Vermont Registration, Tax & Title Application



OFFICE LOCATIONS

BenningtonBennington County530 Main StreetMonday – FridayDummerstonWindham CountyAOT District #2 Office870 US Route 5	Saint AlbansFranklin County27 Fisher Pond RdMonday – WednesdaySaint JohnsburyCaledonia CountyGreen Mountain Mall1998 Memorial Drive	RutlandRutland County101 State PlaceMonday – FridayWhite River JunctionWindsor County226 Holiday DrMonday – Wednesday
Monday – Wednesday Montpelier Washington County - Main Office	South Burlington Chittenden County	To schedule an appointment,
120 State Street Monday – Friday	4 Market Street Monday – Friday	visit mydmv.vermont.gov or
Newport Orleans County 100 Main Street Monday – Friday	Springfield Windsor County 100 Mineral St Suite 103 Monday – Friday	call 888-970-0357

dmv.vermont.gov

RECENT NEWS & UPDATES

Registrations

To register a vehicle in Vermont, you must be a <u>Vermont resident</u> with a Vermont-issued credential (<u>Driver's License or Non-driver</u> <u>Identification card</u>).

Electric Vehicles

EV Infrastructure fee for battery electric vehicles (EVs) and plug-in electric hybrid vehicles (PHEVs) is in <u>Act No. 148 of 2024</u>, with a new additional EV Infrastructure fee required as of January 1, 2025.

Titles

Act No. 165 of 2024, Section 26-30, states that when a vehicle is sold to a new owner, a title will be issued to the new owner when the vehicle is registered. All vehicles previously exempt from obtaining a title remain exempt, and no action is required.

VERMONT LOW EMISSION VEHICLE (LEV) PROGRAM

All new motor vehicles up to 14,000 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) must be California-certified to be sold and registered in the state of Vermont.

New motor vehicles not certified as California or 50-state vehicles cannot be registered in the state of Vermont. LEV Regulations consider any vehicle with less than 7,500 miles on the odometer a new vehicle.

Two quick ways to determine if your vehicle qualifies:

- 1. The Manufacturer Certificate of Origin (MCO) must indicate "Certified for sale in 50 States" or "Certified for sale in California".
- 2. The label under the hood in the engine compartment must indicate "California certified," EPA 50-State, or California-Only vehicle.

"50-State Vehicle: This vehicle conforms to U.S. EPA and California regulations applicable to (the vehicle model year) model-year new motor vehicles."

"California-Only Vehicle: This vehicle conforms to U.S. EPA and California regulations applicable to (the vehicle model year) model-year new motor vehicles introduced into commerce only for sale in California."

Emission statements that **DO NOT** comply:

- This vehicle meets/satisfies Federal emission standards
- This vehicle is certified/legal for sale in 49 states
- This vehicle is certified/legal for sale in 45 states
- No statement

VERMONT TITLES

All Titles (except ATV) = \$42.00, ATV Titles = \$27.00. Lien fee = \$14.00.

The State of Vermont does not issue titles for the following:

- Trailers with an empty weight of 1,500 lbs. or less
- Motorcycles with an engine size smaller than 300 CCs.
- Motor-driven cycle

- Tractors with a loaded weight of 6,099 lbs. or less
- Road-making appliances (call the Montpelier office for details)

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REQUIRED FOR A VERMONT REGISTRATION & TITLE

New Vehicles:

- Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin properly assigned.
- If the vehicle was manufactured in Canada, a New Vehicle Information Statement is required.
- Bill of Sale is required for Purchase & Use Tax purposes.
- Odometer Disclosure Statement required if the vehicle is the model year 2011 or newer; use form VT-005 or have buyer and seller both sign the back of the title.

Used Vehicles which have been titled:

- Original previous Certificate of Title assigned to you by all parties on the title and bills of sale as necessary to show a complete chain of ownership. All liens must be released.
- Death certificates and/or probate papers are required when one or more previous owners are deceased.
- Odometer Disclosure Statement required if the vehicle is the model year 2011 or newer; use form VT-005 or have buyer and seller both sign the back of the title.
- If registered out of state to the applicant, section 7 needs to be completed.

• If registered out of state to the applicant, proof of tax paid is required, or tax on JD Power value will be collected at registration.

Used Vehicles which have not been titled and are not required to be titled:

 Bill of sale must contain sufficient information to identify the vehicle, including Make, Year, VIN, Purchase Price, Mileage, Signature of Seller, and Date of Sale

Used Vehicles which have not been titled but are required to be titled in Vermont:

- Original or certified copy of the last registration certificate and all bills of sale thereafter. The Bill of Sale must contain sufficient information to identify the vehicle, including Make, Year, VIN, Purchase Price, Mileage, Signature of Seller, and Date of Sale.
- Odometer Disclosure Statement required if the vehicle is the model year 2011 or newer; use form VT-005 or have buyer and seller both sign the back of the title.

MISCELLANEOUS TAX INFORMATION

Purchase and Use Tax is due at the time of registration and/or title at 6% of the purchase price or the JD Power value, whichever is higher, minus the value of any trade-in vehicle or any other allowable credit. A tax credit may be applied towards the tax due at the time of purchase for a vehicle sold within three months of the vehicle's registration date.

<u>Purchase</u>: Purchase and Use Tax is due at the time of registration and/or title at a percentage of the purchase price or the JD Power clean trade-in value, whichever is greater, minus the value of the trade-in vehicle or any other allowable credit.

If the vehicle is registered/titled to you or your spouse out-of-state, tax is based on JD Power clean trade-in book value and is due unless exempt.

Lease: The dealer/leasing company will calculate the tax. A lease agreement or Vermont Dealer worksheet must be submitted with documents. If the individual purchases this vehicle at the end of the lease, they will pay tax on the "residual/lease end value" of the vehicle.

The registration application is received from a Vermont Dealer or a Vermont Dealer acting on behalf of the Lessor. A "Purchase and Use Tax Computation - Leased Vehicle" Form (form #VD-147) may be submitted instead of a copy of the lease agreement and dealer worksheet. **Original Acquisition Cost - Lease End Value = Purchase Price**. The Purchase Price is the amount that will be taxed.

<u>Tax paid in another state</u>. Vehicle on which a state tax (Sales, Purchase & Use or Ad Valorem) has been paid in another state by the person applying for a title/registration in Vermont. If the tax paid in another state is less than the Vermont tax, the tax due shall be the difference. You will be required to submit proof of tax paid. A copy of the retail installment agreement is not acceptable.

<u>The vehicle was previously registered out of state</u>. You may claim a tax credit for a vehicle registered to you in a jurisdiction that imposes a state sales or use tax on vehicles. You must provide proof that the vehicle was registered in a qualifying jurisdiction. Examples of proof of registration are:

- Out-of-state Title.
- Registration Certificate(s) that show the vehicle was registered in your name.
- Bill of sale from the dealer showing your name as buyer and the total tax paid.
- Letter from that state motor vehicle department verifying the vehicle was registered in your name.

Dealer Appraisal: If you believe the vehicle's value is less than the JD Power value, submit a Vermont Dealer Appraisal Form. Submitting a dealer appraisal after registration must be received within 30 days of the registered date to be considered for a refund. DMV does not accept any values determined by online research.

Maximum Tax: Auto, Antique, Exhibit, Motor Home, Motorcycle, Truck, and off-highway Tractors registered at the 10,099 lb. weight class or less have no maximum tax. Trucks and off-highway Tractors registered at the 10,099 weight class or more, and trailers have a \$2,486 maximum tax.

Some examples of vehicles exempt from tax are a vehicle owned or leased by a religious or charitable institution, a vehicle transferred to the spouse, mother, father, grandparent, or child/grandchild of the donor, a vehicle equipped with altered controls and owned and operated or titled by a permanently disabled person.

80,000 LB TRUCK REGISTRATIONS

To qualify to register for 80,000 lbs., vehicle combinations must have at least five axles. There must be at least 51 feet between the front and rearmost axle or 36 feet between the first and last axle of two consecutive sets of tandem axles.

DIESEL TAX

Diesel-powered vehicles with a gross, or registered, weight of 26,001 lbs. and over that travel outside the State of Vermont must join the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA). Fuel decals will be issued for all qualifying vehicles, and diesel tax reports must be filed every quarter. For further information regarding Diesel Tax and IFTA, please contact the Commercial Vehicle Operations Unit at 802.828.2070.

FEDERAL HEAVY VEHICLE USE TAX

The Internal Revenue Service requires vehicles registered at 55,000 lbs. or more (including agricultural) to pay a Heavy Vehicle Use Tax. All Applications must be accompanied by proof of payment and processed in the Montpelier office.

Acceptable Proof is:

- Receipted IRS 2290, Schedule 1 (or copy), or
- > Form 2290 with Schedule 1 attached and a copy of both sides of the canceled check or
- HVUT IRS Form 2290 with payment attached.

Proof of Payment Not Required If:

- The tax has already been paid for the taxable period, or
- The IRS exempts the vehicle, or
- > Vehicle was acquired within 60 DAYS and has not been registered to anyone during the taxable period.

Туре	Duration	Gas or Diesel	E	lectric	Other Fuel
Auto (Cor)	1 Year	\$91.00	ç	\$89.00	\$157.75
Auto (Car)	2 Years	\$167.00	\$	163.00	\$287.25
Antique/Exhibition (Limited	1 Year	\$28.00	ç	\$26.00	\$47.50
Use)	2 Years	\$56.00	Ş	\$52.00	\$95.00
ATV	1 Year	\$45.00	(all fuel typ	es)	
AIV	2 Years	\$90.00	(all fuel typ	es)	
literes / Line to 7 December 2	, 1 Year	\$91.00	ç	\$89.00	\$157.75
Jitney (Up to 7 Passengers) 2 Years	\$167.00	\$	163.00	\$287.25
Motorovolo	1 Year	\$58.00	Ş	\$56.00	\$100.00
Motorcycle	2 Years	\$116.00	\$	112.00	\$200.00
Motor Driven Cycle (Manag	1 Year	\$36.00	ç	\$34.00	\$61.50
Motor-Driven Cycle (Mopeo	2 Years	\$72.00	Ş	\$68.00	\$123.00
Matarbara	1 Year	\$91.00	ç	\$89.00	\$157.75
Motorhome	2 Years	\$167.00	\$	163.00	\$287.25
Municipal & Volunteer	5 Years	\$15.00	ç	\$15.00	\$15.00
	1 Year	\$91.00	Ċ,	\$89.00	\$157.75
Off-Highway Tractor	2 Years	\$167.00	\$	163.00	\$287.25
Cabaal Dua	1 Year	\$91.00	Ş	\$89.00	\$157.75
School Bus	2 Years	\$167.00	\$`	163.00	\$287.25
Street Rod	1 Year	\$91.00	Ċ,	\$89.00	\$157.75
Sheet Rod	2 Years	\$167.00	\$	163.00	\$287.25
Trucks (up to 6,099 lbs.)	1 Year	\$91.00	ç	\$89.00	\$157.75
Trucks (up to 6,099 lbs.)	2 Years	\$167.00	\$	163.00	\$287.25
Trailers	One (1) Y	ear Two (2	2) Years		Five (5) Years
1,500 lbs. or less	\$33	5.00	\$62.00		\$165.00
1,501 lbs. or more	\$63	6.00	\$123.00		\$315.00
Contractor	\$237	.00	\$473.00		\$1,185.00

Conservation Plate – Available only for Autos & trucks less than 26,001 lbs. \$32.00 (additional annual fee)

Vanity Plate – Submit form VD-017. **\$58.00** (additional annual fee)

Building Bright Futures – Available only for Autos & trucks less than 26,001 lbs. **\$29.00 (additional annual fee)**

Amateur Radio Operator, Firefighter, Free Masons, Lion's Club, National Guard, Rotary, Vermont Ambulance Association (EMS), Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) and Vietnam Veterans of America.

Submit <u>DMV form VD-128</u> along with proof of eligibility. Available only for Autos & trucks less than 26,001 lbs.

\$21.00 (one-time fee, in addition to other fees)

Veteran Plates (No additional fee).

Afghanistan, Air Medal, Bronze Star, Disabled Veteran, Gold Star Family, Gulf War, Iraq War, Korean War, POW, Purple Heart, U.S. Veteran, Vietnam War.

Additional documentation is required; for more detail, see <u>dmv.vermont.gov/military</u>

Special Llos	Woight	One Year Registration			Two Year Registration		
Special Use	Weight	Gas	Diesel	Other	Gas	Diesel	Other
	17,999 or less	\$42.00	\$42.00	\$72.00	\$84.00	\$84.00	\$144.00
Agriculture used only for the transportation of agricultural	18,000 – 26,000	\$69.50	\$63.00	\$115.25	\$139.00	\$126.00	\$230.50
products produced on, and material to be used in connection with the operation of, a farm or	26,001 - 34,999	\$69.50	\$69.50	\$115.25	\$139.00	\$139.00	\$230.50
farms owned, operated, or occupied by the registrant	35,000 - 60,000	\$123.50	\$123.50	\$209.75	\$247.00	\$247.00	\$419.50
registrant	60,001 - 80,000	\$191.00	\$191.00	\$327.88	\$382.00	\$382.00	\$655.76
Special Purpose Vehicles Category I –	17,999 or less	\$216.00	\$216.00	\$378.00	\$432.00	\$432.00	\$756.00
Backhoe, Bucket Loader, Forklift, Grader, Street	18,000 - 26,000	\$222.50	\$216.00	\$384.50	\$445.00	\$432.00	\$769.00
Sweeper, Truck Shovel (Wheeled Excavator)	26,001 - 80,000	\$222.50	\$222.50	\$384.50	\$445.00	\$445.00	\$769.00
Special Purpose Vehicles Category II – Bituminous Distributor, Building Mover, Calcium Chloride Distributor, Concrete Form Truck, Concrete Pumper Truck, Floatation Applicator, Permanently Mounted Well Drilling Machine, Road	17,999 or less	\$500.00	\$500.00	\$875.00	\$1000.00	\$1000.00	\$1,750.00
	18,000 – 26,000	\$506.50	\$500.00	\$881.50	\$1,013.00	\$1,000.00	\$1,763.00
Oiler, Truckcrane (Wrecker), Water Tanker (dust control only), Well Driller Tender Truck	26,001 – 80,000	\$506.50	\$506.50	\$881.50	\$1,013.00	\$1,013.00	\$1,763.00

Truck F	Registr	ation I	ees	Where applicable, Transferable Fuel U		
Loaded Weight	Gas	Diesel	Other	Loaded Weight	Gas or Diesel	Oth
UP TO 6,099	\$9	1.00	\$157.75	41,100 - 42,099	\$1,436.18	\$2,51
6,100 - 7,099	\$13	80.00	\$227.50	42,100 - 43,099	\$1,463.18	\$2,56
7,100 - 8,099	\$148.00		\$259.00	43,100 - 44,099	\$1,490.18	\$2,60
8,100 - 9,099	\$19	\$190.00		44,100 - 45,099	\$1,517.18	\$2,65
9,100 - 9,999	\$21	1.00	\$369.25	45,100 - 46,099	\$1,544.18	\$2,70
10,000 - 10,099	\$25	53.53	\$443.68	46,100 - 47,099	\$1,571.18	\$2,74
10,100 - 11,099	\$27	4.53	\$480.43	47,100 - 48,099	\$1,598.18	\$2,79
11,100 - 12,099	\$29	94.53	\$515.43	48,100 - 49,099	\$1,625.18	\$2,84
12,100 - 13,099	\$34	3.53	\$601.18	49,100 - 50,099	\$1,651.18	\$2,88
13,100 - 14,099	\$36	6.53	\$641.43	50,100 - 51,099	\$1,690.18	\$2,95
14,100 - 15,099	\$38	9.53	\$681.68	51,100 - 52,099	\$1,717.18	\$3,00
15,100 - 16,099		2.53	\$721.93	52,100 - 53,099	\$1,744.18	\$3,05
16,100 - 17,099	\$46	62.53	\$809.43	53,100 - 54,099	\$1,772.18	\$3,10
17,100 - 17,999	\$48	37.53	\$853.18	54,100 - 55,099	\$1,799.18	\$3,14
18,000 - 18,099	\$494.03	\$487.53	\$864.55	55,100 - 56,099	\$1,826.18	\$3,19
18,100 - 19,099	\$518.03	\$511.53	\$906.55	56,100 - 57,099	\$1,853.18	\$3,24
19,100 - 20,099	\$543.03	\$536.53	\$950.30	57,100 - 58,099	\$1,880.18	\$3,29
20,100 - 21,099	\$591.03	\$984.53	\$1,034.30	58,100 - 59,099	\$1,907.18	\$3,33
21,100 - 22, 099	\$617.03	\$610.53	\$1,079.80	59,100 - 59,999	\$1,934.18	\$3,38
22,100 - 23,099	\$643.03	\$636.53	\$1,125.30	60,000 - 60,099	\$2,104.30	\$3,68
23,100 - 24,099	\$669.03	\$662.53	\$1,170.80	60,100 - 61, 099	\$2,188.30	\$3,82
24,100 - 25,099	\$694.03	\$687.53	\$1,214.55	61,100 - 62,099	\$2,216.30	\$3,87
25,100 - 25,999	\$720.03	\$713.53	\$1,260.05	62,100 - 63,099	\$2,244.30	\$3,92
26,000	\$762.53	\$756.03	\$1,334.43	63,100 - 64,099	\$2,272.30	\$3,97
26,001 - 26,099	\$76	2.53	\$1,334.43	64,100 - 65,099	\$2,300.30	\$4,02
26,100 - 27,099	\$78	8.53	\$1,379.93	65,100 - 66,099	\$2,328.30	\$4,07
27,100 - 28,099	\$81	3.53	\$1,423.68	66,100 - 67,099	\$2,357.30	\$4,12
28,100 - 29,099	\$83	9.53	\$1,469.18	67,100 - 68,099	\$2,385.30	\$4,17
29,100 - 30,099	\$86	5.53	\$1,514.68	68,100 - 69,099	\$2,413.30	\$4,22
30,100 - 31,099	\$90	8.53	\$1,589.93	69,100 - 70,099	\$2,441.30	\$4,27
31,100 - 32,099	\$93	34.53	\$1,635.43	70,100 - 71,099	\$2,535.30	\$4,43
32,100 - 33,099	\$96	0.53	\$1,680.93	71,100 - 72,099	\$2,564.30	\$4,48
33,100 - 34,099	\$98	6.53	\$1,726.43	72,100 - 73,099	\$2,593.30	\$4,53
34,100 - 35,099	\$1,0	13.53	\$1,773.68	73,100 - 74,099	\$2,622.30	\$4,58
35,100 - 36,099	\$1,0	39.53	\$1,819.18	74,100 - 75,099	\$2,651.30	\$4,63
36,100 - 37,099	\$1,0	65.53	\$1,864.68	75,100 - 76,099	\$2,680.30	\$4,69
37,100 - 38,099	\$1,0	91.53	\$1,910.18	76,100 - 77,099	\$2,709.30	\$4,74
38,100 - 39,099	\$1,1	18.53	\$1,957.43	77,100 - 78,099	\$2,738.30	\$4,79
39,100 - 39,999	\$1,1	44.53	\$2,002.93	78,100 - 79,099	\$2,767.30	\$4,84
40,000 - 40,099	\$1,3	57.18	\$2,375.07	79,100 - 80,000	\$2,796.30	\$4,89
40,100 - 41,099	\$1,4	09.18	\$2,466.07	90,000	\$3,171.30	\$5,54

VD-119i 07/2024 MTC

If submitting by mail, send to Vermont DMV, 120 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05603. See DMV form# VD-119i for more detailed instructions.

Section 1

Enter all names and contact information. A physical address is required if the mailing address is a PO Box or Private Mailbox (i.e., UPS Store). If more than two owners include a completed form VT-012 (Multiple Owners on Title).

Section 2

VIN Verification is required (using DMV form VT-010) for

- Vehicles with Salvage Documentation from any state, including Vermont.
- Vehicles being titled under bond.
- Vehicles with registrations from any foreign country, including Canada.

Trucks (including pick-up trucks) must include

- Number of Axles
- Brake Type
- Empty Weight (curb)
- Loaded Weight (GVW)

Trailers must include

- Empty Weight •
- Length (in feet & inches)
- Width (in feet & inches)

Motorcycles and ATVs must include

- Cylinders
- Number of Wheels
- Power
- Power Type

Section 3

- Tenants by the Entirety/Spouses (TEN ENT) Married couples (including Civil Unions), where property ownership is treated as though the couple was a single legal person. Owners have a right of survivorship; if one owner dies, interest in the property will pass to the surviving owner avoiding probate.
- Joint Tenants (JTEN) Co-owners have a right of survivorship; if one owner dies, interest in the property will pass to the surviving owner avoiding probate.
- Tenants in Common (TEN COM) No right of survivorship; if one owner dies, interest in the property will be part of their estate.
- Business Partners (PTNERS) No right of survivorship; if one owner dies, interest in the property will be part of their estate.
- Transfer on Death (TOD) One owner only, DMV form VT-007 required.

Section 4

Enter the current odometer reading. A separate odometer disclosure statement is required if the vehicle is model year 2011 or newer.

Section 5

If the vehicle is financed, enter the lienholder information. If there is no loan, write "None."

Section 6

Enter the seller details. The seller's signature is only required if no other bill of sale exists.

Section 7

Indicate the transaction type. If there is a current Vermont registration, enter the plate number. For new registrations, enter the desired plate type. Available plate types include (additional form may be required for some)

- Agriculture (Farm Use)
- Air Medal
- Amateur Radio
- American Legion
- Antique
- ATV
- Bronze Star
- **Building Bright Futures**
- Conservation
- Disabled
- EMS
- Exhibition

- Firefighter
- Freemasons ٠
- ٠ Gold Star Family
- Jitney/Rental ٠
- Lions Club ٠
 - Motor Bus
- Motor Driven Cycle
- (moped)
- Municipal
- .
- Off-Highway Tractor

- Pearl Harbor
- POW ٠
- Purple Heart
- Rotary ٠
- ٠ School Bus
- Sheriff
- Special Purpose Truck I
- Special Purpose Truck II
- State
- Street Rod
- ٠ Transporter
- Veteran

- Veteran, Afghanistan
- Veteran, Disabled
- Veteran, Gulf War
- Veteran, Iraq
- Veteran, Korea
- Veteran, Motorcycle
- Veteran, Vietnam
- Veteran, World War II •
 - VFW
 - Volunteer
 - VVA

- Section 8
- Purchase Price Amount paid for the vehicle.
- Credit for Trade Amount the previous vehicle was sold for, to include trade value at dealer or private sale.
- JD Power Value Unless sold by a Vermont Dealer or Licensed Out-of-State Dealer, tax is due on JD Power value. Visit mydmv.vermont.gov to obtain value.
- Purchaser Information if claiming trade credit, include details on the sale of the previous vehicle.
- ATV If an ATV is purchased from a Dealer or Vermont-registered business, you must submit proof of tax paid. No tax is due if an ATV is purchased in a casual sale (person to person).

- Motor Home
- National Guard