrative-rules</a>.
- 3. All permits referenced in 23 VSA § 1392 are part of the Pilot Program created by 23 U.S.C. Section 127(a)(1)(11)(B) to expire on December 31, 2031.
- 4. All products permits must conform to the following conditions:
  - a) 3-axle trucks with a single steering axle and rear tandem axles (both powered and braked), with a maximum gross weight of not more than 60,000 lbs.
  - b) 4-axle trucks with a single steering axle and rear tri-axle unit (two axles of the tri-axle unit powered and braked), with a maximum gross weight of not more than 69,000 lbs.
  - c) 4-axle tractor semi-trailer combination with a maximum gross weight of not more than 72,000 lbs. provided the distance between the second axle of the tractor and the rear axle of the trailer is at least 24 feet, measured to the nearest foot. For each foot or fraction of a foot less than 24 feet measured to the nearest foot, a reduction of 2,000 lbs. in the maximum weight shall be made.
  - d) 5 or more axle tractor semi-trailer or truck trailer combination with a maximum gross weight of not more than 76,000 lbs. provided that the distance between the first and last axle of two consecutive sets of tandem axles is at least 24 feet measured to the nearest foot. For each foot or fraction of a foot less than 24 feet measured to the nearest foot, a reduction of 2,000 lbs. in the maximum gross weight shall be made.
- 4. <u>90,000 lbs. "ALL PRODUCTS PERMITS":</u> A minimum of 51 feet between the first and last axle is required for a 5-axle combination and a minimum of 43 feet between centers of the first and last axle group is required for a 6-axle combination, and a minimum of 34 feet between the first and last axle is required for a 7-axle combination.
- 5. 99,000 lbs. PERMITS require at least six load-bearing axles and 51 feet between the centers of the extreme axles.
- 6. Truck or truck tractor shall be registered for the maximum legal load for its class allowed on the state highway system.
- 7. Motor vehicle unit shall be equipped with adequate brakes on all wheels, and the maximum load on any vehicle axle shall not exceed a gross weight of 600 lbs. per inch of tire width computed in conformity with the manufacturer's designated width.
- 8. Tractor and trailer combination must be legal length and width. The maximums are 75 feet long and 8 feet 6 inches in total width, or the trailer may not exceed 53 feet.
- 9. Posted bridge limits on any state highway system shall not be violated.
- 10. This permit DOES NOT authorize movement over town class 2, 3, or 4 highways or the Interstate and Defense Highway System. A town permit is required for movement over town highways. Milk haulers with a permit to 90,000 lbs. may operate on the Interstate and Defense Highway System.