The VT Rider Education Program (VREP) is looking for individuals interested in becoming certified to conduct the Motorcycle Safety Foundation’s Basic RiderCourse. VREP will be conducting a RiderCoach Preparation (RCP) course in 2020. The training will be held over three three-day weekends beginning on the weekend of April 24th through April 26th and continuing on the weekends of May 1st through 3rd and May 8th through 10th. The training is provided at no charge to individuals interested in working for VREP after becoming certified to teach the Basic RiderCourse.
The Vermont Motorcycle Awareness Program (VMAP) is a 4-hour basic motorcycle safety course for individuals interested in obtaining a motorcycle learner permit or endorsement. VMAP is designed to introduce new riders to basic information regarding the complexities of safe motorcycle operation. Attendees successfully completing the VMAP course will be issued a Vermont motorcycle learner permit.
The course will provide information about:
Driver's License/Permit Fees
- Driver's License, 2 Year - $32.00
- Driver's License, 4 Year - $51.00
- Driver's License, Converting from another State - see below
- Driver's License, Replacement - $20.00
- Enhanced Driver's License (Additional) - $30.00
- Junior Driver's License - $32.00
- Learner's Permit, New/Renew/Replacement - $20.00
- RDL (Ignition Interlock Restricted License) - $125.00
Driving schools and instructors are licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles. The schools are privately owned businesses that operate under guidelines and standards set forth in state statutes and rules. There are two basic types of instruction, which are listed below.
Standard driver training schools provide instruction in the operation of "pleasure cars." These training programs provide the following services:
Commercial vehicle training, which provides instruction in the operation of commercial vehicles. Check with individual schools to find out what types of job placement services might be available. These training programs provide the following services:
A state-approved driver training program for entry-level tractor-trailer drivers. This 148-hour (minimum) course, which is consistent with national training guidelines, provides a combination of classroom, range, and on-the-road instruction.
School bus driver training clinics.