Name Change

Is a Temporary License/ID issued when an address change or name change is made to the driver license?

A Temporary License/ID is issued when the customer makes a material change. The customer must wait to receive the new license by mail. Customer can retain the license or ID provided there are no changes other than the address. For address changes, there is no change in the procedure of notifying DMV of the new address.

Name Change

You are required by law to notify the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles within 30 days of any change to your address or name.

 

Change Your Name

Individuals

You must apply in person in order to have your name changed on your license or non-driver ID card. To obtain a corrected license, please provide the following documentation:

Change Name/Address

Change Address Online

You can update your address on file in just a few minutes with DMV Express. You can also choose to update your voting address. (Please note that updating your voting address is not immediate and may take 4-6 weeks.)

Update My Address

What you'll need:

  • Your Vermont-issued Driver's License number or the License Plate number
  • This service is free

 

Social Security Number

To document your Social Security Number, present one of the following original documents that contain your current name (photocopies or faxes will NOT be accepted):

  • Your Social Security card
  • W-2 form
  • Social Security Administration 1099 form
  • Non-Social Security Administration 1099 form
  • Pay stub with your name and Social Security number on it

Your SSN will not be listed on your Driver's License or ID. The Vermont DMV will assign you a unique Driver's License or ID number.

How do I change the name(s) on a vehicle title?

The title to be changed must contain owner information that matches the owner information on the current vehicle registration. You must complete a registration application form (form #VD-119) providing an updated vehicle odometer reading and updated owner information. Each individual currently listed on the title must sign on the back of the title (as "sellers") and fill in the name of the "buyer(s)". If there are two owners you must indicate the relationship of the two owners.

Subscribe to RSS - Name Change

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
email telephone

Public Records

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon