Child Passenger Safety

Provisions in Vermont Law are often what guide parents and other caregivers when they are making decisions on how to most safely transport their children.

No person shall operate a motor vehicle, other than a type I school bus, in this state upon a public highway unless every occupant under age 16 is properly restrained in a federally approved child passenger restraining system as defined in 49 C.F.R. § 571.213 (1993) or a federally-approved safety belt, as follows:

Infant seat check

  • All children under the age of one, and all children weighing less than 20 pounds, regardless of age, shall be restrained in a rear-facing position, properly secured in a federally-approved child passenger restraining system, which shall not be installed in front of an active air bag.
  • A child weighing more than 20 pounds, and who is one year of age or older and under the age of eight years, shall be restrained in a child passenger restraining system (This means convertible, combination and booster child safety seats); and
  • A child eight through 15 years of age shall be restrained in a safety belt system or a child passenger restraining system.

Penalty

Penalties for failing to follow the child passenger safety laws: The fine is $25.00 for the first offense, $50.00 for the second and $100.00 for the third offense. No points will be assessed to the license of the driver.

There are NO medical exemptions. Contact your local pediatrician or the number below to learn more.

For more information about child passenger safety visit beseatsmart.org or contact the Governor's Highway Safety Program: 888.868.7328.

Contact Us

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Monday-Friday: 7:45am-4:30pm
Contact us

Connect with us

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon