

# **Replacement License/Permit**

Department of Motor Vehicles Agency of Transportation dmv.vermont.gov

120 State Street Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 802.828.2000

Fig. I have a	Real ID	Driver's Lice	nse 🗖 Driv	er's Priv	ilege Card	d 🗖 EDL	☐ Junio	r License		earner Permit	
- l and if	☐ needs address changed ☐ needs nam ☐ needs gender changed ☐ needs res					☐ was	destroyed lost	•			
I want a	Real ID	☐ Driver's Priv	ilege Card	☐ Enhan	ced (EDL	.) 🗖 Ot	ther:				
Name: Last First Middle											
If applicable, list all former names exactly as they appeared on your previous licenses											
Mailing Address (Address Where You Get Your Mail): If PO or Private Box, also fill in "Physical Address"					ss" below.	City:		State:	Z	ip:	
Physical Address (Address Where You Live) NO PO or Private Box. Physical Address Will Be Printed O					ur License.	ense. City:		State:		ip:	
					j					1	
Above is a change to Mailing address Physical address  Above is a change of address for voting purposes: Ves No  Vermont License or Permit # Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy): Place of Birth (City, State & Country):											
Vermont License or I	Permit #	Date of I	Birth (mm/dd/yyy	y):	Place of Birth (City, State & Country):						
Social Security Numb	Gender:			Eye Color:		Height:	Weigl				
	☐ Male	☐ Female ☐	Other								
*The disclosure of your social security or federal identification number is mandatory, is solicited by the authority granted by 42 U.S.C. § \$405(c)(2)(C) and/or 666(a)(13) and will be used by the Department of Motor Vehicles in the administration of motor vehicle, tax and child support laws, to identify individuals affected by such laws.											
If you are (1) applying for a Privilege Card; (2) not registering to vote; and (3) presenting a letter of ineligibility for a Social Security Number, you may leave this field blank.											
Phone Number:						Email address:					
I wish to be register	red as an organ &	& tissue donor			☐ Yes ☐ No Veterans; "Vermont (			mont Certi	ficate of	Veteran Status	
I am a veteran of the US Military & I want "VETERAN" printed on my Licens					☐ Yes □	□ No	previously subr	VG-168)" must also be included (unless ubmitted).			
Voter Registration You will be registered to vote unless you decline to register below. By signing and submitting this application, you are authorizing the Department of Motor Vehicles to transmit this application to the Secretary of State for voter registration purposes. YOU MAY DECLINE TO REGISTER. Both the office through which you submit this application and your decision of whether or not to register will remain confidential and will be used for voter registration purposes only. In order to be registered to vote, you must: 1) be a U.S. citizen; 2) be a resident of Vermont; 3) have taken the voter's oath; and 4) 18 years of age or older.											
	•		, ,		te of a gener	al election may r	register and vote in t	he primary el	ection imr	nediately preceding	
Any person meeting the requirements of 1 - 3 who will be 18 years of age on or before the date of a general election may register and vote in the primary election immediately preceding that general election. Failure to decline to register is an attestation that you meet the requirements to vote. If you are voting for the first time in Vermont you must take the VOTER'S OATH:											
You solemnly swear (or affirm) that whenever you give your vote or suffrage, touching any matter that concerns the State of Vermont, you will do it so as in your conscience you shall judge will most conduce to the best good of the same, as established by the Constitution without fear or favor of any person.											
By signing below you can attest for yourself that you have taken the Oath. You can also have anyone over 18 attest that you have taken the oath. If your address has changed, list the											
address where you were last registered to vote. (Do not complete unless currently registered to vote at a previous address):											
Street Address				City/Town		County				State	
☐ Do <b>not</b> register me to vote or update my voter registration. I decline to register to vote, or I do not meet all of the eligibility requirements.											
I handry offine and	on momoltry of monity	ur; that the informa	ation on this form	. is two sw	4 Signa	ture of Appli	cant			Date Signed	
I hereby affirm, under penalty of perjury, that the information on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. This declaration made under penalties of 23 VSA §											
202 & § 4110. Submission of a false voter registration application is subject to the penalties of perjury as provided in 17 V.S.A. § 2011 and in 42 U.S.C. § 1973 gg – 10.											
of perjury as provided	d in 17 V.S.A. § 20	011 and in 42 U.S.C	. § 1973 gg – 10.								
☐ Print (270)	□ 225	5 □ 227 □ 234	PID								
☐ Name CHG (231)			I D:					EDL (33	3)		
☐ DOB CHG (231)	)	IL Photo	Issue Date								
☐ MISC CHG (231	/	PPS	Expire Date					Replaces	ment (23)		
POB SEX EYE I		al ID Compliant	Endone								
☐ Mail Address (23:☐ SSN Change	2) Voter	Registration	Endorsements:					TOTAL	\$		
☐ Physical Address	(233) □ Yes	s □ No	Restrictions:								
ADD CHG								Rater #			

#### REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

Customers upgrading to a Real ID must present documents from each of these four categories. Customers upgrading to an EDL must present documents from each of these four categories as well as proof of US citizenship. Customers making changes to name, date of birth, place of birth, or SSN must present documents verifying the updates.

- 1. **Identity and date of birth -** Must provide **one** of the following:
  - Valid, unexpired passport,
  - Certified record of the applicant's birth, marriage, adoption, or divorce, including a translation if necessary
  - Consular Report of Birth Abroad (CRBA) issued by the U.S. Department of State (Form FS-240, DS-1350 or FS-545)
  - Valid consular identification document issued by the government of Mexico, Guatemala (or any other government with comparable security standards and protocols, as determined by the Commissioner)
- Valid, unexpired Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551)
- Certificate of Naturalization issued by DHS (Form N-550 or Form N-570)
- Certificate of Citizenship (Form N-560 or Form N-561) issued by DHS
- Real ID Driver's License or Identification Card issued in compliance with the standards established by 6 CFR part 37

 Social Security Information - You must present your Social Security card or a letter from the Social Security Administration indicating ineligibility to receive a Social Security number (SSN).

If your Social Security card is not available, one of the following forms may be used in its place: W-2 form, SSA-1099 form, pay stub showing name and SSN (minimum of last 4 digits) (Your name must verify with the Social Security Administration). If there have been multiple changes to your name, you must provide documentation to prove the continuity of the names. For example marriage or civil union certificate (a certified copy issued by town/city), marriage or civil union dissolution, or probate court name change document.)

- 3. **Vermont residency and current residential address** You must present <u>two</u> documents that include your name and current Vermont residential address that demonstrate residency in the state of Vermont. Examples include:
  - piece of mail with current name and Vermont street address including city/town (no P.O. Boxes),
  - utility bill (must list service address),
- property tax bill with a physical location,
- signed lease,
- Homeowners/renters insurance (policy/proof of claim),

- Vermont EBT or Vermont AIM identification card,
- Vermont Residency Certification
- 4. Lawful status in the United States (Only required for Real ID & EDL) In most cases, the documents required for proof of identity and date of birth will also establish lawful status in the United States. Foreign nationals must provide a passport and visa, alien registration receipt card (green card), or other proof of legal presence for inspection and copying.

### UPGRADING TO AN ENHANCED DRIVER'S LICENSE (EDL) PROOF OF US CITIZENSHIP IS REQUIRED

- Original certified birth certificate issued by a government unit in the U.S. or U.S. territory.
- Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or passport card.

- Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561). Certificate of Naturalization (N-550, N-570, or N-578).
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the U.S. Department of State (FS-240, DS-1350, or FS-545).

#### ADDRESS CHANGE

Address change with no new license printed is free. Submit address change online at dmvexpress.vermont.gov

- If the address given differs from what appears on our records, this will
  be considered a notification of a change of address for all your records.
  You are required to notify DMV within 30 days of any change in your
  mailing address, legal name, or physical residence.
- The physical address will appear on your license.

- If the date of birth given differs from what appears on our records, identification documentation, as listed in section 4 is required.
- If the place of birth given differs from what appears on our records, a copy of your birth certificate is required.

## NAME CHANGES MUST BE PROCESSED IN PERSON.

- An individual name change requires an original or certified copy of a marriage license/certificate or court order clearly stating the new name.
- A company name change requires a change of name certification from the office of the Secretary of State.
- If your License or ID is Real ID compliant, we must verify your name and date of birth via <u>Social Security Online Verification (SSOLV)</u>. You must <u>update your records</u> with the <u>Social Security Administration</u> before processing a name change at DMV. SSA records must be updated before a license or ID can be issued in the new name.

### **VETERAN'S INDICATOR ON VERMONT LICENSE/ID**

All Vermont residents who are veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces and are currently enlisted or were honorably discharged can choose to have a Veteran's Indicator on their Driver's License, Learner's Permit or Non-Driver ID card. There is no additional fee for the Veteran's Indicator, but all regular transaction fees will apply. <u>Vermont Certificate of Veteran Status</u> must be completed <u>and approved</u> to show proof of veteran status and submitted with the license, permit, or non-driver ID application.

## **FEES**

- Convert to Enhanced Driver's License (EDL) = \$36.00
- Replacement EDL = \$60.00 (\$24.00+36.00)

- Replacement Learner Permit = \$24.00
- Replacement License = \$24.00

#### REGISTER TO VOTE

If you are eligible, today you will be registered to vote unless you decline. You are eligible to vote in the town or city where you physically reside if as of Election Day, you:

- are a United States citizen
- are a resident of Vermont

- are 18 years old
- take Voter's Oath.

You are a "resident" under Vermont law if you are domiciled in the town as evidenced by intent to maintain a principal dwelling place in the town indefinitely and to return there if temporarily absent, coupled with an act or acts consistent with that intent.

You only need to take the Voter's Oath once. If you were previously registered to vote in Vermont you have already taken the Voter's Oath. You can attest that you have taken the voter's oath for yourself or a DMV employee can administer the Voter's Oath to you.

You are not officially registered to vote until your Town or City Clerk reviews your application to be sure that you meet all eligibility requirements. The Clerk will notify you in writing if your application is approved and notify you of the location of your polling place. If your application is denied, the Clerk will notify you explaining why you are not eligible and also explain how you can file an appeal to the Board of Civil Authority in your Town or City. If you have questions, you may call the Office of the Secretary of State at 802.828.2363 or visit <a href="https://sos.vermont.gov/elections/voters/">https://sos.vermont.gov/elections/voters/</a>.