Renewing online is fast, easy, and secure. You can renew most types of vehicles including cars, trucks, trailers, motorcycles, snowmobiles, ATVs, and more. Upon completion, you will receive a temporary registration that is valid for 10 days. A permanent registration and sticker will be mailed to you.
Renew by Phone
What you'll need to renew by phone:
- Your Vermont Driver's License number
- Your credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover)
Renew by phone 866 259-5368
Renew by Mail
What you'll need to renew by mail:
- Your signed registration renewal notice or a completed Vermont registration, tax, title application (VD-119)
- A check or money order for the amount indicated on the renewal notice
- Mail renewal using included envelope (DMV, PO Box 1308, Williston Vermont 05495-1308). Note this address is only for renewals using the renewal notice mailed to you. Using this address for any other transactions will delay processing.
- If renewal notice is missing see below.
You will receive your permanent registration and sticker in about 10 business days.
Renew in Person
Please note that office hours, services, and accepted payment methods differ by location.
What you'll need:
- Your signed registration renewal notice
- Payment for the amount indicated on the renewal notice
Registration Expires in a Future Month
Registrations can only be renewed during the month of expiry or later if applying online or by mail.
(For example, you may not renew a registration expiring in October during the month of September.)
Registrations may be renewed up to 60 days in advance in person at a DMV location.
Trucks Weighing 55,000 Pounds or More
Vehicles registered at 55,000 lbs. or more (including agricultural) are required by the Internal Revenue Service to pay a Heavy Vehicle Use Tax. All Applications must be accompanied by proof of payment and must be processed in the Montpelier office.
Acceptable Proof is:
- Receipted IRS 2290, Schedule 1, (or copy), or
- Form 2290 with Schedule 1 attached and a copy of both sides of the canceled check, or
- HVUT IRS Form 2290 with payment attached.
Proof of Payment Not Required If:
- The tax has already been paid for the taxable period, or
- The vehicle is exempted by the IRS, or
- Vehicle was acquired within 60 DAYS and has not been registered to anyone during the taxable period.