Skip to main content

Public Records Information

Public Records & Public Information Requests

As a public agency, the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles is responsible for applying efficient and effective management methods in creating, using, maintaining, retaining, destroying and preserving records created and received in the course of business. These records must be systematically managed – both to preserve their legal, historical and informational value, and to promote economic and transparent business operations.

Media/Press Inquiries

See Public Outreach & Media Inquiries

Making a Request for Public Records

Complete this form. Upon receipt, we will fulfill your request or contact you for more information.

Not all requests for information are public records requests. If your request for data, records or public information, is determined to be a public records request, the following fees have been established as the actual cost of providing a copy of a public record in accordance with 1 VSA 316(d)

Uniform Schedule of Public Records Charges for State Agencies

Note that there are fees for copies of public records that are established by 23 V.S.A. § 114 that may override the fees established by this schedule.

  1. For staff time involved in physically duplicating a record, $.33 per minute after the first 30 minutes.
  2. For senior-level staff time, and information technology specialists’ time spent extracting data from databases or performing similar tasks necessary to comply with a request to create a new public record, $.57 per minute.
  3. For any other staff time for which cost can be charged and collected under this section, $.45 per minute.
  4. For photocopies, $.05 per single-sided page, $.09 per double-sided page for pages up to 8.5 by 14 inches.
  5. For color photocopies, $1.00 per single-sided page.
  6. For computer-generated paper copies, $.02 per page for pages up to 8.5 by 14 inches.
  7. For computer diskettes, $.28 each for 3.5-inch diskettes.
  8. For compact discs, $.86 each for write-once CD w/case, $2.31 each for re-writable CD w/case.
  9. For audiotapes, $.81 each.
  10. For videotapes, $1.69 each.
  11. For DVDs, $2.00 each for write-once DVD w/case, $4.00 each for re-writable DVD w/case.
Related Links

Vermont Public Records Database

Vermont Public Records Law 

Access to Public Records 

Freedom of Information Act (FoIA)

Download the PDF form to your computer and then open it with Adobe Reader

Title Sort descending ID# Description
DMV Record Request
To request records and documents including driving records, certified copies, police and individual crash reports, etc.
DPPA User Agreement
To request user access to certain records for the purpose of obtaining personal information. This form is typically used for frequent requesters.
DPPA User Agreement (Non-Standard)
To record and contract for billing the usage of a DPPA user.