Title Informational Bulletin



Department of Motor Vehicles Agency of Transportation 120 State Street Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 802.828.2000 dmv.vermont.gov

All vehicles not titled in Vermont that meet the criteria below will be submitted to the <u>National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS)</u> using the registration number instead of a title number. Vermont titles issued before November 13, 2023, contain 13 characters. Titles issued after November 13, 2023, contain 12 characters.

If you own the vehicle free and clear (no loan), the title will be provided to you at the time of registration. If you have a loan on the vehicle, the title will be mailed to the entity holding the loan (not the owner) within three weeks of the registration being processed.

If the vehicle has more than one owner, you need to indicate Rights of Survivorship (see <u>types of ownership</u> for more information).

NO VERMONT CERTIFICATE OF TITLE WILL BE ISSUED FOR THE FOLLOWING:

- Any Vessel less than 16 feet in length.
- Any vessel such as a canoe, kayak, or similar watercraft designed to be manually propelled or equipped with a motor not exceeding ten horsepower.
- A vehicle/vessel/ATV/snowmobile owned by the United States Government unless registered in the State.
- A vehicle/vessel /ATV/snowmobile owned by a manufacturer or dealer and held for sale.
- A vehicle/vessel regularly engaged in the interstate transportation of persons or property for which a current Certificate of Title has been issued in another state.
- Motorcycles with an engine size smaller than 300 ccs.
- Motorcycles powered by electricity with less than 20 kilowatts of engine power.
- Motor-driven cycles.
- Tractors with a loaded weight of 6,099 lbs. or less.
- Trailers with an empty weight of 1,500 lbs. or less.
- Track Vehicles (Title optional):

Track vehicles will not be registered, but they may be titled.

- 1. Title fees will be due.
- 2. A reassignment of ownership on a secure document (MSO) is required.

Other Title Exemptions:

The following vehicles are exempt from titling. If the proper documentation and fees are submitted, they may be titled.

1. "Road Making Appliances" are vehicles drawn by a separate motorized power unit and designed for and used exclusively for building, repair, or maintenance of roads or highways or while being transported from job to job in connection with the building, repair or maintenance of roads or highways, except contractor's trailers. These vehicles, as defined in law, are listed below:

Asphalt Reclaimers Pavement Heaters Rooters
Asphalt Scarifiers Pavers Scrapers

Bucket Loaders Portable Electric Screening Plants
Bulldozer Generators Snow Loaders
Compressors Power Shovels Spreaders
Concrete Mixer Retreading Machines Steam Boilers
Excavator Rock Crushers Sweeper

Graders Rollers Traffic Control Boards

2. The following are exempt but not considered "Road Making Appliances."

Backhoe Forklift Street Sweepers

Cement Mixer (trailer type) Sidewalk Snowplows

Euclid Skidder

TO OBTAIN A VERMONT CERTIFICATE OF TITLE, AN APPLICANT MUST HAVE:

- A Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin or
- A valid Certificate of Title or
- An Out-of-State registration (original or a Certified Copy) if the previous jurisdiction does not title the vehicle.

All **motor vehicles**, except those listed above, must have a Certificate of Title.

All vessels of 16 feet in length or greater registered in Vermont, except those listed above, must have a Certificate of Title.

All <u>ATVs and Snowmobiles</u>, except those owned by the United States Government or owned by a manufacturer or dealer, held for sale, must have a Certificate of Title.

To make an application for a title, a Vermont Registration Application (VD-119), Vermont Snowmobile Registration Application (VD-038), or Vermont Motorboat Registration (VD-037) must be submitted and accompanied by the required fees and supporting documents. The assignment of any Vermont registration can be withheld indefinitely pending compliance with the Vermont Title requirements.

If you require further information or assistance, please call Registration/License Information at 802.828.2000 or contact us using our online form at dmv.vermont.gov/contact.