ATVs are not subject to the Purchase and Use Tax, but are subject to Sales & Use Tax. ATVs purchased from a dealer (or business) and registered in Vermont; the dealer (or business) must submit a tax form to the Vermont DMV. For ATVs purchased as a casual (private) sale, no Purchase and Use Tax is due. A Vermont resident who purchases an ATV from an out-of-state dealer must prove payment of the out-of-state sales tax (equal to, or greater than the rate of sales tax in Vermont).
NOTE: ATVs are not eligible for a Purchase and Use Tax Exemption.
A listing of laws for off-road vehicles.
Vermont titles vehicles (including Motorboats, ATVs, and snowmobiles) that are 15 years old or newer based on the calendar year. For example: from January 1, 2019, through December 31, 2019, Vermont will title vehicles with the model year 2005 or newer.
Find the requirements for transferring registration of ATVs, motorboats, and snowmobiles here. Use the links below to jump to the section you need:
To transfer of your Vermont registration from one ATV to another:
Renewing online is fast, easy, and secure. You can renew most types of vehicles including ATVs, motorboats, snowmobiles, trailers, and more. Upon completion, you will receive a temporary registration that is valid for 10 days. A permanent registration and sticker will be mailed to you.
You are eligible to renew online if you: