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Motorcycle Learner Permit 

 

Department of Motor Vehicles 
Agency of Transportation 
dmv.vermont.gov 

120 State Street 
Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 

802.828.2000 
Toll Free:  888-99-VERMONT 

                           
 
 

     

  Original Permit    First Renewal   Second Renewal   Duplicate  
Name:               Last                                                                First                                                                 Middle 
 
Mailing Address (Street, Road or PO Box): City: State: Zip: 

 
Physical Address:  City: State: Zip: 

 
Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY): Social Security Number: Phone Number: 

   
The disclosure of your social security or federal identification number is mandatory, is solicited by the authority granted by 42 U.S.C. § §405(c)(2)(C) and/or 666(a)(13) and will be used 
by the Department of Motor Vehicles in the administration of motor vehicle, tax and child support laws, to identify individuals affected by such laws. 
Email: 

 
Place of Birth (City, State & Country): 

 

Vermont Driver License/Permit Number: Expiration Date of Previous Permit (MM/DD/YYYY): 

  

Gender: Eye Color: Height: Weight: 

 Male     Female     Other    

Check if the above is a change to:   Mailing     Physical address 

Is the above a change of address for voting purposes?   Yes     No 

ARE YOU A US CITIZEN?   Yes     No    IF “NO”, Do you have proof of legal presence?   Yes     No 
 Check if name has changed. List previous names used:   

1. Do you need glasses or contact lenses when driving?  Yes   No 
2. Is your privilege revoked, restricted, suspended, or refused in any state?  Yes   No 
3. Do you have a history of any physical or mental condition, other than properly corrected eyesight, that could affect 

your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle?  If yes, explain on back     Yes   No 

4. I certify that I am a Vermont Resident, as defined in Title 23 V.S.A. § 4 (See back)  Yes   No 

Signature of Applicant: 
I certify that the statements herein are true.  This declaration made under penalties of 23 VSA § 202.       Date: 

Signature of Parent or Guardian 
if applicant is under 18: 

I hereby consent to the issuance of the license/permit:  Parent  
 Guardian 

Date: 

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE – DMV USE ONLY 

PID   REST.   
RATER # First Exam (21)  

  NAME CHANGE (231)   DOC LOC 

 

Subsequent Exam (22)  

  DOB CHANGE  (231)   MAILING ADD (232) Permit (71)  

  MISC CHANGE   (231)   SSN CHANGE (232) Duplicate (23)  

POB SEX EYE HT WGT   PHYSICAL ADD (233) Miscellaneous (10)   

  PDPS ADD    CHG     DEL TOTAL FEE 
 

 
 
Issue Date __________________  Void Date __________________ 
 
 

 

http://www.dmv.state.vt/


Fees: 
Motorcycle Learner Permit – Exam $9.00 
Motorcycle Learner Permit – Original $20.00 

Motorcycle Learner Permit - Renewal $20.00 
Motorcycle Learner Permit – Duplicate $20.00 

 

Explanation of Mental or Physical Condition (other than eyesight) 
 

 

 If the address shown on this application differs from that on your current license, this application will be considered a notice of 
change of address. DMV must be notified in writing within 30 days of any change in your address or name. 

 Applicant must hold a valid Vermont Driver’s, Commercial or Junior License to qualify for a Motorcycle Learner Permit. 

 Exams require an appointment.   

 If you are 16 or 17 years old in addition to having a valid Jr. Operator License, you MUST also have a parent or legal guardian 
sign the Motorcycle Learner Permit Application. 

 A motorcycle permit is valid for 120 days from the date of issue. A Motorcycle Learner Permit may be renewed only twice. If, 
during the original permit period and two renewals, you have not taken the skills test nor the motorcycle rider training course, 
you may not obtain another motorcycle learner permit for a period of 12 months from the expiration date of the permit unless 
you successfully complete the Motorcycle Rider Training Course. 

The Motorcycle Learner Permit will allow you to ride a motorcycle on any public highway to become familiar with actual in traffic 
operation. There are certain restrictions: 1) A motorcycle may be operated during daylight hours only; 2) The Motorcycle Learner 
Permit-holder is not allowed to carry any passengers; 3) The motorcycle learner permit is valid in VERMONT only. Ignoring the 
restrictions will void the Motorcycle Learner Permit. 

TESTING IS USUALLY CONDUCTED APRIL THROUGH OCTOBER, WEATHER PERMITTING. 

Vermont Resident: …any person living in the State who intends to make the State his or her principal place of domicile either 
permanently or for an indefinite number of years. Without limiting the class of nonresidents under the provisions of this subdivision, 
persons who live in the State for a particular purpose involving a defined period of time, including students, migrant workers 
employed in seasonal occupations, and persons employed under a contract with a fixed term, are not residents for purposes of this 
title only. 

Motorcycles: …any motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three 
wheels in contact with the ground, and shall include autocycles but exclude motor-driven cycles, golf carts, track driven vehicles, 
tractors, and electric personal assistive mobility devices. The operator of any vehicle that is considered a motorcycle must have a 
motorcycle endorsement on their driver's license.  

Autocycles: …a three-wheeled motorcycle in which the occupants sit with their legs forward; designed to be controlled with a 
steering wheel and pedals; and equipped with safety belts for all occupants. Fully Enclosed Autocycles are defined as “an autocycle 
equipped with a windshield and that has full top and side enclosures capable of supporting the vehicle's weight and protecting the 
occupants when the vehicle is resting on the enclosures”. 

Operators of autocycles shall be exempt from the requirements to obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit or a motorcycle endorsement. 

3-Wheeled Motorcycles: Operators of 3-wheeled motorcycles are required to take the motorcycle learner's permit examination 
and the motorcycle skills test. After passing the required exams, operators will receive a motorcycle endorsement (M) with a 
restriction limiting them to operation of 3-wheeled motorcycles only. 

Motor-driven cycles (mopeds):  “Motor-driven cycle”. Previously known as “Mopeds”, a Motor-driven cycle is defined as “any 
vehicle equipped with two or three wheels, a power source providing up to a maximum of two brake horsepower and having a 
maximum piston or rotor displacement of 50 cubic centimeters if a combustion engine is used, which will propel the vehicle, 
unassisted, at a speed not to exceed 30 miles per hour on a level road surface, and which is equipped with a power drive system 
that functions directly or automatically only, not requiring clutching or shifting by the operator after the drive system is engaged”.  
The operator of any vehicle that is considered a Motor-driven cycle is NOT required to have a motorcycle endorsement on their 
driver's license.  
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