
Replacement Plate Application 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Agency of Transportation 
dmv.vermont.gov 

120 State Street 
Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 

802.828.2000 

VD-016 10M 10/2020 MTC White – DMV | Yellow – Plate Order | Pink - Customer

I hereby certify that my plate number for the vehicle listed below was/is: 
 Lost  Stolen  Damaged  Seized by Law Enforcement  Faded
Vehicle Type Expires (YYYY/MM) Make Model Year 
 Car  Truck
 Other
Serial Number (VIN) 

O
w

ne
r/L

es
se

e 

Vehicle is  Owned or  Leased 
email phone 

Name (Owner/Lessee) License # 

Address where you get Mail Address where you live 

City: State ZIP: City: State ZIP 

If name has changed, 
list previous name(s): 
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Name (Co-Owner/Lessor) License # 

Address where you get Mail Address where you live 

City State ZIP City State ZIP 

If name has changed, 
list previous name(s): 

I hereby make application for:  One  Two     replacement registration plate(s). 
 If both plates are lost or stolen, a new number must be issued.
 If your single plate set (i.e. motorcycle, trailer, ATV) is lost or stolen, a new number must be issued.
 If both plates are damaged or faded, a new number will be issued unless you request the same plate number by checking

this box:  Yes, I want the same plate number and I understand there is a fee of $12.00 per plate.
 If plates were seized by law enforcement, you must complete Petition for Return of Seized Plates (VG-154).

Each plate: $12.00 (State, Municipal & Volunteer = $9.00). Note: If plates are recently expired, or due to expire within the 
next 30 days, you will also need to submit the appropriate renewal form and fee(s). 
Signature of Owner/Authorized Agent: Date: 

This declaration is made under penalties of 23 V.S.A § 202, 203. 

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY - DO NOT WRITE IN THE SPACE BELOW: 

 232
 233
 One Plate

 465
 490 P
 Two Plates

Old Plate#: 

New Plate#: 

Expires: 

Vehicle Type: Reg. Type: Rater #: 

Organization Plate Type: Replacement Plate (07) 

Total 

http://www.dmv.state.vt/


You should receive your replacement plate(s) within 60 days. 

When validated, authority is hereby granted for the operation and inspection of your vehicle, with one plate attached to the 
rear of your vehicle, for a period of 60 days from the validation date. Keep this document with your registration certificate. 
This document can only be used while your registration is valid. 

FADED PLATES 
Any Vermont registration plate faded to a point in which its numbers and letters have impaired identification must be 
replaced. Replacement of faded plates is at no cost to the owner, if the fading is caused by faulty materials or a problem with 
the manufacturing process.   

You will receive a new plate number unless you have vanity or low number plates. If you wish to keep your current 
registration number and it is not a vanity or low number, you must pay the replacement plate fee of $12.00 per plate. 

Mail completed form to: Vermont DMV
120 State Street
Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001
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