Skip to main content

Commercial Driver's License (CDL)

Required in order to drive certain commercial motor vehicles(CMVs)

Free resource for preparing for the CDL exam now available

Vermont Department of Libraries provides all libraries access to Learning Express, which includes resources for preparing for the CDL exam. Connect with your local library to find out how you can access this resource with your library card.

CVSA’s Human Trafficking Awareness Initiative in the U.S.

If you suspect someone is in a human trafficking situation or you are the victim of human trafficking, call the U.S. National Human Trafficking Hotline at 888-373-7888 or text 233733. The hotline is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Support is provided in more than 200 languages and all calls are confidential and answered live by highly train

Entry-Level Driver Training

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has established minimum training standards for entry-level drivers. The Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) requirements incorporate performance-based concepts by requiring driver-trainees to demonstrate proficiency in both behind-the-wheel (BTW) instruction and knowledge portions of the curriculum during classroom and range training sessions. The ELDT training curriculum is outlined in

Military Veterans

Extension of license for members of U.S. Armed Forces (23 V.S.A. § 616)

If you are on active duty, and a Vermont resident, the military extension validates your existing Vermont Driver's License for up to 4 years from the date it would normally expire. While it is necessary for the Department to send notice of all expiring licenses, you may disregard such notice if you have obtained a military extension.

What is REAL ID?

What is REAL ID?

Passed by Congress in 2005, the REAL ID Act enacted the 9/11 Commission's recommendation that the Federal Government “set standards for the issuance of sources of identification, such as driver's licenses.” The Act established minimum security standards for state-issued driver's licenses and identification cards and prohibits Federal agencies from accepting for official purposes licenses and identification cards from states that do not meet these standards. These purposes are:

Self-Designated Descriptors

The following are self-designated descriptors for a Vermont Driver’s License or Non-Driver Identification card.

    • Height
    • Weight
    • Eye color
    • Gender

    Applicants are not required under Vermont or federal law to present documentation that confirms the information they submit for these entries.

    Subscribe to Commercial Driver's License (CDL)

    FAQs

    I want a new photo on my license, learner permit or non-driver ID. How can I obtain one?

    You must get a new picture taken at least once for every other renewal. You may get a new photo at any time for any reason (for a fee). Complete the required documents and schedule an appointment to visit an office.

    What is REAL ID?

    Passed by Congress in 2005, the REAL ID Act enacted the 9/11 Commission's recommendation that the Federal Government “set standards for the issuance of sources of identification, such as driver's licenses.” The Act established minimum security standards for state-issued driver's licenses and identification cards and prohibits Federal agencies from accepting for official purposes licenses and identification cards from states that do not meet these standards. These purposes are:

    • Accessing Federal facilities
    • Boarding federally regulated commercial aircraft
    • Entering nuclear power plants
    Can I board a plane with a Temporary License/ID?

    TSA will NOT accept a Temporary License/ID as a standalone document. It will accept the expiring or expired card with the Temporary License/ID as proof of the renewal. Customers should visit TSA’s website which contains detailed information on the identity documents they will accept: tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/identification

    Will CDL drivers be required to surrender their unexpired license if they renew early?

    No. The current license will be voided and handed back. You should carry the old license with your temporary until the new license arrives. 

    Can a driver holding a valid out-of-state license (either CDL or non-CDL) drive a Type II School Bus in the State of Vermont?

    If the driver meets all qualifications for a Vermont Type II School Bus endorsement a card will be issued to the individual allowing them to drive a Type II School Bus in this state. These requirements include attending a Vermont school bus clinic, passing all required tests (knowledge, vision, and skill tests), and submitting a medical form.

    Can an "S" (school bus) endorsement be added to an out-of-state CDL?

    No, the "S" (school bus) endorsement must be added by the state of issue.

    Can a driver holding an out-of-state CDL drive a school bus for a Vermont school?

    Yes, if their license has both an "S" (school bus) and "P" (passenger) endorsement. There are no additional requirements.