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 Application for Motorboat Registration 
 

State of Vermont 
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES  
Agency of Transportation 

120 State Street 
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001 

dmv.vermont.gov 
 

1 

 New 
 Transfer 
 Renew 
 Title Only 

VT Registration # _______ 

Sticker Expires _________ 

Length of Boat 

____ feet ____ inches C
on

di
tio

n  New 

 Used      

 Rebuilt 

En
gi

ne
 D

riv
e  Inboard 

 Outboard   
 Pod-Drive 
 Sterndrive 
 Other Pr

op
ul

si
on

  Air Thrust 
 Propeller 
 Water Jet 
 Other 

Fu
el

 

 Diesel 
 Electric     
 Gas   
 Other 

State of Principle Operation 

 

Previous Registration # 

 

Make Model Year Color Hull ID Number (HIN) 

     
Hull Material Vessel Type Primary Operation 

 Aluminum   
 Fiberglass 
 Plastic 
 Rubber/Vinyl/Canvas 

 Steel 
 Wood      
 Other 

 Air Boat 
 Auxiliary Sail 
 Cabin Motorboat 
 Houseboat  

 Inflatable 
 Open Motorboat 
 Pontoon 

 PWC  
 Rowboat  
 Other 

 Charter Fishing 
 Comm Fishing 
 Comm Passenger 
 Comm Other 

 Dealer/Demo 
 Pleasure 
 Rent/Lease 

 

2 

Name of Primary Registrant (Last, First, Middle, or Business Name) Former Name 

Vermont License Number Date of Birth Gender Email Phone               Mobile   Home   Work 

Mailing Address City State ZIP Country 

Physical Address City State ZIP Country 

Name of  Co-Owner or  Lessor (if lessor skip to address line) Former Name 

Vermont License Number Date of Birth Gender Email Phone               Mobile   Home   Work 

Mailing Address City State ZIP Country 

 

3 Relationship of 
owner & co-owner  Spouses      Joint Tenants      Tenants in Common      Business Partners       Transfer on Death (requires form VT-007) 

4 
Lienholder Name (if none, write NONE) Date of Loan 

Lienholder Address 

5 
Name of person or company boat purchased from VT Dealer Number Date Purchased 

Address of seller Seller Signature 

 

6 I Certify the Vermont Sales And Use Tax Has Been Collected from the Purchaser and Paid to the Vermont Tax Department. Vermont Tax Number VT Dealer number 
 

7 If claiming tax credit or transferring registration, Section #7 must be completed in full 9 DO NOT WRITE IN SHADED AREA 

Purchase 
Price  $ 

Purchaser Of Old Vessel 
Registration  

Tax Credit  $ 
City                                                        State                       On (Date)  

Tax  

Net Taxable 
Cost  $ 

Year Make Plate Tax Exempt # 
Title  

Tax (6%)  $ 
HIN 

Transfer  

8 Signature of Owner & Co-Owner                   Date 
I certify that I am the owner of the vessel 
described above and same is properly equipped 
and in good mechanical condition. Statements 
and warrants herein are certified under penalty 
of 23 V.S.A. §202, §203 & §3829   

Misc  

 

X _____________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 

X 

Other:  

Total Fees $ 
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Class Length One (1) Year Two (2) Years 
Motorboat, Class A Less Than 16 Feet in Length $31.00 $57.00 
Motorboat, Class 1 16 Feet or More but Less Than 26 Feet $49.00 $93.00 
Motorboat, Class 2 26 Feet or More but Less Than 40 Feet $80.00 $155.00 
Motorboat, Class 3 40 Feet and Over $153.00 $303.00 
Replacement Registration $3.00 Use form VL-040 
Transfer to boat in same class or smaller $6.00  
Transfer to boat in larger class $6.00 plus the difference in the registration fee  
Title $27.00 plus $14.00 per lien  

 

 
 

 
MOTORBOAT REGISTRATION NUMBER 

 
The Motor Vehicle Department will assign the motorboat registration number unless a title-only application. The owner shall either paint the 
number on each side of the bow (front section) of the motorboat or purchase the numbers and attach them to each side of the bow. The 
registration numbers must be positioned and of a size so that they are clearly visible. 

1 

Complete the entire section. Indicate transaction type. Include the Vermont registration number, if one exists. If previously 
registered in another jurisdiction, enter the registration number where indicated (Include a two-letter abbreviation of 
state/province). 
Homemade vessels require Statement of Origin (VD-027) and Assignment of HIN # (VT-003). All motorboats 
manufactured on or after 11/01/1972 must have a 12 to 17-digit Hull Identification Number. 

2 Complete owner/co-owner information section. Enter the physical address if the mailing address is a PO Box. I  
3 You must indicate your choice for rights of survivorship if more than one owner is listed.  
4 Complete if you have a loan on this vessel. If there is a second lien holder, send details and an additional lien holder fee. 

5 
The name and address of the seller and the date purchased are required for new and transfer applications, even if the 
motorboat has been registered and titled to you out-of-state. The seller's signature is only required if not on the Certificate 
of Origin/Title or Bill of Sale. 

6 To be completed by dealers only. 

7 

The first registration of a motorboat/personal watercraft in Vermont will be subject to the sales tax unless: 
• A purchase invoice shows a sales tax of 6% or more paid to a dealer in any of the 45 state jurisdictions imposing 

a sales tax (Alaska, Montana, Delaware, New Hampshire, and Oregon do not have Sales and Use tax). 
• The applicant is a nonresident of Vermont and purchased the vessel in a state other than Vermont.  
• The applicant is a nonresident of Vermont and purchased the vessel in Vermont; however, they received title or 

possession or both in another state. 
• The applicant is a nonresident of Vermont and submits a copy of a valid registration from his home state. 
• The motorboat is acquired through a transfer to an individual, relative or not, for no payment. 

The Tax Department must approve any claim of exemption from sales tax other than that outlined above; call 
802.828.2551.   

9 
Application must be signed and dated by owner(s). If signed by an authorized agent, proof of authorization, such as power 
of attorney, etc. must be submitted. Owner signature certifies liability insurance is in effect for this vehicle pursuant to 23 
V.S.A. §202, §203 & §3829.  

https://dmv.vermont.gov/document/manufacturers-statement-of-origin-homemade-rebuilt
https://dmv.vermont.gov/document/assignment-of-vin-hin
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