Motor Vehicle Dealer Continual Bond



120 State Street Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 802.828.2038

The bond, letter of credit or certificate of deposit shall remain in effect for the pending registration year and one year thereafter.

KNOW ALL PERSONS BY THESE PRES	EN1, that we as Principal,
and	a corporation organized and
existing under the laws of the State of	a corporation organized and having its principal place of business being authorized to do business in the State of
at	being authorized to do business in the State of
Vermont, as Surety, are held and firmly bound	I unto the State of Vermont, in the penal sum of \$ for
payment of which, well and truly to be made, v	ve bind ourselves, our heirs, executors, administrators, successors
and assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by the	ese presents.
THE COMPTION OF THE STATE OF	
	is such that WHEREAS the principal has applied for the issuance
of a Motor Vehicle Dealer's registration and pr	resents this bond in accordance with the statute.
Vermont statutes applicable to new motor vehice State of Vermont or any person dealer or trans State of Vermont, or by any person by by reas	cipal shall faithfully comply with the provisions of the State of cle dealers and used motor vehicle dealers and shall indemnify the sacting business with the principal for any loss substained by the on of the failure of the Principal to remit, to the Commissioner of V.S.A. Chapters 7 and 21 or 32 V.S.A. Chapter 219, then this all force and effect.
The bond shall be effective	
The aggregate liability of the Surety of all persone registration period.	ons shall, in no event, exceed the amount of this bond during any
effective date of cancellation or termination of	ted obligations occurring during the bonding period, prior to the the bond. Any claim under this bond must be made to the Surety any reason, to be licensed or one year after the effective date of ever comes first.
Dated this day of	20
day of	, 20
	PRINCIPAL
	BY:
WITNESS	
	SURETY
	BY:
WITNESS	D1
WIIINEDD	

I. **DEFINITIONS**

As used in these rules, the following definitions shall apply:

- A. "New car dealer" shall have the same meaning as in 23 V.S.A.§ 4 (8):
- B. "Used car dealer" shall have the same meaning as in 23 V.S.S.§ 4 (8):
- C. "Required Period" shall mean the registration period established by 23 V.S.A. §452 for which an application is being made plus one year.
- D. "Commissioner" shall mean the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles.
- E. "Non-franchised zero-emission manufacturer" shall have the same meaning as in 9 V.S.A.§ 4085 (18):

II. DEALER REGISTRATION

- A. A new or used car dealer registration shall not be issued unless the dealer has provided the Commissioner with a surety bond issued by an entity authorized to do business in Vermont in an amount set forth in subsection B of this section.
- B. The amount shall be based upon the dealer's sales in the year prior to the year for which the application is being made, or in the case of a 2 year dealer registration the previous two years as follows:

1.	Less than 25 vehicles	\$20,000
2.	25 to 100 vehicles	\$25,000
3.	101 to 250 vehicles	\$30,000
4.	251 or more vehicles	\$35,000

C. If the applicant was not registered as a dealer in the year immediately prior to the year for which the application is being made, the amount shall be \$35,000.00.

III. FORM REQUIREMENTS

Bonds

- 1. Forms shall be available upon request from the Commissioner
- 2. Only such forms or identical forms independently produced shall be used.

IV. PURPOSE/LIABILITY

Such bonds shall be available to provide the indemnity required by 23 V.S.A. § 453 (g).